Molentje, Damme Casualty Identification

Private Kenneth Donald Duncanson

Death Notice from The Dutton Advance 7 June 1945
An announcement confirming
Private Duncanson’s death
was made on 7 June 1945.
Photo credits:
The Dutton Advance,
7 June 1945, page 1

Private Kenneth Donald Duncanson was born on 7 June 1915 in Wallacetown, Ontario. He married Mabel Lillian Haggarty in 1939 and lived in Dutton, Elgin County, Ontario. Before joining the Army, he was a truck driver for Strathcona Creamery, but his goal was to own and operate his own grocery store.

On 24 August 1942, five days after 2nd Canadian Division conducted the raid on Dieppe, France, he enlisted in the Army and was sent to infantry training in camps at Ipperwash and Stratford Ontario. On 14 September 1943 he left for England and was assigned to No. 3 Canadian Infantry Reinforcement Unit (3CIRU). In preparation for the Normandy invasion he was transferred to The Algonquin Regiment on 17 April 1944 as a rifleman.

The Algonquin Regiment left for France on 20 July 1944 as part of the 10th Infantry Brigade, 4th Canadian Armoured Division. Private Duncanson fought in the final phases of the Normandy Campaign, including the Falaise Pocket. He was involved in the pursuit of the German Army across the Seine and the Canadian Army’s move north in the battles leading up to the Battle of the Scheldt in Belgium and the Netherlands.

Recovery work in Molentje Belgium
Members of the Belgian
Raakvlak Intercommunal
Archeological Service and
DHH begin the recovery of
the rest of Private
Duncanson’s remains
in April 2016.
Photo credit: DHH

According to witness accounts, Private Duncanson died on the morning of 14 September 1944 from wounds received during a German counterattack forcing the Algonquins to withdraw back across the Leopold Canal and the Dérivation de la Lys. Private Duncanson was declared “Missing in Action” as of 17 September 1944, then “Killed in Action” as of 31 May 1945, but his body was not recovered.

Following the war, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) engraved his name on panel 11 of the Groesbeek Memorial in the Netherlands with the names of other soldiers who have no known grave.

On 11 November 2014, a metal detector hobbyist discovered partial human remains in a farmer’s field near Molentje, Belgium. The discovery of the remains was reported to the Belgian Police, who recovered a small number of bones and four BREN Light Machine Gun magazines, which were then transferred to the CWGC. The partial remains were determined to be those of a Canadian soldier from the Second World War.

After extensive historical and forensic anthropological research by the Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH), the remains were determined to be one of the eight missing soldiers from The Algonquin Regiment that fought near Moerkerke, Belgium, on 13-14 September 1944. The remaining human remains of this soldier were recovered by DHH in cooperation with the Belgian Raakvlak Intercommunal Archeological Service in April 2016. Numerous artefacts were also found, including: a gold signet ring, a compass, two combs, a razor, shaving cream, a wallet and a toothbrush.

With the assistance of the Canadian Forces Forensic Odontology Response Team, as well as historical, genealogical, anthropological and archaeological analysis, DHH was able to confirm the identity of the remains as Private Kenneth Donald Duncanson on 27 April 2016.

The internment of Private Duncanson took place on 14 September 2016 at the Adegem Canadian War Cemetery. Members of Private Duncanson’s family, as well as representatives from the Government of Canada and the Canadian Armed Forces, attended the ceremony.

For further information on Private Kenneth Donald Duncanson, you can view his personnel file at Library and Archives Canada.

Private Duncanson’s wedding ring.
A gold wedding ring
was found with
Private Duncanson’s
remains. The ring has a small
diamond and the initials KDD
on the face.
Photo credit: Raakvlak
Intercommunal Archeological
Service
Compass found with Private Duncanson.
A compass recovered
with Private Duncanson’s
equipment.
After being buried
for over seventy years the
needle still
pointed north.
Photo credit: DHH
During the conservation of what was believed to be a “Snuffbox” found with Pte Duncanson, members of the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) discovered a bracelet.
During the conservation of what
was believed to be a "Snuffbox"
found with Pte Duncanson,
conservators of the Canadian
Conservation Institute (CCI)
discovered a bracelet.
© Government of Canada,
Canadian Conservation Institute

L'identification des pertes militaires à Moerkerke

Soldat Kenneth Donald Duncanson

Notice nécrologique du Dutton Advance, 7 juin 1945
Une annonce confirmant le
décès du soldat Duncanson
a été faite le 7 juin  1945.
Mention de source : The Dutton
Advance
7 juin 1945, page 11

Le soldat Kenneth Donald Duncanson naît le 7 juin 1915 à Wallacetown, en Ontario. Il épouse Mabel Lillian Haggarty en 1939 et habite à Dutton, dans le comté d’Elgin, en Ontario. Au moment de son enrô lement, il est chauffeur de camion pour la Strathcona Creamery, mais il a comme objectif de posséder et d’exploiter sa propre épicerie

Le 24 aoû t 1942, soit cinq jours aprè s que la 2e Division canadienne a mené le raid sur Dieppe, en France, il s’enrô le dans l’Armée et il est envoyé dans des camps d’instruction de l’infanterie à Ipperwash, puis à Stratford, en Ontario. Le 14 septembre 1943, il s’embarque pour l’Angleterre et il est affecté à la 3e unité de renfort de l’infanterie canadienne (3 URIC). En vue de l’invasion de la Normandie, il est transféré à l’Algonquin Regiment le 17 avril 1944 comme carabinier.

L’Algonquin Regiment s’embarque pour la France le 20 juillet 1944 comme partie intégrante de la 10e Brigade d’infanterie, 4e Division blindée canadienne. Le soldat Duncanson participe au combat au cours des étapes finales de la campagne de Normandie, notamment à la poche de Falaise. Il prend part à la poursuite de l’armée allemande au-delà de la Seine et au déplacement de l’Armée canadienne vers le nord lors des batailles qui mè neront à la bataille de l’Escaut, en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas.

Travaux de récupération à Molentje, en Belgique
Des membres du Service
intercommunal d’archéologie
belge Raakvlak et de la DHP
commencent à récupérer les
derniers restes humains du
Soldat Duncanson en avril 2016.
Mention de source : DHP

Selon des t&?eacute;moignages recueillis, le soldat Duncanson meurt le matin du 14 septembre 1944 par suite de blessures subies durant une contre-attaque allemande qui a forc&?eacute; les membres de l’Algonquin Regiment à retourner de l’autre cô té du canal Léopold et de la D&?eacute;rivation de la Lys. Le soldat Duncanson est d&?eacute;clar&?eacute; &?laquo; disparu au combat › en date du 17 septembre 1944, puis « tué au combat › le 31 mai 1945, mais son corps n’est pas récupéré.

Aprè s la guerre, la Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) a gravé son nom sur le panneau 11 du monument commémoratif de Groesbeek, aux Pays-Bas, avec ceux d’autres soldats qui n’ont aucune sépulture connue.

Le 11 novembre 2014, un amateur de détection d’objets métalliques a découvert des restes humains partiels dans un champ de ferme, prè s de Molentje, en Belgique. La découverte a été signalée à la police belge, qui a récupéré quelques os et quatre chargeurs de mitrailleuse légè re BREN, par la suite transférés à la CWGC. Il a été déterminé que les restes partiels étaient ceux d’un soldat canadien ayant combattu au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Par suite d’importantes recherches dans les domaines de l’histoire et de l’anthropologie judiciaire effectuées par la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine (DHP), il a été établi que les restes &?eacute;taient ceux de l’un des huit soldats de l’Algonquin Regiment port&?eacute;s disparus aprè s avoir combattu prè s de Moerkerke, en Belgique, les 13 et 14 septembre 1944. Les autres restes humains de ce soldat ont été récupérés par la DHP, en collaboration avec le Service intercommunal d’arch&?eacute;ologie belge Raakvlak en avril 2016. De nombreux art&?eacute;facts ont aussi &?eacute;t&?eacute; trouvés, notamment une chevaliè re en or, une boussole, deux peignes, un rasoir, de la cr&?egrave; me &?agrave; raser, un portefeuille et une brosse à dents.

Avec l’aide de l’équipe d’intervention en odontologie médico-légale des Forces canadiennes et grâce à une analyse historique, généalogique, anthropologique et archéologique, la DHP a été en mesure de confirmer, le 27 avril 2016, que les restes humains retrouvés étaient ceux du soldat Kenneth Donald Duncanson.

L’inhumation du soldat Duncanson a eu lieu le 14 septembre 2016 au cimetiè re de guerre canadien d’Adegem. Des membres de la famille du soldat Duncanson, ainsi que des représentants du gouvernement du Canada et des Forces armées canadiennes ont assisté aux funérailles.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le soldat Kenneth Donald Duncanson, veuillez consulter son dossier de service à Bibliothè que et Archives Canada.

Alliance du soldat Duncanson
Une alliance en or
a été trouvée prè s
des restes humains
du soldat Duncanson.
Elle est incrustée
d’un petit diamant
et porte les initiales
K.D.D. sur le dessus.
Mention de source: Service
intercommunal d’archéologie
Raakvlak
Boussole retrouvée auprès du soldat Duncanson
Boussole retrouvée
avec l’équipement
du soldat Duncanson.
Aprè s avoir été
enterrée pendant
plus de 70 ans,
l’aiguille pointait
encore vers le nord.
Mention de
source: DHP
Au cours de la conservation de ce qui semblait être une  &?laquo;  tabati&?egrave; re &?rsaquo;, trouv&?eacute;e aupr&?egrave; s du Sdt Duncanson, des membres de l’Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) ont d&?eacute;couvert un bracelet.
Au cours de la conservation
de ce qui semblait être une
« tabatiè re ›, trouvée auprès
du Sdt Duncanson, des
restaurateurs de l’Institut
canadien de conservation
(ICC) ont découvert
un bracelet. Ⓒ Institut
canadien de conservation,
Gouvernement du Canada