Anson L7056 (1942 / 2013)

DISAPPEARANCE
Avro Anson Mk 1 L7056 and its four crewmen went missing on October 30th 1942, while performing a routine navigation exercise from 32 OTU (Operational Training Unit, RAF) at Patricia Bay, British Columbia. As a front of bad weather began to move in, a recall was issued for all aircraft, but Anson L7056 failed to return. Searches for the missing aircraft were initiated at noon on October 30th but were discontinued on November 3rd after numerous search aircraft failed to locate any wreckage. There were four crew members on L7056: the pilot, Robert Ernest Luckock, two navigators, Charles George Fox and Anthony William Lawrence, and the wireless operator and air gunner, William Baird. Of the four airmen, three were Royal Air Force and British citizens, and the fourth, William Baird, was a member of the Royal Canadian Air Force and a Canadian citizen.

Wreath hung at the crash site of Anson L7056
Wreath hung at the crash site of
Anson L7056

DISCOVERY
The Anson and her crew were found on October 23rd, 2013, when forestry engineers unexpectedly discovered the wreckage in a remote forest near Port Renfrew, British Columbia. The logging company notified the regional RCMP who then notified the British Columbia Regional Joint Operations Centre. After alerting the Casualty Identification Officer at the Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) at National Defence Headquarters, Canadian Armed Forces military and civilian experts travelled to the site on the 10th and 11th of December, 2013. They included a forensic scientist from DHH, an Explosive Ordnance Disposal diver from CFB Esquimalt and an air crash expert from Canadian Forces Base Comox. On December 10th, 2013, the remains of one of the airmen were discovered, and the British Columbia Coroner was contacted.

RECOVERY
From the 5th to 9th of May 2014, a team worked together to exhume the remains of the four airmen while remediating any hazards on the site.

Casualty Identification Officer Laurel Clegg and Ms. Courtney Brown, Coroner, British Columbia Coroners Service At L7056 crash site.
Casualty Identification Officer
Laurel Clegg and Ms. Courtney Brown,
Coroner, British Columbia Coroners Service
At L7056 crash site.
The team comprised of members from the Joint Task Force (Pacific), the Casualty Identification officer from the DHH, the BC Coroner’s service, Fleet Diving Unit (Pacific), the Directorate for Nuclear Safety, and regionally based environmental officers, crash experts and logisticians. All four airmen were identified using forensic analysis by experts from National Defence and the BC Coroner’s service. The families of the four airmen were notified of the recovery as soon as was possible. Many personal items retrieved at the crash site will be returned to the families. All four airmen were interred at Royal Oak Burial Park on 10 November 2014, Victoria, BC, in accordance with the agreement by all Commonwealth countries following the First and Second World War.

The signing of the BCATP by William MacKenzie King on 16 December 1939. Photographer: Walter J. Turnbull. Courtesy of Library and Archives Canada (PA-200350), Ottawa, Ontario
The signing of the BCATP by
William MacKenzie King on 16 December 1939.
Photographer: Walter J. Turnbull.
Courtesy of Library and Archives Canada
(PA-200350), Ottawa, Ontario

BRITISH COMMONWEALTH AIR TRAINING PLAN - 32 OPERATIONAL TRAINING UNIT
L7056 Anson was a training aircraft used by 32 Operational Training Unit (OTU) based in Patricia Bay, British Columbia. The Operational Training Unit was the final stage in the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan (BCATP) following an airman’s initial training school and specialized training schools. The BCATP trained nearly 137,000 aircrew for service in the Second World War, largely from Commonwealth countries.

THE AVRO ANSON
The Avro Anson, named for an 18th century British admiral and nicknamed “faithful Annie” for its stability and reliability, was used as a commercial aircraft at its conception. The RAF recognized the aircraft’s maneuverability and durability, so it was adopted for military use in 1936. The Anson was used extensively for twin engine aircraft training in the BCATP, with over one million flying hours logged and 20,000 air crew trained.

An Avro Anson aircraft.
An Avro Anson aircraft.

Anson L7056 (1942 / 2013)

DISPARITION
L’Avro Anson Mk 1 L7056 et ses quatre membres d’équipage ont été portés disparus le 30 octobre 1942, tandis qu’ils effectuaient un exercice de navigation de routine à partir de la 32e Unité d’entraînement opérationnel (UEO), RAF, à Patricia Bay, en Colombie-Britannique. Étant donné qu’un front de mauvais temps commençait à s’avancer, tous les avions ont été rappelés, mais l’Anson L7056 n’est pas revenu. Les recherches en vue de retrouver l’appareil porté disparu ont été entreprises à midi le 30 octobre, mais ont été interrompues le 3 novembre, les efforts des nombreux aéronefs de recherches ayant été vains. L’équipage du L7056 comptait les quatre membres suivants : le pilote, Robert Ernest Luckock, deux navigateurs, Charles George Fox et Anthony William Lawrence, et un radio-mitrailleur, William Baird. Trois de ces quatre aviateurs appartenaient à la Royal Air Force et étaient citoyens britanniques; le quatrième, William Baird, était membre de l’Aviation royale canadienne et citoyen canadien.

Couronne accrochée à l'emplacement de l'écrasement de l'Anson L7056
Couronne accrochée
à l’emplacement de l’écrasement
de l’Anson L7056

DÉCOUVERTE DE L'ÉPAVE
L’Anson a été retrouvé le 23 octobre 2013, lorsque des ingénieurs forestiers sont tombés inopinément sur l’épave dans une forêt éloignée près de Port Renfrew, en Colombie-Britannique. La compagnie forestière a avisé le service régional de la GRC, qui a lui-même informé le Centre régional des opérations interarmées de la Colombie-Britannique. Après avoir alerté l’officier d’identification des pertes à la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine (DHP), au Quartier général de la Défense nationale, des experts civils et des experts militaires des Forces armées canadiennes se sont rendus à l’emplacement les 10 et 11 décembre 2013. L’équipe comprenait un expert judiciaire de la DHP, un plongeur spécialisé en neutralisation des explosifs et munitions de la Base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) Esquimalt et un expert en écrasements d’avion de la BFC Comox. Le 10 décembre 2013, les restes de l’un des aviateurs ont été retrouvés, et on a communiqué avec le bureau des coroners de la Colombie-Britannique.

RÉCUPÉRATION
Du 5 au 9 mai 2014, une équipe s’est affairée à exhumer les restes des quatre aviateurs tout en écartant tout danger à l’emplacement de l’épave.

Mme Laurel Clegg, officier d'identification des pertes, et Mme Courtney Brown, coroner du bureau des coroners de la Colombie-Britannique, sur les lieux de l'écrasement du L7056.
Mme Laurel Clegg,
officier d’identification des pertes,
et Mme Courtney Brown, coroner
du bureau des coroners de la
Colombie-Britannique,
sur les lieux de l’écrasement du L7056.
L’équipe se composait de membres de la Force opérationnelle interarmées (Pacifique), de l’officier d’identification des pertes de la DHP, d’une représentante du bureau des coroners de la C.-B., d’un membre de l’Unité de plongée de la Flotte (Pacifique), d’un représentant de la Direction – Sûreté nucléaire ainsi que d’officiers de l’environnement, d’experts en écrasement d’avions et de logisticiens établis dans la région. Les quatre aviateurs ont tous été identifiés par des experts de la Défense nationale et du bureau des coroners de la C.-B. au moyen d’une analyse médico-légale. Les familles des aviateurs on été informées dès que possible de la récupération des restes humains. De nombreux articles personnels retrouvés sur les lieux de l’écrasement seront remis aux familles. Les quatre aviateurs ont été inhumés au Royal Oak Burial Park le 10 novembre 2014, à Victoria (C.-B.), conformément à l’entente conclue par tous les pays du Commonwealth après la Première et la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
Signature du PEACB par William MacKenzie King le 16 décembre 1939. Photographe : Walter J. Turnbull. Photo reproduite avec l'aimable autorisation de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (PA-200350), Ottawa (Ontario).
Signature du PEACB par William MacKenzie King
le 16 décembre 1939.
Photographe : Walter J. Turnbull.
Photo reproduite avec l’aimable
autorisation de Bibliothèque et
Archives Canada (PA-200350),
Ottawa (Ontario).

PROGRAMME D'ENTRAÎNEMENT AÉRIEN DU COMMONWEALTH BRITANNIQUE – 32E UNITÉ D'ENTRAÎNEMENT OPÉRATIONNEL
Le L7056 Anson était un avion-école utilisé par la 32e Unité d’entraînement opérationnel (UEO) basée à Patricia Bay, en Colombie-Britannique. L’Unité d’entraînement opérationnel constituait la dernière étape du Programme d’entraînement aérien du  Commonwealth britannique (PEACB), après la fréquentation d’une école préparatoire d’aviation et d’écoles de formation spécialisée. Dans le cadre du PEACB, près de 137 000 membres du personnel navigant, venant en grande partie de pays du Commonwealth, ont été formés pour servir au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

L'AVRO ANSON
L’Avro Anson, nommé en l’honneur d’un amiral britannique du XVIIIe siècle et surnommé « faithful Annie » (fidèle Annie) en raison de sa stabilité et de sa fiabilité, a d’abord été utilisé comme avion commercial lors de sa conception. Ayant reconnu sa manœuvrabilité et sa durabilité, la RAF l’a adopté pour usage militaire en 1936. L’Anson a été beaucoup employé pour l’entraînement au pilotage de bimoteurs dans le cadre du PEACB; en effet, plus d’un million d’heures de vol ont été effectuées et 20 000 membres du personnel navigant ont été formés à son bord.

Avion Avro Anson
Avion Avro Anson.