Hallu, France (1918 / 2006-2007)

View of Hallu from Punchy
View of Hallu from Punchy

In 2006, three sets of skeletal remains were discovered at the property of the Demeusere family by the son, Fabien, in the village of Hallu, France. The following year five more sets of remains were recovered from the same area. It was determined that these remains were Canadian soldiers from the First World War, from Winnipeg's 78th Battalion. Since their discovery, the Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) of the Department of National Defence (DND) has been working towards the identification of these soldiers as part of their Casualty Identification Programme. This discovery was the largest find of unknown soldiers from the First World War for Canada since the start of the Casualty Identification Pogramme at DND.

Winnipeg Grenadiers Formation Patch
Winnipeg Grenadiers
Formation Patch

78th Battalion
The 78th Battalion, which had the subsidiary title of Winnipeg Grenadiers , was part of the 4th Division's relief of the 3rd Division in the Canadian lines following in the final stages of the Battle of Amiens which began on the 8th of August, 1918. By the 10th of August, the 78th Battalion occupied the small village of Hallu located in the Somme region of France. Whilst in Hallu, the 78th Battalion suffered forty-six fatalities of whom thirty-five remained 'missing' and have no known grave. It was believed that the eight sets of remains recovered belong to eight of these thirty-five soldiers. Unfortunately, this was not uncommon at the time. Of the nearly 68 000 Canadian fatalities during the First World War, over 19 000 have no known grave.

For more information on the Battle of Amiens you can find the full account of the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War in G.W.L. Nicholson's Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War: Canadian Expeditionary Force, 1914-1919.

Caix Cemetery
Caix Cemetery,
Cemetery where of all 8 of the
78th Battalion (Winnipeg Grenadiers)
found at Hallu, France will be buried.

National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces make every attempt to identify such unknown soldiers before they are interred in a Commonwealth War Graves Commission cemetery. Historical research, biological anthropological analysis, genetic analysis, dental analysis and isotopic analysis is used to narrow the list of candidates down for a particular unknown soldier, until an identification is made. Of the 8 sets of remains discovered in 2006, five have been identified as Lieutenant Clifford Neelands, Lance Sergeant Oscar Lindell,Private Sidney Halliday, Private William Simms, and Private Lachlan McKinnon, while three are still unidentified. All eight will be buried in May 2015, in order to honour the aim of the Casualty Identification Programme for this case: Identifying these unknown soldiers so that they may be buried with a name by their regiment


G.W.L. Nicholson's Map of Canadian Division Lines along Hallu and surrounding area.
G.W.L. Nicholson's map of the Canadian Corps' attack at Amiens.
Inset: Hallu and surrounding area.

Hallu, France (1918 / 2006-2007)

Vue d'Hallu depuis Punchy
Vue d'Hallu depuis Punchy

En 2006, trois ensembles de restes humains ont été découverts sur la propriété des Demeusere par le fils de la famille, Fabien Demeusere, dans le village d'Hallu, en France. L'année suivante, cinq autres ensembles ont été trouvés dans la même région. Il a été déterminé que ces restes humains étaient ceux de soldats canadiens ayant servi dans le 78th Battalion de Winnipeg, au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Depuis la découverte de ces restes humains, la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine (DHP) du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) s'efforce d'identifier les soldats en question dans le cadre de son Programme d'identification des pertes militaires. Cette découverte de soldats inconnus de la Première Guerre mondiale se révèle la plus importante pour le Canada depuis le début du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires au MDN.

Insigne du Winnipeg Grenadiers
Insigne du
Winnipeg Grenadiers

Le 78th Battalion
Le 78th Battalion, dont le titre secondaire était Winnipeg Grenadiers , faisait partie de la relève de la 3e Division assurée par la 4e Division dans les lignes canadiennes lors des dernières étapes de la bataille d'Amiens, qui a commencé le 8 août 1918. Au 10 août, le 78th Battalion occupait le petit village d'Hallu situé dans la région de la Somme, en France. Alors qu'il se trouvait à Hallu, le 78th Battalion a perdu 46 soldats, dont 35 demeurent « portés disparus » et n'ont pas de sépulture connue. On croit que les 8 ensembles de restes humains récupérés sont ceux de 8 de ces 35 soldats. Malheureusement, les situations de ce genre n'étaient pas rares à l'époque. Sur près de 68 000 soldats canadiens morts au combat au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, plus de 19 000 n'ont pas de sépulture connue.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la bataille d'Amiens, veuillez vous reporter au compte rendu complet du Corps expéditionnaire canadien au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale présenté dans l'ouvrage de G.W.L. Nicholson intitulé Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Première Guerre mondiale : Le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, 1914-1919

Cimetière Caix
Cimetière Caix,
où les huit soldats du
78th Battalion (Winnipeg Grenadiers)
trouvés à Hallu (France) seront inhumés.,

La Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes déploient tous les efforts possibles pour identifier les soldats inconnus avant leur inhumation dans un cimetière de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. On se fonde sur des recherches historiques ainsi que sur des analyses anthropologique biologique, génétique, dentaire et isotopique pour réduire la liste des militaires susceptibles de correspondre aux restes humains d'un soldat inconnu particulier, jusqu'à ce qu'on parvienne effectivement à identifier le soldat en question. Sur les huit ensembles de restes humains découverts en 2006, cinq ont été identifiés. Il s'agit du lieutenant Clifford Neelands, du sergent suppléant Oscar Lindell, du soldat Sidney Halliday, du soldat William Simms et du soldat Lachlan McKinnon. Il en reste donc trois non identifiés. Les huit soldats seront inhumés en mai 2015, afin d'honorer le but du Programme d'identification des pertes militaires dans ce cas : Identifier les soldats inconnus de sorte qu'ils puissent être inhumés avec un nom par leur régiment.


Carte de G.W.L. Nicholson montrant les lignes de la Division canadienne le long d'Hallu et des environs.
Carte de G.W.L. montrant l’attaque menée par le Corps canadien à Amiens.
En médaillon : Hallu et ses environs.