Casualty Identification - Avro Anson Mk 1 L7056

Pilot Officer Anthony William Lawrence

Photo of Pilot Officer Anthony William Lawrence

Anthony William Lawrence was born on 1 May 1921 in Croydon, England. He was educated at Selhurst Grammar School for Boys in Croydon.

Upon leaving school Anthony worked as a bank clerk at The National Bank of New Zealand in Hindhead, Surrey. He engaged in cycling, rugby, and cricket, and exercised his musical talents by playing the saxophone.

Lawrence was immediately recommended for instruction as a pilot when he enlisted on 20 February 1941.

On 20 August 1942, he was appointed to a temporary commission in the Royal Air Force. His first posting as an officer was Patricia Bay Canada. The Avro Anson Mk 1 L7056, and its four-man crew, went missing during a routine navigation exercise on 30 October 1942. On the day of the crash, he had been acting as a second navigator with Pilot Officer Charles Fox.

Anthony's former manager at the bank wrote to his father on hearing of his presumed death: “Tony was the most popular person on our staff, always cheerful and brightened everyone's life.

Pilot Officer Lawrence was buried in November 2014 at Royal Oak Burial Park, in Victoria British Columbia alongside Sergeant William Baird , Pilot Officer Charles George Fox and Sergeant Robert Ernest Luckock.

L'identification des victimes de guerre - Avro Anson Mk 1 L7056

Photo de sous-lieutenant d'aviation Anthony William Lawrence

Sous-lieutenant d'aviation Anthony William Lawrence

Anthony William Lawrence est né le 1er mai 1921 à Croydon, en Angleterre. Il a fait ses études à la Selhurst Grammar School for Boys, à Croydon.

Une fois sorti de l'école, Anthony a travaillé comme commis de banque à la National Bank of New Zealand, à Hindhead (Surrey). Il s'adonnait au cyclisme, au rugby et au cricket et il utilisait ses talents musicaux pour jouer du saxophone.

Lawrence a immédiatement été recommandé aux fins d'instruction au pilotage lorsqu'il s'est enrôlé le 20 février 1941.

Le 20 août 1942, il a reçu une commission temporaire au sein de la Royal Air Force. Sa première affectation en tant qu'officier a été à Patricia Bay, au Canada. L'Avro Anson Mk 1 L7056 et ses quatre membres d'équipage ont disparu au cours d'un exercice de navigation de routine le 30 octobre 1942. Le jour de l'écrasement, il servait en tant que second navigateur auprès du sous-lieutenant d'aviation Charles Fox.

Ayant appris sa mort présumée, l'ancien gestionnaire d'Anthony à la banque a écrit à son père : « Tony était la personne la plus populaire de notre personnel; il était toujours joyeux et il égayait la vie de tous. »

Le sous-lieutenant d'aviation Lawrence a été inhumé en novembre 2014 au Royal Oak Burial Park, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, auprès du sergent William Baird , du sous-lieutenant d'aviation Charles George Fox et du sergent Robert Ernest Luckock .