Discovery in Hallu, France

View of Hallu from Punchy
View of Hallu from Punchy

In 2006, three sets of skeletal remains were discovered at the property of the Demeusere family in the village of Hallu, France. The following year five more sets of remains were recovered from the same area.

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission determined that these remains were Canadian soldiers from the First World War, from Winnipeg’s 78th Battalion.

Winnipeg Grenadiers Formation Patch
Winnipeg Grenadiers
Formation Patch

The 78th Canadian Infantry Battalion (Winnipeg Grenadiers) was part of the 4th Division’s relief of the 3rd Division in the Canadian lines following in the final stages of the Battle of Amiens which began on 8 August 1918.

By 10 August, the 78th Battalion occupied the small village of Hallu located in the Somme region of France. Whilst in Hallu, the 78th Battalion suffered 46 fatalities of whom 35 were missing, presumed to have been killed in action. It was believed that the eight sets of remains recovered belong to eight of these 35 soldiers.

Caix Cemetery
Caix Bristish Cemetery where all eight of the 78th Battalion
(Winnipeg Grenadiers) found at Hallu, France are buried.

Historical research, anthropological analysis, genetic analysis, and dental analysis were used to narrow the list of candidates.

Of the eight sets of remains discovered in 2006-2007, five have been identified as Private Sidney Halliday, Lance Sergeant John Oscar Lindell, Private Lachlan McKinnon, Lieutenant Clifford Abraham Neelands, and Private William Simms, while three are still unidentified. All eight were buried in May 2015 in the Caix British Cemetery.


G.W.L. Nicholson's Map of Canadian Division Lines along Hallu and surrounding area.
G.W.L. Nicholson's map of the Canadian Corps' attack at Amiens.
Inset: Hallu and surrounding area.

Découverte à Hallu, en France

Vue d’Hallu depuis Punchy
Vue d’Hallu depuis Punchy

En 2006, trois ensembles de restes humains ont été découverts sur la propriété des Demeusere, dans le village d’Hallu, en France. L’année suivante, cinq autres ensembles ont été trouvés dans la même région.

La Commonwealth War Graves Commission a déterminé que ces restes humains étaient ceux de soldats canadiens ayant servi dans le 78th Battalion de Winnipeg, au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale.

 Insigne de formation du Winnipeg Grenadiers
Insigne de formation du Winnipeg Grenadiers

Le 78th Battalion d’infanterie canadien (Winnipeg Grenadiers) faisait partie de la relève de la 3e Division assurée par la 4e Division dans les lignes canadiennes lors des dernières étapes de la bataille d’Amiens, qui a commencé le 8 août 1918.

Au 10 août, le 78th Battalion occupait le petit village d’Hallu situé dans la région de la Somme, en France. Alors qu’il se trouvait à Hallu, le 78th Battalion a perdu 46 soldats, dont 35 ont été portés disparus et présumés tués au combat. On croit que les huit ensembles de restes humains récupérés sont ceux de huit de ces 35 soldats.

Cimetière britannique de Caix, oùles huit soldats du 78th Battalion (Winnipeg Grenadiers) trouvés à Hallu (France) sont inhumés.
Cimetière britannique de Caix, oùles huit soldats du 78th Battalion
(Winnipeg Grenadiers) trouvés à Hallu (France) sont inhumés.

On s’est fondé sur la recherche historique ainsi que sur des analyses anthropologique, génétique et dentaire pour réduire la liste des candidats.

Sur les huit ensembles de restes humains découverts en 2006-2007, cinq ont été identifiés. Il s’agit du soldat Sidney Halliday, du sergent suppléant John Oscar Lindell, du soldat Lachlan McKinnon, du lieutenant Clifford Neelands, et du soldat William Simms. Il en reste donc trois non identifiés. Les huit soldats ont été inhumés en mai 2015 au cimetière britannique de Caix.


G.W.L. Nicholson's Map of Canadian Division Lines along Hallu and surrounding area.
G.W.L. Nicholson's map of the Canadian Corps' attack at Amiens.
Inset: Hallu and surrounding area.