CFAP John Horton

Action Stations

Medium: Oil on board
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"When the ship is on action station these days, yes the ship is going along but you don't see anybody. There are a couple of people on the bridge and everybody else is down below. So the latest painting I've just completed is actually in the operations room on Ottawa, where the Captain and a whole line of various members of the crew are poring over computers and are operating under a little red light, they've got the anti flash gear on and they've got the lights of the computer reflecting up on their faces which actually shows some concern and concentration. This to me is probably very telling of how modern warfare is fought."



'Apollo Patrol' by John Horton (Navy) 2002

Apollo Patrol

Medium: Oil on board
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"I also wanted to show the air side. I was very aware of the fact that with the aging Sea Kings there is obviously the problem of keeping them flying etc. One painting I have completed is from the air from behind the Sea King (which is just banking to land on Ottawa). Ottawa is down below and also the Sudani line freighter which they have just been doing an interdiction on. Again, it shows the interdiction work going on and it shows the air side. In fact, Admiral Fraser said 'I have a funny feeling that is the first operational painting that may have ever been done of a Sea King in theatre'."



'A Dawn Boarding' by John Horton (Navy) 2002

A Dawn Boarding

Medium: Oil on board
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"I wanted to show what was being achieved and a little bit about what life was about in the modern Navy... I knew I had to paint some sort of ship portraits, as it were, to show what the job was and with that I had done one painting which...immediately placed it in the Arabian Gulf. It shows interdiction work i.e. the rubber boat with the crew going up the ladder artfully armed to do an inspection and a search on this dowel with Algonquin in the background. It's painted at sunrise with the haze in the gulf which is from the sand blowing off the dessert. It is quite an atmospheric painting but it does show the interdiction work; these are the conditions under which they are working."



'“Go Fast” - Interdiction' by John Horton (Navy) 2002

“Go Fast” - Interdiction

Medium: Oil on board
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"Migrant workers cross the Arabian Gulf in fast open boats which of course would be an easy way for terrorists to escape from Iran or Pakistan. These vessels are stopped and the occupants interrogated - often under the blazing sun. This can take over 2 hours, which is hard on both sides. I observed the Canadian sailors give humanitarian help to these poor people after no threat was detected. These workers are merely looking for a better life for their families but are caught up in the terrible politics of our time."



'Homecoming' by John Horton (Navy) 2002

Homecoming

Medium: Oil on board
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"This painting shows HMCS Algonquin returning to Esquimalt in October 2002 after a seven month deployment to the Arabian Gulf. It is a painting to which all naval families can relate - hopefully depicting the joy of being reunited after a long absence in a far off theatre. The idea for the painting was suggested by Jane Town, wife of Captain Town who was Chief of Staff with MARPAC at the time."



'The Shadow' by John Horton (Navy) 2002

The Shadow

Medium: Oil on board
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"I remember one hot night standing on the flight deck. We were shadowing a deep sea "vessel of interest". The moon was bright but the horizon was again shrouded in haze. The subject hangs somewhere between romantic and sinister - like a cat stalking a mouse!"

John Horton - PAFC

Aux postes de combats

Technique : Huile sur carton
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« De nos jours, lorsque le navire est en position de combat, oui il avance, mais on ne peut voir personne. Il y a une ou deux personnes sur le pont et tous les autres sont au-dessous. Le dernier tableau que je viens juste de terminer montre en fait le poste central des opérations du NCSM Ottawa, où le capitaine et divers membres de l’équipage, tous alignés devant des ordinateurs, travaillent sous un faible éclairage rougeâtre. Ils portent de l’équipement anti-éclair et la lumière des ordinateurs se réfléchit sur leurs visages, préoccupés et concentrés. Pour moi, cette scène est probablement très révélatrice de la façon dont la guerre moderne se déroule. »



'Apollo Patrol' par John Horton (marine) 2002

Apollo Patrol

Technique : Huile sur carton
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Je voulais aussi montrer ce qu’on voit des airs. J’avais pleinement conscience du fait qu’il est évidemment difficile de continuer à faire voler les Sea King vieillissants. L’un des tableaux que j’ai réalisés est une vue de l’arrière d’un Sea King en vol (en train de virer pour atterrir sur l’Ottawa). On aperçoit tout en bas l’Ottawa et aussi le cargo de ligne soudanais, que l’Ottawa vient tout juste d’intercepter. Le tableau illustre ici aussi une mission d’interception en cours, tout en montrant le point de vue des airs. En fait, l’Amiral Fraser a déclaré à ce sujet : « J’ai la curieuse impression que c’est la première fois qu’on exécute une peinture montrant un Sea King dans un théâtre d’opérations. »



'A Dawn Boarding' par John Horton (marine) 2002

Arraisonnement à l’aube

Technique : Huile sur carton
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Je voulais montrer ce qu’on faisait et un peu ce qu’était la vie dans la Marine moderne... Je savais que je devais peindre une sorte de portrait d’un navire, pour ainsi dire, afin de montrer en quoi le travail consistait. C’est ainsi que j’ai fait un tableau qui... nous situe immédiatement dans le golfe Persique. Le tableau montre le travail d’arraisonnement, c’est-à-dire, le bateau pneumatique avec l’équipage grimpant l’échelle, astucieusement armé de manière à pouvoir effectuer une inspection et une fouille sur cette embarcation, avec l’Algonquin en arrière-plan. La scène est peinte au lever du soleil; le golfe est brumeux, à cause du sable que le vent souffle du désert. C’est plutôt une peinture d’ambiance, mais elle montre bien le travail d’arraisonnement; ce sont les conditions dans lesquelles les membres des FC travaillent. »



'“Go Fast” - Interdiction' par John Horton (marine) 2002

“Go Fast” - Interdiction

Technique : Huile sur carton
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Les travailleurs migrants traversent le golfe Persique à bord de rapides embarcations non pontées qui, bien sûr, pourraient facilement transporter des terroristes qui fuient l’Iran ou le Pakistan. Ces embarcations sont arrêtées et leurs occupants, interrogés, souvent sous un soleil de plomb. Cette opération peut durer plus de deux heures, ce qui est difficile pour les deux parties. J’ai observé des matelots canadiens qui fournissaient de l’aide humanitaire à ces pauvres gens après s’être assurés qu’ils ne représentaient aucune menace. Ces travailleurs cherchent simplement une vie meilleure pour leurs familles; ils sont victimes de la dure politique de notre époque. »



'Homecoming' par John Horton (marine) 2002

Retour chez nous

Technique : Huile sur carton
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Dans ce tableau, on voit le NCSM Algonquin qui revient au port à Esquimalt, en octobre 2002, après un déploiement de sept mois dans le golfe Persique. Toutes les familles de marins peuvent se reconnaître dans cette peinture qui, je l’espère, exprime la joie d’être réuni avec les êtres chers après une longue absence dans un théâtre éloigné. L’idée de ce tableau a été suggérée par Jane Town, épouse du Capitaine Town, à l’époque chef d’état-major des FMAR(P). »



'The Shadow' par John Horton (marine) 2002

L’ombre

Technique : Huile sur carton
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Je me souviens d’une nuit chaude sur le pont. Nous suivions un « navire d’intérêt ». La lune était claire, mais l'horizon apparaissait voilé dans la brume. Le sujet se situe quelque part entre le romantique et le sinistre – comme un chat traquant une souris! »