Avion, France (1917 / 2003)

PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENT OF IDENTIFICATION
The Honourable Laurie Hawn, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of National Defence, made the announcement of Private Lawless’ identification. The announcement was made on 24 February from the Regimental Museum of the Loyal Edmonton Regiment – the military descendent of Private Lawless’ battalion, the 49th.

INTERMENT CEREMONY
Private Lawless will be interred with his fellow unit members, and next to Private Peterson, at La Chaudière Military Cemetery (Commonwealth War Graves Commission), Vimy, France, on 15 March 2011 with his niece and her family in attendance.

Soldiers of the 49th Battalion in the field
Soldiers of the 49th in the field
(credit to Private A.R. MacDonald).
Used with permission of Mr. Terry MacDonald.

IDENTIFICATION OF PRIVATE THOMAS LAWLESS
49th Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force

DISCOVERY
In October 2003, skeletal remains of two soldiers from the First World War were discovered by workmen during construction in Avion, Pas-de-Calais, France. Due to their location and the battalion-specific uniform buttons and crests found with the remains, they were believed to be members of the 49th Battalion Canadian Expeditionary Force. During a night raid on the German front on the 8-9 June 1917, 16 soldiers of the 49th were reported missing and presumed dead. The skeletal remains were likely to belong to two of the missing sixteen members of the battalion.

Facial reconstruction
Facial reconstruction
(photo credit Dr. Andrew Nelson)

IDENTIFICATION
Over a period of six years, the Directorate of History and Heritage, Casualty Investigation, sought the identity of the soldiers. The first soldier was identified in February 2007 as Private Herbert Peterson of Berry Creek, Alberta. He was interred in La Chaudière Military Cemetery on 7April 2007 in a military ceremony.

Through continued testing using heritable material through the maternal line (mitochondrial DNA), osteology, facial reconstruction, military history and finally, stable isotopes – the remains of the second unknown soldier, Avion 1, have finally been identified.

Method Who Where Result

Historical Research

Dr. Ken Reynolds

Directorate of History and Heritage, DND

Verification of the actions and location of the 49th Bn and gaining a list of the 16 missing and their physical descriptions.

Anthropological Research

Dr. Vera Tiesler
Dr. Andrew Nelson

Lakehead University & University of Western Ontario

Differentiation of the two sets of remains. Production of physical profiles of the two soldiers.

Facial Reconstruction

Dr. Andrew Nelson

University of Western Ontario

Conducted initial anthropological analysis and scanning of skull and digital reconstruction

Steve Kruithof

NRC Virtual Environment Tech Centre

Dr. Xavier Demondion

Lille Hospital

Shawn Kelly

Drafting Clinic

Christian Corbet

Portrait artist

Constructed 3 dimensional portrait

Mitochondrial DNA testing

Dr. Amarjit Chahal

Warnex Pro DNA

Isolation of mtDNA (heritable material passed through the maternal line) in the remains and comparison with samples given by maternal descendents of the candidate soldiers. Exclusion of three of the five potential candidates.

Genealogical Research

Ms. Janet Roy

MacKinnon and Bowes Ltd.

Location of the maternal descendents of candidate soldiers.

Isotope Research

Dr. Christine White and Dr. Fred Longstaffe

University of Western Ontario

Determination of the place of origin and upbringing for the unidentified Avion 1. Final evidence required for identification.

Casualty Identification Coordination

Ms. Laurel Clegg

Directorate of History and Heritage – Department of National Defence

Coordination of all government and non-government partners and researchers to produce an identification and interment.

Artefacts
Artefacts (photo credit
Sgt Jill Cooper, April 2007).

IDENTIFICATION OVERVIEW
Through historical research, Dr. Ken Reynolds reduced the number of candidates for identification for Avion 1 from 16 to 5. This was based on the physical profiles created by Dr. Tiesler in her analyses of the remains using physical anthropology. From the dentition, Warnex Pro DNA was able to extract mitochondrial DNA and compare it with the profiles donated by maternal descendents of three of the five candidates – Privates Cosman and Sleeman and Lt. Downton. Each was excluded. The two remaining candidates, Private MacDonald and Private Lawless, did not have any maternal descendents to which the scientists at Warnex could compare mtDNA. Although MacDonald and Lawless had paternal descendents – to which any extracted YSTR (heritable material from the paternal line) could be compared, YSTR genetic maternal could not be extracted from the remains. Ms. Janet Roy was responsible for tracing each of the descendents.

Historical data
Historical data
(from Library and Archives Canada,
CF Burial Records for Thomas Lawless).

"Killed in Action"

183425 Private Lawless Thomas
49th Battalion 9-6-17 649-L-7775 Roman Catholic

He took part in a raid on the enemy's trenches
in front of Avion on the night of June 9th 1917.
The Company had reached the final objective
when Private lawless who was in a shell hole,
was killed by the concussion of an exploding shell.
His comrades were badly shaken up by the same
explosion, and his death occurred just at the
moment the signal to return was given,
consequently his body was not recovered for burial.

YOU ARE WHERE YOU DRINK...
In order to differentiate the final two candidates, Dr. White provided a ‘geo-habitation’ profile of the unknown soldier based on the oxygen isotope ratios (taken in by drinking water) in his dentition and jaw bone. From this, she and her colleague, Dr. Longstaffe, were able to show that the unknown had spent his early life in Dublin, followed by a move to Alberta. This pattern is consistent with the habitation pattern of Private Lawless and inconsistent with the habitation pattern of Private MacDonald (he lived most of his life in Cape Breton and then moved to Edmonton).

As of 10 January 2011, the remaining unknown soldier found in Avion, France was identified as Private Thomas Lawless of Calgary, Alberta. Born the 11th of April, 1889 in Santry, Dublin, Ireland – Lawless was the son of James and Roseanna Lawless of Santry Court, Dublin, Ireland. He had two brothers; Matthew and James. Matthew also served in the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

Avion, France (1917 / 2003)

ANNONCE PUBLIQUE DE L’IDENTIFICATION
Le 24 février 2011, l’honorable Laurie Hawn, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre de la Défense nationale, a fait l’annonce de l’identification du Soldat Lawless, au musée du Loyal Edmonton Regiment, le descendant du 49e Bataillon, auquel appartenait le Soldat Lawless.

CÉRÉMONIE D’INHUMATION
Le Soldat Lawless sera inhumé avec ses compagnons d’unité et aux côtés du Soldat Peterson, au cimetière militaire de La Chaudière (Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth), à Vimy, en France, le 15 mars 2011, en présence de sa nièce et de la famille de celle-ci.

Soldats du 49e Bataillon sur le terrain
Soldats du 49e Bon sur le terrain (mention
de source : Soldat A.R. MacDonald).
Photo utilisée avec la permission de
M. Terry MacDonald.

IDENTIFICATION DU SOLDAT THOMAS LAWLESS
49e Bataillon, Corps expéditionnaire canadien

DÉCOUVERTE DES RESTES HUMAINS
En octobre 2003, au cours de travaux de construction exécutés à Avion (Pas-de-Calais), en France, des travailleurs ont découvert les restes humains de deux soldats canadiens ayant participé à la Première Guerre mondiale. Étant donné l’endroit où les restes gisaient et les boutons d’uniforme et insignes retrouvés près de ceux-ci, on était d’avis qu’il s’agissait de membres du 49e Bataillon, Corps expéditionnaire canadien. En effet, au cours d’un raid sur le front allemand survenu dans la nuit du 8 au 9 juin 1917, 16 soldats du 49e Bataillon ont été portés disparus et présumés morts. Il était donc probable que les restes humains découverts étaient ceux de 2 de ces 16 membres du Bataillon.

Reconstruction du visage
Reconstruction du visage
(mention de source : Dr Andrew Nelson)

IDENTIFICATION
Pendant six ans, la section des enquêtes sur les pertes de la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine a cherché à déterminer l’identité des soldats. Le premier a été identifié en février 2007 comme étant le Soldat Herbert Peterson, de Berry Creek (Alberta). Il a été inhumé au cimetière militaire de La Chaudière le 7 avril 2007, lors d’une cérémonie militaire.

En soumettant à des tests continus du matériel héréditaire provenant de la lignée maternelle (ADN mitochondrial) et en se fondant sur l’ostéologie, la reconstruction du visage, l’histoire militaire et enfin, les isotopes stables, on est parvenu à identifier les restes de l’autre soldat inconnu, Avion 1.

Méthode Personne Lieu Résultat

Recherche
historique

M. Ken Reynolds, Ph. D.

Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, MDN

Vérification des actions militaires et de l’emplacement du 49e Bon. Obtention de la liste des 16 soldats portés disparus et de leurs descriptions physiques.

Recherche
anthropologique

Dr Vera Tiesler
Dr Andrew Nelson

Université Lakehead et Université de Western Ontario

Différentiation des deux ensembles de restes humains. Production des profils physiques des deux soldats.

Reconstruction du visage

Dr Andrew Nelson

Université de Western Ontario

Analyse anthropologique et scannage initiaux du crâne et reconstruction numérique.

Steve Kruithof

Centre des technologies d’environnement virtuel du CNR

Dr Xavier Demondion

Hôpital de Lille

Shawn Kelly

Drafting Clinic

Christian Corbet

Portraitiste

Construction d’un portrait en trois dimensions

Analyse de l’ADN mitochondrial

Dr Amarjit Chahal

Warnex Pro DNA

Isolement de l’ADNmt (matériel héréditaire provenant de la lignée maternelle) dans les restes et comparaison avec les échantillons donnés par les descendants maternels des soldats candidats. Exclusion de trois des cinq candidats. 

Recherche généalogique

Mme Janet Roy

MacKinnon and Bowes Ltd.

Repérage des descendants maternels des soldats candidats.

Recherche fondée sur les isotopes

Dr Christine White et Dr Fred Longstaffe

Université de Western Ontario

Détermination du lieu d’origine d’Avion 1 et de l’endroit où il avait grandi. Preuve définitive nécessaire à l’identification.

Coordination de l’identification des pertes

Mme Laurel Clegg

Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, ministère de la Défense nationale

Coordination des activités de tous les partenaires et chercheurs gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux en vue de parvenir à l’identification des restes humains et de procéder à leur inhumation.

Artéfacts
Artéfacts (mention de source :
Sgt Jill Cooper, avril 2007)

APERÇU DU PROCESSUS D’IDENTIFICATION
En procédant à une recherche historique, M. Ken Reynolds, Ph. D., a réduit de 16 à 5 le nombre de candidats aux fins d’identification d’Avion 1. Il s’est fondé pour ce faire sur les profils physiques créés par le Dr Tiesler dans le cadre de ses analyses des restes humains basées sur l’anthropologie physique. Le laboratoire Warnex Pro DNA a été capable d’extraire de l’ADN mitochondrial de la dentition et de le comparer aux profils donnés par les descendants maternels de trois des cinq candidats, soit les Soldats Cosman et Sleeman et le Lt Downton. Ils ont tous été exclus. Les deux derniers candidats, le Soldat MacDonald et le Soldat Lawless, n’avaient pas de descendants maternels, et les scientifiques du labo Warnex ne pouvaient donc pas faire de comparaison avec l’ADNmt extrait des restes. Bien que MacDonald et Lawless aient eu des descendants paternels avec le profil génétique desquels tout Y-STR (matériel héréditaire provenant de la lignée paternelle) aurait pu être comparé, aucun matériel génétique Y-STR n’a pu être extrait des restes humains. Mme Janet Roy était chargée de retrouver chacun des descendants.

Données historiques
Données historiques
(provenant de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada,
listes mortuaires des FC - Thomas Lawless).

« Tué au combat »

183425 Soldat Lawless, Thomas
49e Bataillon 9-6-17 649-L-7775 catholique romain

Il a participé à un raid contre les tranchées de
l’ennemi devant Avion, dans la nuit du 9 juin 1917.
La Compagnie avait atteint l’objectif final lorsque
le Soldat Lawless, qui se trouvait dans un trou d’obus,
a été tué par le choc de l’explosion d’un obus.
Ses camarades ont été fortement secoués par cette
même explosion. Le Soldat Lawless est mort juste
au moment où le signal du retour a été donné, et
son corps n’a donc pas été récupéré pour inhumation.

ON EST LÀ OÙ L’ON BOIT...
Afin de différencier les deux derniers candidats, le Dr White a fourni un profil de « géo-habitation » du soldat inconnu en fonction des taux d’isotopes de l’oxygène (absorbés par consommation d’eau) dans sa dentition et sa mâchoire. À partir de ce profil, le Dr White et son collègue, le Dr Longstaffe, ont été en mesure de montrer que le soldat inconnu avait passé les premières années de sa vie à Dublin, puis avait déménagé en Alberta. Ces antécédents concordent avec ceux du Soldat Lawless, mais non avec ceux du Soldat MacDonald (qui, après avoir passé la majeure partie de sa vie au Cap-Breton, a déménagé à Edmonton).

En date du 10 janvier 2011, le dernier soldat inconnu trouvé à Avion, en France, a été identifié comme étant le Soldat Thomas Lawless, de Calgary, en Alberta. Né le 11 avril 1889, à Santry (Dublin), en Irlande, Lawless était le fils de James et Roseanna Lawless, de Santry Court (Dublin), en Irlande. Il avait deux frères, Matthew et James. Matthew a lui aussi servi dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien.