The Battle of Hill 70, Casualty Identification

Newspaper Clipping
Clipping describing Sergeant Shaughnessy’s
service and confirming his death. Source:
From the "McGill Honour Roll, 1914-1918".
McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, 1926

Sergeant Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy

Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy was born 3 November 1884, in St. Stephen, New Brunswick to Mary Margaret Shaughnessy and John Shaughnessy. He was a stenographer before enlisting in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) in Montreal on 4 August 1915.

He enlisted with the 73rd Canadian Infantry Battalion (Royal Highlanders of Canada), CEF, making him one of the original members of the battalion.

13th Bn. going out to rest after Hill 70
13th Canadian Infantry Battalion (Royal Highlanders of Canada)
going out to rest after Hill 70, led by their Pipers and goat.
August, 1917. Source: Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library
and Archives Canada/; Restrictions on use: Nil; Copyright: Expired;
MIKAN no. 3406011

On 8 September 1915, Shaughnessy received a promotion to Sergeant, and following training in eastern Canada departed Halifax with the 73rd Battalion on 31 March 1916, arriving at Bramshott in England 10 April 1916.

After more training in England, the 73rd Battalion arrived in France, at Le Havre, on 2 August 1916. Sergeant Shaughnessy participated in the closing battles of the Somme and the preparations for the attack on Vimy. The 73rd Battalion participated in the attack on Vimy Ridge attacking on the far left of the Canadian Corps front near Hill 145.

Because the 73rd Battalion was disbanded, Sergeant Shaughnessy transferred to the 13th Canadian Infantry Battalion (Royal Highlanders of Canada), 3rd Brigade, 1st Division CEF on 8 May 1917. The 13th Battalion took Sergeant Shaughnessy on strength 9 May 1917 but the battalion attached him to Canadian Corps Headquarters for three months.

Ring
A signet ring discovered with Sergeant
Shaughnessy’s remains. Shaughnessy’s
initials, “H.W.S.” are inscribed on the
face of the ring. Source: DHH
Sergeant Shaughnessy identification disc
Sergeant Shaughnessy’s identification
disc found with his remains. Although
difficult to read, parts of his surname
and service number can be identified. His
first and middle initials, rank, and religion
are fully legible. Source: DHH

On 11 August 1917, Sergeant Shaughnessy returned to the 13th Battalion four days before the assault on Hill 70. The 13th Battalion fought in the assault on Hill 70 between 15 and 25 August 1917. The attack was in two stages with the capture of two objective lines. The 13th Battalion secured its part of the first objective called the “Blue Line” soon after the start of the attack. The second objective, called the “Green Line” was secured later that same day. Sergeant Shaughnessy most likely lost his life in taking the Blue Line because his remains were discovered near the location of this objective.

Following the war, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission engraved his name on the Vimy Memorial with the names of other soldiers who had no known grave. He was also commemorated on a memorial in his hometown of St. Stephen, New Brunswick.

During an ordnance clearing process in June 2016, his remains were discovered near where the Blue Line had been. .

Sergeant Shaughnessy's uniform Button
Buttons found with Sergeant Shaughnessy’s
remains. The brass buttons at the bottom of the
image have the word “Canada” inscribed
at the top and an image of the Imperial Crown
underneath. A maple leaf is emblazoned in the
centre of the button, surrounded by the motto
of the Order of the Garter: “Honi soit
qui mal y pense,” which is French for “
Shame on him who thinks this evil.” Source: DHH
Sergeant Shaughnessy Shoulder Title
A shoulder title for the 73rd Infantry Battalion
(Royal Highlanders of Canada) found with
Sergeant Shaughnessy’s remains. Shaughnessy
originally enlisted with the 73rd Battalion before
transferring to the 13th Canadian Infantry Battalion
(Royal Highlanders of Canada). Source: DHH

Through historical, anthropological and archaeological analysis, with the assistance of the Canadian Forces Forensic Odontology Response Team, and the Canadian Museum of History, the Casualty Identification Review Board was able to confirm the identity of the remains as Sergeant Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy in December 2016.

Sergeant Shaughnessy was buried on 24 August 2017 in the Loos British Cemetery in Loos-en-Gohelle, France by members of The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada from Montreal, Quebec. Attending the burial was Sgt Shaughnessy’s great-nephew and his wife, as well as representatives of the Government of Canada, the local French government and the Canadian Armed Forces.

For further information on Sergeant Shaughnessy, you can view his Attestation Paper on the Library and Archives Canada website.


A letter written by Sergeant
Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy
found amongst his sister’s
belongings. Letter used with
permission from Sgt
Shaughnessy’s family.
Sergeant Shaughnessy Portrait
Sergeant Harold Wilfred
Shaughnessy. Image used
with permission from
Sergeant Shaughnessy’s
family.

A newspaper announcement
confirming Sergeant
Shaughnessy’s death.

L'identification des victimes de guerre - La bataille de la cote 70

Clipping describing Sergeant Shaughnessy’s<br />                   Découpure de journal décrivant le service<br />
                  du Sergent Shaughnessy et confirmant sa mort.
Découpure de journal décrivant le service
du Sergent Shaughnessy et confirmant sa mort.
Mention de sources: Du « McGill Honour Roll,
1914-1918». Université McGill, Montréal,
Québec, 1926

Sergent Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy

Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy naît le 3 novembre 1884, à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick, de Mary Margaret Shaughnessy et de John Shaughnessy. Il exerce le métier de sténographe avant de s’enrôler dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC), à Montréal, le 4 août 1915.

Il s’enrôle dans le 73e Bataillon d’infanterie canadien (Royal Highlanders of Canada), CEC, devenant ainsi l’un des premiers membres de ce bataillon.

Chèvre mascotte et cornemuses en tête, le 13e Bataillon d’infanterie canadien (Royal Highlanders of Canada) quitte le front après l’assaut sur la cote 70, août 1917.
Chèvre mascotte et cornemuses en tête, le 13e Bataillon
d’infanterie canadien (Royal Highlanders of Canada) quitte
le front après l’assaut sur la cote 70, août 1917.

Le 8 septembre 1915, Shaughnessy est promu au grade de sergent et, après avoir suivi un entraînement dans l’Est du Canada, il quitte Halifax avec le 73e Bataillon le 31 mars 1916 et arrive à Bramshott, en Angleterre, le 10 avril 1916.

Après un entraînement supplémentaire en Angleterre, le 73e Bataillon arrive en France, au Havre, le 2 août 1916. Le sergent Shaughnessy participe aux dernières batailles de la Somme et aux préparatifs en vue de l’attaque sur Vimy. Le 73e Bataillon participe à l’assaut sur la crête de Vimy, attaquant à l’extrémité gauche du front du Corps canadien, près de la cote 145.

En raison de la dissolution du 73e Bataillon, le sergent Shaughnessy est transféré au 13e Bataillon d’infanterie canadien (Royal Highlanders of Canada), 3e Brigade, 1re Division, CEC, le 8 mai 1917. Le 13e Bataillon porte le sergent Shaughnessy à l’effectif le 9 mai 1917, mais il le détache auprès du Quartier général du Corps canadien pendant trois mois.

Ring
A signet ring discovered with Sergeant
Chevalière trouvée avec les restes du
Sergent Shaughnessy portant ses initiales
« H.W.S.». Mention de sources: DHP
 Plaque d’identité
Plaque d’identité trouvée avec les restes du
Sergent Shaughnessy. Bien que difficile à lire,
son nom de famille et son numéro matricule
peuvent être identifiés en partie. Ses première
et seconde initiales, son grade et sa religion
restent lisibles. Mention de sources: DHP

Le 11 août 1917, le sergent Shaughnessy retourne au 13e Bataillon quatre jours avant l’assaut sur la cote 70. Le 13e Bataillon y participe entre le 15 et le 25 août 1917. L’attaque est menée en deux étapes visant la prise de deux objectifs. Peu après le début de l’attaque, le 13e Bataillon prend le contrôle de la partie qu’on lui a confiée en ce qui concerne le premier objectif, appelé « Ligne bleue». Le second objectif, appelé « Ligne verte», est saisi plus tard le même jour. Le sergent Shaughnessy a probablement perdu la vie lors de la prise de la Ligne bleue, car ses restes ont été découverts près de l’emplacement du premier objectif.

Après la guerre, la Commonwealth War Graves Commission a gravé le nom du Sgt Shaughnessy sur le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, auprès de ceux d’autres soldats n’ayant pas de sépulture connue. Son souvenir est aussi honoré sur un monument commémoratif dans sa ville natale, St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Au cours d’une opération d’élimination de munitions non explosées en juin 2016, les restes humains du Sgt Shaughnessy ont été découverts près de l’endroit où passait la Ligne bleue.

 Boutons
Boutons trouvés avec les restes du Sergent
Shaughnessy. Les boutons de cuivre au bas de
l’image portent le mot « Canada» au-dessus
d’une image de la couronne impériale. Une
feuille d’érable blasée au centre du bouton
est entourée de la devise de l’Ordre de la
Jarretière : « Honi soit qui mal y pense»,
ancien français pour « Honte à celui qui y
voit du mal.» Mention de sources: DHP

 Insigne d'épaule du 73e Bataillon d’infanterie (Royal Highlanders of Canada) trouvé avec les restes du sergent Shaughnessy. Shaughnessy s’est d’abord enrôlé avec le 73e Bataillon avant d’être muté au 13e Bataillon d’infanterie canadien (Royal Highlanders of Canada).
Insigne d'épaule du 73e Bataillon d’infanterie
(Royal Highlanders of Canada) trouvé avec les
restes du sergent Shaughnessy. Shaughnessy s’est
d’abord enrôlé avec le 73e Bataillon avant d’être
muté au 13e Bataillon d’infanterie canadien (Royal
Highlanders of Canada). Mention de sources: DHP

Au moyen d’une analyse historique, anthropologique et archéologique et avec l’aide de l’Équipe d’intervention en odontologie médico-légale des Forces canadiennes et du Musée canadien de l’histoire, le comité d’examen du Programme d’identification des pertes militaires a été en mesure de confirmer, en décembre 2016, que les restes humains retrouvés étaient bien ceux du sergent Harold Wilfred Shaughnessy.

L’inhumation du sergent Shaughnessy a eu lieu le 24 août 2017 au cimetière britannique de Loos, à Loos-en-Gohelle, en France. Il a été inhumé par des membres du Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada, de Montréal, au Québec. Le petit-neveu du sergent Shaughnessy et son épouse, ainsi que des représentants du gouvernement du Canada, du gouvernement français local et des Forces armées canadiennes ont assisté à la cérémonie.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le sergent Shaughnessy, veuillez consulter sa feuille d’engagement sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.


Lettre écrite par le Sergent
Shaughnessy récupérée à même
les effets personnels de sa
sœur. (Dans la langue
originale) Lettre utilisée
avec la permission de la
famille du Sergent Shaughnessy
Sergeant Shaughnessy Portrait
Sergent Harold Wilfred
Shaughnessy. Image
utilisée avec la
permission de la famille
du Sergent Shaughnessy.

Les journaux
annoncent le
décès du Sergent
Shaughnessy.
(Dans la langue
originale)