Avion, France (1917 / 2003)

Soldiers of the 49th Battalion in the field.
Soldiers of the 49th Battalion in the field;
(Photo: Used with the permission of the MacDonald Family

On October 31st 2003, two sets of skeletal remains were discovered on a construction site near Avion, Pas-de-Calais, France. The Commonwealth War Graves Commission determined that they were Canadian soldiers based on the location where they were found and their battalion specific uniform buttons and crests. They were believed to be members of the 49th Battalion Canadian Expeditionary Force. After their discovery, the Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) of the Department of National Defence (DND) worked towards the identification of these two soldiers as part of the Casualty Identification Programme.

49th Batttlaion Formation Patch
49th Battalion (Edmonton Regiment)
Formation Patch
G.W.L. Nicholson’s Map of trench raids in Souchez-Avion region for May and June 1917
G.W.L. Nicholson’s Map of trench raids in
Souchez-Avion region for May and June 1917.
Arrows show the area of attack for the 49th
Battalion on the night of 8-9 June 1917.

The 49th Battalion, currently perpetuated by the Loyal Edmonton Regiment, fought as part of the 7th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Division. During the fighting in the Lens-Avion region in June and July 1917 the 49th Battalion took part in a night raid on the German front along the Souchez River on the 8-9 June 1917. During this raid, 16 soldiers of the 49th were reported missing and presumed dead. It was likely that the skeletal remains of the newly discovered soldiers belonged to two of the missing sixteen members of the battalion

For more information on the night raids carried out by the Canadian Expeditionary Force along the German Front you can find the full account in G.W.L. Nicholson’s Official History of The Canadian Army in the First World War: Canadian Expeditionary Force, 1914-1919.

Private Lawless and Private Peterson’s headstones at La Chaudiére Military Cemetery, Pas de Calais, France.
Private Lawless and Private Peterson’s headstones
at La Chaudiére Military Cemetery, Pas de Calais,
France. (Photo: Laurel Clegg)

National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces make every attempt to identify unknown soldiers before they are interred in a Commonwealth War Graves Commission cemetery. Each soldier was identified using a combination historical research, biological anthropological analysis, genetic analysis, and isotopic analysis. The first soldier found near Avion was identified in February 2007 as Private Herbert Peterson. The second soldier found near Avion was identified in January 2011 as Private Thomas Lawless. Both are interred in La Chaudiére Military Cemetery


Operation Reports






3rd Canadian Division Report on Operation by 7th Infantry Brigade (including 49th Battalion) for 8/9 June, 1917. These documents are presented in their original language only.

Source: Library and Archive s Canada, War Diaries of the First World War.

Avion, (France) 1917 / 2003

Soldats  du 49e Bataillon sur le terrain
Soldats du 49e Bataillon sur le terrain;
(Photo : utilisée avec la permission de la famille MacDonald)

Le 31 octobre 2003, deux ensembles de restes humains ont été découverts sur un chantier de construction près d’Avion (Pas-de-Calais, France). La Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth a déterminé qu’il s’agissait de soldats canadiens, compte tenu de l’endroit où les restes gisaient ainsi que des boutons et emblèmes d’uniforme propres à leur bataillon retrouvés près de ceux-ci. Les soldats auraient été membres du 49e Bataillon, Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Après la découverte de ces restes humains, la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine (DHP) du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) a mené des travaux en vue d’identifier les deux soldats en question, dans le cadre du Programme d’identification des pertes militaires.

écusson de formation du 49e Bataillon (Edmonton Regiment)
écusson de formation du 49e
Bataillon (Edmonton Regiment)
Carte dressée par G.W.L. Nicholson concernant les raids sur les tranchées dans la région de Souchez-Avion en mai et juin 1917. Les flèches indiquent la zone d’attaque du 49e Bataillon dans la nuit du 8 au 9 juin 1917.
Carte dressée par G.W.L. Nicholson concernant
les raids sur les tranchées dans la région
de Souchez-Avion en mai et juin 1917. Les flèches
indiquent la zone d’attaque du 49e Bataillon dans
la nuit du 8 au 9 juin 1917.

Le 49e Bataillon, qui est actuellement perpétué par The Loyal Edmonton Regiment, a combattu en tant que partie intégrante de la 7e Brigade d’infanterie, 3e Division du Canada. Au cours des combats dans la région de Lens-Avion en juin et juillet 1917, le 49e Bataillon a participé à un raid sur le front allemand le long de la rivière Souchez  dans la nuit du 8 au 9 juin 1917. Au cours du raid, 16 soldats du 49e Bataillon ont été portés disparus et présumés morts. Il était probable que les restes humains récemment découverts étaient ceux de 2 des 16 membres du bataillon portés disparus

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les raids nocturnes menés par le Corps expéditionnaire canadien le long du front allemand, veuillez vous reporter au compte rendu complet présenté dans l’ouvrage de   G.W.L. Nicholson intitulé Histoire officielle de la participation de l’Armée canadienne à la Première Guerre mondiale : Le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, 1914-1919.

Pierres tombales du soldat Lawless et du soldat Peterson au cimetière de La Chaudière, au Pas-de-Calais (France).
Pierres tombales du soldat Lawless et du soldat Peterson au
cimetière de La Chaudière, au Pas-de-Calais (France).
(Photo : Laurel Clegg)

La Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes déploient tous les efforts possibles pour identifier les soldats inconnus avant leur inhumation dans un cimetière de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. On s’est fondé sur des recherches historiques ainsi que sur des analyses anthropologiques biologiques, génétiques et isotopiques pour identifier chaque soldat. Le premier soldat trouvé près d’Avion a été identifié en février 2007 comme étant le soldat Herbert Peterson. Le deuxième a été identifié en janvier 2011 comme étant le soldat Thomas Lawless. Les deux sont inhumés au cimetière militaire de La Chaudière.


comptes rendus d’opération






Compte rendu de la 3e Division du Canada concernant l’opération menée par la 7e Brigade d’infanterie (y compris le 49e Bataillon) entre le 8 et le 9 juin 1917. Ces documents sont présentés uniquement dans la langue originale.

Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Journaux de guerre de la Première Guerre mondiale.