What is Casualty Identification

Why we do it?

Orchard Dump Cemetery
A view of Orchard Dump
Cemetery, France

The Department of National Defence established the Casualty Identification Program in 2007 to respond to an increasing number of discovered human remains of the more than 27,000 Canadian war dead with no known grave from the First World War, the Second World War and the United Nations Operations in Korea (Korean Conflict).

During and in the immediate aftermath of both world wars, Canada’s Grave Registration Units and the Imperial War Graves Commission (now called the Commonwealth War Graves Commission) attempted to identify and provide Canadian soldiers with proper burials.

Although active searches for the remains of Commonwealth soldiers were suspended after 1921, Commonwealth countries continue to attempt to identify the remains of missing service members found in the present day. In Canada, this work is done by the Casualty Identification Program.

Investigations typically begin when the Commonwealth War Graves Commission determines that discovered remains are Canadian war dead. The Casualty Identification Program uses a number of historical and scientific research methods to identify the remains.

When the Casualty Identification Program’s investigation is successful, identified human remains are buried with a name, by their unit and in the presence of their family. Each case has its own challenges. New technologies and better access to historical documents continue to improve the Program’s ability to identify Canada’s missing service members.

Since 2007, the Casualty Identification Program has successfully identified 25 Canadians and 19 foreign nationals. Additionally, five sets of remains have been buried as unknown soldiers in cases where identification was not possible.

The Casualty Identification Program promotes a strong sense of continuity and identity within the Canadian Armed Forces. The attempt to give a name to each discovered Canadian military fatality is a very important goal for the Canadian Armed Forces.

Caix British Cemetery
Caix British Cemetery, France

Commonwealth War Graves Commission

As a founding member to the Imperial War Graves Commission, Canada adheres the policies of the present day Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC).

The final report of the Imperial War Grave Commission in 1918 signed by all members of the Commonwealth presented a common view opposed to repatriation of war dead. This policy affirmed the commitment to the equal treatment of all war dead. The report noted that these cemeteries “in foreign lands would be the symbol for future generations of the common purpose, the common devotion, the common sacrifice of all ranks.” Sir Robert Borden, Prime Minister of Canada 1911 to 1920, was a key supporter of the policy saying, “it is entirely appropriate that among the ranks of the dead there should be no distinction.”

Repatriation would also be against the spirit of land offers to preserve the war dead in perpetuity from France, Belgium, Italy, Greece and many others.

After the Second World War, nations where fighting took place once again offered land for war cemeteries.

Canada changed its policy against the repatriation of war dead in July 1970. Canadian Armed Forces personnel killed overseas after 1970 have been repatriated to Canada. Canada continues to respect the previous non-repatriation policy for the remains of service members killed on operations before 1970.

Identification process

A number of disciplines help the casualty identification process, including history, archaeology, anthropology, laboratory sciences, forensic odontology, and genealogy.

The Casualty Identification Program attempts to identify all discovered remains. Unfortunately, limitations can prevent a positive identification. If historical research and material evidence do not link the discovered remains to a time, place or specific military unit, the list of potential candidates can be in the hundreds or even thousands.

In this case, the Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) will ask the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) to bury the remains as an unknown Canadian soldier. As human remains cannot be exhumed once buried in a CWGC cemetery, DHH collects all available information (including DNA profiles) in the hope that evidence uncovered in the future may positively identify an already buried soldier. In that case, a change of headstone would take place.

Click on the links below to read more information on the steps that can be included in an investigation.

Discovery of remains

Field on the outskirts of Arleux en Gohelle
Human remains are found by
archaeologists during the excavation
of a known battle site, France.

Human remains of war dead are discovered during construction projects, road works, archaeological digs, and farming activity, especially near known battlefields. Artefacts are often found with the remains and become material evidence in our investigations.

Military artefacts include personal military identifiers (identity discs and items with service numbers), insignia (buttons or badges that identify a unit or squadron), and military equipment that gives evidence as to the nationality of the remains and time period of death.

Personal items, such as rings or watches, are sometimes found with the remains and may give clues to the service member’s identity.

Historical research

Unknown Canadian soldier
The headstone of an unknown Canadian soldier
of the Great War at Tyne Cot Cemetery,
Belgium.

The location of the discovery and associated artefacts allows DHH historians to provide a historical background to the events leading to the soldier’s death.

From these events, they can determine the soldier’s unit or aircraft. Historians determine the number of possible candidates using lists of missing servicemen, grave registration records, personnel records, and unit war diaries. Medical information for each candidate is collected and passed on to the forensic anthropologist.

Anthropological analysis

Each set of skeletal remains is examined using anthropological methods. The anthropological analysis produces a biological profile of the individual: sex, age-at-death, ancestry, height, pathology (disease), and trauma (injury).

The biological profile is compared to the list of potential candidates created by the historian and will produce a smaller list of candidates based on age-at-death and height. The service members’ medical information collected during the historical research can also help reduce the number of potential candidates.

During the anthropological analysis, bone and/or teeth samples are collected for possible use in DNA and stable isotope analysis.

Dental card on enlistment
A document showing
the state of a
soldier’s teeth upon
enlistment.

Forensic odontology

Members of the Royal Canadian Dental Corps’ Canadian Forces Forensic Odontology Response Team regularly support the Casualty Identification Program. Teeth and jaws can be unique to an individual and used to identify remains. If dental records are available, the forensic odontologists are able to make comparisons that may lead to identification.

Stable isotope analysis

Stable isotope analysis can be used to lower the number of potential candidates by revealing where the serviceman spent his childhood. The body absorbs oxygen from water and food over a lifetime. The amount of absorbed oxygen isotopes will be different based on geography. Because the values of these oxygen isotopes have been recorded in a global database, they can be used to show where someone has lived.

Oxygen isotopes are included into the enamel of teeth during its development. Since dental enamel does not change during one’s lifetime, analysis of teeth can provide geographical information on an individual’s early years of life.

Historical research can determine where each potential candidate lived, including their place of birth. This information is then compared against the results of the laboratory analysis to lower the number of potential candidates.

Genealogical research

Mr. David Carey
Mr. David Carey receiving the Canadian flag and
medals belonging to his great-uncle Flight Sergeant
John Joseph Carey. Used with permission.

Genealogical research is used by DHH to locate family members of missing servicemen who are able and willing to give a DNA sample. Participation in the investigation by family members is voluntary.

DNA testing

DNA analysis is used to identify remains and exclude potential candidates. DNA samples collected from the remains are compared with samples from family members to see if their DNA profiles are from the same familial lineage.

The Casualty Identification Program typically uses mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) to identify remains which is passed unchanged from mother to child. MtDNA survives well and is very stable over many generations, but its stability may also lead to similar profiles in people who are not closely related. Even with its limitations, mtDNA is a very useful tool that can help to establish parentage that goes back many generations.

The Casualty Identification Program also uses a type of nuclear DNA called Y-chromosome short tandem repeat (Y-STR). Y-STR DNA is passed from father to son and is genetically stable, but does not survive well in skeletal remains. Unfortunately, some samples from the remains do not provide a Y-STR sample that is suitable for comparison, which means this method cannot always be used.

Both types of DNA are a very reliable way to exclude potential candidates. One or both types of DNA can be used in an investigation to try to identify the remains by including the candidate as being from the same lineage and/or excluding other candidates.

Artefact conservation

The Canadian Conservation Institute provides conservation services to the Casualty Identification Program. A number of artefacts, including identification discs, have been treated and restored by the Canadian Conservation Institute. In some cases, the restored artefacts proved to be imperative in achieving a positive identification.

Personal artefacts are returned to the next-of-kin and provide a memento to the family remembering the fallen.

Le Programme d'identification des pertes militaires

Raison d'être

Le cimetière Orchard Dump
Le cimetière Orchard
Dump, France.

Le ministère de la Défense nationale a établi le Programme d'identification des pertes militaires en 2007 en raison du nombre croissant de découvertes de restes humains susceptibles d'appartenir à certains des plus de 27 000 Canadiens qui sont morts au cours de la Première et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et des opérations des Nations Unies en Corée (guerre de Corée) et qui n'ont pas de sépulture connue.

Pendant les deux guerres mondiales et immédiatement après celles-ci, les unités d'enregistrement des tombes du Canada et l'Imperial War Graves Commission, (maintenant appelée Commonwealth War Graves Commission, ont tentéd'identifier des soldats canadiens et de leur fournir une inhumation appropriée.

Les recherches actives en vue de retrouver les restes humains de soldats du Commonwealth ont cesséaprès 1921, mais les pays du Commonwealth continuent de s'efforcer d'identifier les restes humains de militaires portés disparus qui sont retrouvés de nos jours. Au Canada, ce travail est confiéaux responsables du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires.

Les enquêtes dans le cadre de ce programme commencent habituellement lorsque la Commonwealth War Graves Commission détermine que des restes humains retrouvés sont ceux de Canadiens morts à la guerre. Dans le Programme d'identification des pertes militaires, on utilise diverses méthodes de recherche historique et scientifique pour identifier les restes humains.

Lorsque l'enquête du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires est couronnée de succès, le soldat dont les restes humains ont étéidentifiés est inhuméavec un nom, par son unitéet en présence de sa famille. Chaque cas présente des défis particuliers. Grâ ce aux nouvelles technologies et à un meilleur accès aux documents historiques, la capacitéd'identifier les restes humains de militaires canadiens portés disparus continue de s'améliorer.

Depuis 2007, 25 Canadiens et 19 étrangers ont étéidentifiés dans le cadre du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires. De plus, cinq ensembles de restes humains ont étéinhumés comme étant ceux de soldats inconnus dans les cas où l'identification s'est révélée impossible.

Le Programme d'identification des pertes militaires favorise un solide sens de continuitéet d'appartenance au sein des Forces armées canadiennes. Pour ces dernières, tenter d'associer un nom à chaque militaire canadien décédédont les restes humains sont retrouvés constitue un objectif extrêmement important.

Le cimetière britannique Caix
Le cimetière britannique Caix, France

La Commonwealth War Graves Commission

En tant que membre fondateur de l'Imperial War Graves Commission, le Canada souscrit aujourd'hui aux politiques de la Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC).

Dans le rapport final présentépar l'Imperial War Grave Commission en 1918 et signépar tous les membres du Commonwealth, le rapatriement des morts de la guerre faisait l'objet d'une opposition unanime. La politique ainsi établie s'inscrivait dans le sens de l'engagement envers le principe d'égalitéde traitement de tous les soldats morts à la guerre. Dans le rapport, il était dit que les cimetières de guerre « en terres étrangères constitueraient, pour les générations futures, le symbole du but commun, du dévouement commun et du sacrifice commun des militaires de tous grades » (traduction libre). Sir Robert Borden, premier ministre du Canada de 1911 à 1920, était un défenseur cléde la politique selon laquelle il était « tout à fait appropriéque, dans la mort, tous soient traités également » (traduction libre).

Le rapatriement des restes humains s'opposait aussi à l'esprit dans lequel la France, la Belgique, l'Italie, la Grèce et bien d'autres pays offraient des terrains où les morts de la guerre pourraient reposer pour toujours.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les pays où les combats s'étaient déroulés ont de nouveau offert des terrains pour établir des cimetières de guerre.

En juillet 1970, le Canada a modifiésa politique allant à l'encontre du rapatriement des soldats morts à la guerre. Ainsi, les dépouilles des membres du personnel des Forces armées canadiennes tués outre-mer après 1970 ont étérapatriées au Canada. Toutefois, le Canada continue de respecter la politique antérieure de non-rapatriement en ce qui concerne les restes humains des militaires qui ont perdu la vie au cours d'opérations menées avant 1970.

Processus d'identification

Le processus d'identification des pertes militaires suppose le recours à diverses disciplines, notamment l'histoire, l'archéologie, l'anthropologie, les sciences de laboratoire, l'odontologie médico-légale et la généalogie.

Dans le cadre du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires, on tente d'identifier tous les restes humains découverts. Malheureusement, certaines limites peuvent empêcher de parvenir à l'identification. Si les recherches historiques et les preuves matérielles ne permettent pas d'établir de liens entre les restes humains et une époque, un lieu ou une unitémilitaire précise, les candidats peuvent alors se compter pas centaines, voire par milliers.

Dans un tel cas, la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine (DHP) demandera à la Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) d'inhumer les restes humains comme étant ceux d'un soldat canadien inconnu. Comme les restes humains inhumés dans un cimetière de la CWGC ne peuvent pas être exhumés, la DHP recueille tous les renseignements disponibles (y compris des profils d'ADN) dans l'espoir que des éléments de preuve qui pourraient être découverts dans l'avenir permettront d'identifier un soldat déjà inhumé. Dans une telle éventualité, la pierre tombale serait remplacée.

Cliquez sur les liens figurant ci-dessous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les étapes que peut comprendre une enquête.

Découverte de restes humains

site de bataille connu, France
Des restes humains sont localisés
par des archéologues lors de
travaux d'excavation d'un
site de bataille connu, France.

On trouve des restes humains au cours de projets de construction, de travaux routiers, de fouilles archéologiques et d'activités agricoles, en particulier près des champs de bataille connus. Souvent, des artéfacts sont retrouvés auprès des restes humains et servent de preuves matérielles dans nos enquêtes.

Les artéfacts militaires comprennent notamment des identificateurs personnels (plaques d'identitéet articles portant le numéro matricule), des insignes (boutons ou insignes permettant d'identifier une unitéou un escadron) et de l'équipement militaire donnant des preuves sur la nationalitéde la personne dont les restes ont ététrouvés et sur l'époque de son décès.

On trouve parfois, avec les restes humains, des articles personnels, comme des bagues ou des montres, qui peuvent fournir des indices sur l'identitédu militaire.

soldat canadien inconnu
La stèle d'un soldat canadien inconnu de
la Grande Guerre au cimetière de
Tyne Cot, Belgique.

Recherche historique

Le lieu de la découverte et les artéfacts retrouvés sur place permettent aux historiens de la DHP de cerner le contexte historique des événements ayant menéau décès du soldat.

En se basant sur ces événements, les historiens sont en mesure de déterminer l'unitédu soldat mort ou l'appareil à bord duquel il servait. Ils délimitent le nombre de candidats à partir des listes de militaires disparus, des registres des services des sépultures, des dossiers du personnel et des journaux de guerre des unités. Des renseignements médicaux sont recueillis sur chaque candidat et transmis à l'anthropologue judiciaire.

Analyse anthropologique

Chaque ensemble de restes humains est examinéau moyen de méthodes anthropologiques. L'analyse anthropologique permet de produire un profil biologique de l'individu : sexe, &?acirc; ge au moment du décès, ascendance, taille, pathologie (présence de maladie) et trauma (blessure).

Le profil biologique est ensuite comparéà la liste des candidats établie par l'historien, comparaison qui permettra de réduire cette liste en fonction de l'&?acirc; ge au moment du décès et de la taille. Les renseignements médicaux sur les militaires qui ont étérecueillis au cours de la recherche historique peuvent aussi aider à réduire le nombre de candidats.

Au cours de l'analyse anthropologique, des échantillons d'os et/ou de dents sont recueillis pour une éventuelle utilisation au cours d'une analyse de l'ADN ou des isotopes stables.

la santé dentaire d’un soldat lors de son attestation
Un document montrant
l'état de la santé dentaire
d'un soldat lors de son attestation.

Odontologie médico-légale

Les membres de l'Équipe d'intervention en odontologie médico-légale des Forces canadiennes, qui relève du Corps dentaire royal canadien, appuient régulièrement le Programme d'identification des pertes militaires. La dentition et la m&?acirc; choire d'un individu peuvent comporter des caractéristiques uniques et être utilisées pour identifier des restes humains. Si des fiches dentaires sont accessibles, les odontologistes judiciaires sont en mesure de faire des comparaisons qui peuvent mener à l'identification.

Analyse des isotopes stables

L'analyse des isotopes stables peut être utilisée pour réduire le nombre de candidats en révélant où le militaire a passé son enfance. En effet, au cours de la vie, le corps emmagasine de l'oxygène provenant de l'eau et de la nourriture. La quantité d'isotopes d'oxygène absorbés variera selon la région géographique. Étant donnéque les valeurs de ces isotopes d'oxygène ont étéconsignées dans une base de données mondiale, on peut se fonder sur celles-ci pour déterminer à quel endroit une personne a vécu.

Les isotopes d'oxygène sont intégrés dans l'émail des dents au cours de son développement. Comme l'émail des dents ne se transforme pas au cours d'une vie, l'analyse des dents peut fournir des renseignements géographiques sur les premières années de vie d'un individu.

La recherche historique peut permettre de déterminer où chaque candidat a vécu, y compris son lieu de naissance. Cette information est ensuite comparée aux résultats de l'analyse de laboratoire afin de réduire le nombre de candidats.

Recherche généalogique

M. David Carey
M. David Carey recevant le
drapeau canadien et les médailles
appartenant à son grand-oncle
Sergeant de section John Joseph
Carey. Avec la permission du sujet.

La DHP a recours à la recherche généalogique pour trouver des membres de la famille des militaires portés disparus, qui sont aptes et disposés à fournir un échantillon d'ADN. La participation des membres de la famille à une enquête est à titre volontaire.

Tests d'ADN

L'analyse de l'ADN est utilisée pour identifier les restes humains et exclure certains candidats. Les échantillons d'ADN recueillis sur les restes humains sont comparés aux échantillons fournis par des membres de la famille afin de voir si les profils génétiques proviennent de la même lignée familiale.

Dans le cadre du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires, on utilise habituellement l'ADN mitochondrial (ADNmt) pour identifier les restes humains, car cet ADN est transmis intact de la mère à l'enfant. L'ADNmt survit bien et demeure très stable sur un grand nombre de générations, mais cette stabilitépeut aussi mener à des profils similaires chez des personnes qui ne sont pas étroitement apparentées. Malgréses limites, l'ADNmt est un outil très utile qui peut aider à établir les liens de parentéremontant à de nombreuses générations.

Dans le Programme d'identification des pertes militaires, on a aussi recours à un type d'ADN nucléaire appeléchromosome Y- séquences courtes répétées en tandem (Y-STR). L'ADN Y-STR est transmis de père en fils et est génétiquement stable, mais il ne survit pas bien sur les restes d'ossements humains. Malheureusement, certains échantillons prélevés sur les restes humains ne fournissent pas d'ADN Y-STR pouvant être utiliséaux fins de comparaison, ce qui signifie qu'on ne peut pas toujours se servir de cette méthode.

Les deux types d'ADN sont des moyens très fiables d'exclure certains candidats. En se servant d'un type d'ADN ou des deux dans une enquête pour essayer d'identifier les restes humains, on peut inclure le candidat comme étant de la même lignée et/ou exclure d'autres candidats.

Conservation des artéfacts

L'Institut canadien de conservation fournit des services de conservation au Programme d'identification des pertes militaires. Un certain nombre d'artéfacts, notamment des plaques d'identité, ont ététraités et restaurés par l'Institut. Dans certains cas, les artéfacts restaurés se sont révélés indispensables à l'identification des restes humains.

Les articles personnels sont remis au plus proche parent et constituent des souvenirs au moyen desquels la famille peut se rappeler le soldat mort au combat.