The Attack on the Arleux Loop, Casualty Identification

Sergeant James Alexander Milne

Church Parade 10th Bn. Abeele, Belgium, May 1916
Church parade (10th Infantry Battalion)
Abeele, Belgium, May 1916 Credit: Canada.
Dept. of National Defence/Library and
Archives Canada/PA-000032 Photographer:
Knobel, Henry Edward (MIKAN no. 3405994)

James Alexander Milne was born on 10 February 1883, at Gellybrands, Cookney, Kincardineshire, Scotland. Raised by his maternal grandmother Eliza Valentine (née Smith, widowed Milne), he immigrated to Canada between 1905 and 1911. He was unmarried and worked as a labourer in Calgary before enlisting in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (C.E.F.) on 27 January 1915 with the 50th Battalion C.E.F.

At enlistment, he declared on his attestation papers that his birthplace was Stonehaven and his birth year 1886. It is impossible to know why he provided this information although Stonehaven was five miles southeast of Cookney and was the larger settlement.

Tents of the 10th Bn. May 1916
Tents of the 10th Infantry Battalion, Abeele, Belgium,
May 1916 Credit: Canada. Dept. of National Defence/
Library and Archives Canada/PA-000032 Photographer:
Knobel, Henry Edward (MIKAN no. 3405993)

The 50th Battalion departed Camp Valcartier for England on 27 October 1915 arriving at Bramshott Military Camp on 6 November 1915. On 3 February 1916 Private Milne and many others of the 50th Battalion transferred to the 9th Reserve Battalion C.E.F. for further training. On 15 March 1916, he transferred to the 10th Battalion C.E.F a battalion of the 1st Canadian Division, 2nd Canadian Infantry Brigade in the Canadian Corps serving in France and Belgium.

Taken on strength of the 10th Battalion on 19 March 1916 he was with the battalion when it returned to the trenches not far from Ypres. He was present for the German assault at Mount Sorrel on 2 June 1916 where the 10th Battalion helped in preventing the Germans from breaking through the line.

Appointed Lance Corporal on 12 June following Mount Sorrel he then survived the heavy fighting on the Somme from August to October 1916. Milne likely exhibited leadership abilities since he was promoted to Corporal on 14 February 1917 on the same day the battalion was inspected by Field Marshal Haig.

He then participated in the attack on Vimy Ridge on 9 April 1917 and that same day promoted to the rank of Sergeant while in the field. His promotion was made substantive 24 April 1917.

He then participated in the assault on Arleux-en-Gohelle, 28 April 1917 where he was killed and reported missing.

Location of discovery
Source: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Following the war, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission engraved his name on the Vimy Memorial with the names of other soldiers who had no known grave.

On 5 May 2013, just over 96 years after the death of Sergeant Milne, an archaeology team uncovered human remains while conducting mandatory excavation for the building of a new housing estate in Arleux-en-Gohelle, France.

Artefacts recovered with the remains suggested they were of a Canadian soldier from the 10th Infantry Battalion during the First World War. There were numerous identifying buttons, buckles as well as a pair of boots and a corroded identification disc.

Sergeant Milne’s identification disc
Identification disc upon discovery
Sergeant Milne’s identification disc
Identification disc once treated by
the Canadian Conservation Institute

The Canadian Conservation Institute treated and cleaned the identification disc to reveal the inscriptions. On the bottom of the disc “10 BN” was clearly legible. The numbers “434”, followed by a corroded blank space of about one character, followed by “56” indicated a service number. In the upper right of the disc were the letters “LNE”. The only service number of those missing that started with “434” and ended with “56” was that of Sergeant James Alexander Milne. He was also the only one of the missing with the letter combination “LNE” in his name.

Cap badge of the 10th Battalion CEF
A cap badge from the 10th Canadian Infantry
Battalion, found with Sergeant Milne’s
remains. At the centre of the badge is an
image of a beaver, with the title “10th
Canadians” underneath it. The beaver
and title are surrounded by a wreath of
maple leafs that connect with an image of
the Tudor Crown at the top of the badge.
Collar badges of the 10th Battalion CEF
Two collar badges from the 10th Canadian
Infantry Battalion, discovered with
Sergeant Milne’s remains

Through historical, genealogical, anthropological and archaeological analysis, with the assistance of the Canadian Forces Forensic Odontology Response Team, the Canadian Museum of History and, the Canadian Conservation Institute, the Casualty Identification Review Board was able to confirm the identity of the remains as Sergeant James Alexander Milne in December 2016.

Sergeant Milne was buried on 25 August 2017 in Orchard Dump Cemetery in Arleux-en-Gohelle, France by members of The Calgary Highlanders from Calgary, Alberta. Attending the burial were representatives of the Government of Canada, the local French government and the Canadian Armed Forces.

For further information on Sergeant Milne, you can view his personnel file on the Library and Archives Canada website.

L'identification des victimes de guerre - L’attaque sur la boucle d’Arleux

Sergent James Alexander Milne

Church Parade 10th Bn. Abeele, Belgium, May 1916
Rassemblement pour service religieux
(10e Bataillon d’infanterie), à Abeele
(Belgique), mai 1916 Mention de sources
Canada. Ministère de la Défense nationale/
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-000032

James Alexander Milne naît le 10 février 1883, à Gellybrands (Cookney, Kincardineshire), en Écosse. Élevé par sa grand-mère maternelle, Eliza Valentine (née Smith, veuve Milne), il immigre au Canada entre 1905 et 1911. Célibataire, il travaille comme ouvrier à Calgary avant de s’enrôler dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) le 27 janvier 1915 auprès du 50e Bataillon, CEC.

Lorsqu’il s’enrôle, il déclare sur sa feuille d’engagement que son lieu de naissance est Stonehaven et qu’il est né en 1886. Il est impossible de comprendre pourquoi il a fourni ces renseignements, même si l’on sait que l’agglomération plus importante de Stonehaven se trouvait à cinq milles au sud-est de Cookney.

Tents of the 10th Bn. May 1916
Tentes du 10e Bataillon d’infanterie, à Abeele (Belgique),
mai 1916 Mention de sources : Canada. Ministère de la
Défense nationale/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
/PA-000032 Photographe : Knobel, Henry Edward (MIKAN
no 3405993)

Le 50e Bataillon quitte le Camp Valcartier pour l’Angleterre le 27 octobre 1915 et arrive au camp militaire de Bramshott le 6 novembre 1915. Le 3 février 1916, le soldat Milne et de nombreux autres membres du 50e Bataillon sont transférés au 9e Bataillon de réserve, CEC, pour suivre un entraînement plus poussé. Le 15 mars 1916, le Sdt Milne est transféré au 10e Bataillon, CEC, qui fait partie de la 1re Division canadienne, 2e Brigade d’infanterie canadienne du Corps canadien, servant en France et en Belgique.

Porté à l’effectif du 10e Bataillon le 19 mars 1916, le Sdt Milne se trouve au sein de celui-ci lorsque le bataillon retourne dans les tranchées non loin d’Ypres. Il est présent lors de l’assaut ennemi au mont Sorrel le 2 juin 1916, où le 10e Bataillon aide à empêcher les Allemands de percer la ligne.

Promu au grade de caporal suppléant le 12 juin après la bataille du mont Sorrel, il survit aux violents combats qui se déroulent sur la Somme d’août à octobre 1916. Milne manifeste probablement des aptitudes au commandement puisqu’il est promu caporal le 14 février 1917, soit le jour où le feld-maréchal Haig passe le bataillon en revue.

Il participe ensuite à l’attaque sur la crête de Vimy le 9 avril 1917 et, le même jour, il est promu au grade de sergent alors qu’il est sur le terrain. Sa promotion devient effective le 24 avril 1917.

Puis, il prend part à l’assaut sur Arleux-en-Gohelle le 28 avril 1917, au cours duquel il est tué et porté disparu.

Location of discovery
Mention de sources : La Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Après la guerre, la Commonwealth War Graves Commission a gravé le nom du Sgt Milne sur le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, auprès de ceux d’autres soldats n’ayant pas de sépulture connue.

Le 5 mai 2013, soit un peu plus de 96 ans après la mort du sergent Milne, une équipe d’archéologues a découvert des restes humains tandis qu’elle effectuait des fouilles obligatoires en vue de la construction d’un complexe résidentiel à Arleux-en-Gohelle, en France.

Les artéfacts retrouvés auprès des restes humains donnaient à penser qu’il s’agissait de ceux d’un soldat canadien du 10e Bataillon d’infanterie, qui avait servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il y avait de nombreux boutons, des boucles ainsi qu’une paire de bottes et une plaque d’identité corrodée.

Plaque d’identité du sergent Milne
Plaque d’identité lors de sa découverte
Plaque d’identité du sergent Milne
Plaque d’identité, une fois traitée par
l’Institut canadien de conservation

L’Institut canadien de conservation a traité et nettoyé la plaque d’identité pour découvrir les inscriptions. Au bas de la plaque, on pouvait clairement lire « 10 BN ». Les chiffres « 434 », suivis d’un espace corrodé d’environ un caractère, lui-même suivi des chiffres « 56 », indiquaient un numéro matricule. Dans la partie supérieure droite de la plaque se trouvaient les lettres « LNE ». Or, le seul numéro matricule parmi ceux des soldats portés disparus qui commençait par « 434 » et se terminait par « 56 » était celui du sergent James Alexander Milne. Ce dernier était aussi le seul des militaires portés disparus dont le nom comportait la combinaison de lettres « LNE ».

Insigne de coiffure du 10e Bataillon, CEC
Insigne de coiffure du 10e Bataillon d’infanterie
canadien, retrouvé avec les restes du Sergent
Milne. Au centre de l’insigne se trouve l’image
d’un castor, accompagnée de l’inscription « 10th
Canadian » en dessous. Le castor et l’inscription
sont entourés d’une couronne de feuilles d’érable
rattachée à la Couronne Tudor au sommet de
l’insigne.
Insignes de col du 10e Bataillon, CEC
Les deux insignes de col du 10e Bataillon
d’infanterie canadien découverts avec les
restes du Sergent Milne.

Au moyen d’une analyse historique, généalogique, anthropologique et archéologique et avec l’aide de l’Équipe d’intervention en odontologie médico-légale des Forces canadiennes, du Musée canadien de l’histoire et de l’Institut canadien de conservation, le comité d’examen du Programme d’identification des pertes militaires a été en mesure de confirmer, en décembre 2016, que les restes humains retrouvés étaient bien ceux du sergent James Alexander Milne.

L’inhumation du sergent Milne a eu lieu le 25 août 2017 au cimetière Orchard Dump, à Arleux-en-Gohelle, en France. Il a été inhumé par des membres du Calgary Highlanders, de Calgary, en Alberta. Des représentants du gouvernement du Canada, du gouvernement français local et des Forces armées canadiennes ont assisté à la cérémonie.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le sergent Milne, veuillez consulter son dossier de service sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.