CFAP Historical Background

The production of Canadian war art was officially started in 1916, with the creation of the Canadian War Memorial Fund which commissioned, created and exhibited over 800 paintings, sculptures and prints. The Fund's works were exhibited in London, New York, Toronto and Montreal in 1919. Additional works were also shown in Toronto and Montreal in 1920. These works are now located in the Canadian War Museum, the National Gallery of Canada and in the Senate. The Fund ended shortly after the conclusion of the Great War.

The Canadian military has had a long and valuable tradition of employing artists to paint, draw, and photographs Canada's military exploits. Among the most prominent of the war artists was Captain Lawren Harris, pictured here in front of a destroyed German tank near Ortona, Italy, in March 1944. Photo credit: LAC, Department of National Defence collection (PA-169090)

The Second World War presented yet another opportunity for the actions of those serving Canada to be officially recorded in art. The Canadian War Records Program was officially started in 1942. H.O. McCurry, Director of the National Gallery of Canada, chaired the Canadian War Artists' Committee in Ottawa. Vincent Massey, Canada's High Commissioner to London, headed the War Artists Overseas Control Committee in Britain. However, at the end of the War, Canada once again had no official war art program.

During the period from 1968 to 1995, the Canadian Armed Forces Civilian Artists Program (CAFCAP) was built on the legacy of the previous two programs. R.F. Wodehouse, Curator of War Art at the National Gallery of Canada, initiated CAFCAP to ensure that Canada's military history would be captured in art following the Second World War. Though keeping the same aim as previous war art projects, this new program allowed civilian artists to become involved, working alongside Canadian soldiers on both domestic and foreign operations. Unfortunately, this unique CF program was cancelled in 1995, due to a lack of funds.

However, the need for Canada to record the actions of its military members was not forgotten and, on June 6, 2001, the Chief of Defence Staff, General Maurice Baril, officially announced the creation of the Canadian Forces Artists Program (CFAP). This new artistic endeavour would allow Canadian artists the opportunity to record Canada's soldiers in Canada and around the world. These artists, all volunteers, will help usher in a new era of Canadian military art.

Top of Page

Advisory and Selection Committees

Applications are evaluated by a peer assessment committee. The committee is composed of experienced professionals recognized as such by their peers and selected on the basis of their specialized knowledge in the media to be assessed. Consideration is also given to ensure fair representation of artistic specialization, gender, Aboriginal peoples and the two official languages across the various regions and cultures of Canada.

Before they meet, selection committee members receive photocopies of all eligible applications for examination. At their meeting, they study the applications and support material, discuss the applications' relative merit and make their choices. The principal assessment criterion of the selection committee is the artistic merit of an applicant's work, taking into consideration the specific context, national context and the potential impact on her or his pursuit. Following the competition, the names of selection committee members and successful candidates are available upon request.

The selection committee reports to the advisory committee, which plays an essential role in guiding the program. As of August 2017 the advisory committee includes:

PAFC - Historique

La production d'art de guerre canadien a officiellement débuté en 1916 avec la création du Fonds de souvenirs de guerre canadiens qui a commandé, créé et exposé plus de 800 tableaux, sculptures et estampes. Le Fonds a organisé des expositions à Londres, New York, Toronto et Montréal en 1919. D'autres œuvres ont été présentées à Toronto et à Montréal en 1920. La collection Souvenirs de guerre canadiens est maintenant répartie entre le Musée canadien de la guerre, le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et le Sénat. Créé en 1916, le Fonds a été dissous peu après la Grande Guerre.

Depuis toujours, l'armée canadienne engage des artistes pour peindre, dessiner et photographier les exploits militaires canadiens. Le capitaine Lawren Harris, photographié ici devant un char allemand détruit, près de Ortona (Italie), figure parmi les plus remarquables de ces peintres de guerre. Provenance : BAC, fonds du ministère de la Défense nationale (PA-169090)

La Deuxième Guerre mondiale a offert une autre opportunité aux soldats canadiens de voir leur sacrifice souligné par la production d'oeuvres d'art. Le programme, baptisé Collection d'œuvres commémoratives de la guerre, a vu le jour à l'automne 1942. H.O. McCurry, directeur de ce qui était alors la Galerie nationale du Canada, a été appelé à présider le Comité des artistes de guerre canadiens (Canadian War Artists' Committee) à Ottawa. Vincent Massey, le Haut-Commissaire du Canada à Londres, a dirigé le Comité de contrôle des artistes de guerre outre-mer (War Artists Overseas Control Committee) en Grande-Bretagne. Cependant, à la fin de la guerre, le Canada s'est trouvé une fois de plus sans programme officiel d'artistes de guerre.

De 1968 à 1995, le Programme d'aide des Forces canadiennes aux artistes civils (PAFCAC) a ajouté à l'héritage laissé par les deux programmes antérieurs. R.F. Wodehouse, conservateur d'art de guerre au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, a lancé le PAFCAC pour veiller à ce que l'histoire militaire du Canada soit représentée de façon artistique à la suite de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Tout en conservant les mêmes objectifs que les programmes précédents, celui-ci permettait àdes civils cette fois-ci de côtoyer les soldats canadiens au pays et à l'étranger. Malheureusement, le PAFCAC a disparu en 1995 suite aux restrictions budgétaires.

Toutefois, la nécessité de représenter le travail des militaires canadiens n'avait pas été oubliée. C'est ainsi que le 6 juin 2001, le Chef d'état-major, le général Maurice Baril, a officiellement annoncé la création du Programme d'arts des Forces canadiennes (PAFC). Ainsi, les artistes canadiens pourront de nouveau immortaliser le travail des militaires canadiens au pays comme à l'étranger. Ces artistes bénévoles seront à la base d'une toute nouvelle époque dans la production d'oeuvres de guerre canadienne.

Haut de la page

Comités consultatif et de sélection

Les artistes qui soumettent une demande sont évalués par un comité des pairs. Ce comité inclut des professionels avec plusieurs années d'expérience dans le domaine des arts. Les membres du comité sont aussi choisis afin d'assurer, autant que possible, une représentation équitable des spécialités artistiques, des sexes, des deux langues officielles, des peuples autochtones et des régions et cultures du Canada.

Avant de se rencontrer, les membres du comité de sélection reçoivent les photocopies des dossiers de canditure pour les étudier. Pendant leur rencontre, ils évaluent les dossiers avec les pièces qui y sont associées et effectuent leur choix en conséquence. Le premier critère de sélection est la qualité artistique du travail du candidat en tenant compte du contexte spécifique, du contexte national et de l'effet sur la suite de la carrière de l'artiste. Après le concours, les noms des membres du comité et des candidats choisis seront rendus disponibles sur demande.

Le comité de sélection, composé de 5 membres offrent leurs recommendations au comité consultatif.

Le comité de consultatif continue à jouer un rôle important dans la direction du programme. En janvier 2011 il inclut :