CFAP Pilot Project Art of OP APOLLO

Below are shown some of the first works to be produced under the pilot project of the current Canadian Forces Artists Program (CFAP). These works were officially unveiled by General R.R. Henault, Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), and Dr. Serge Bernier, Director of History and Heritage (DHH), on Thursday, November 13, 2003 at National Defence Headquarters, Ottawa.

The chosen artists were Ardell Bourgeois (Air Force), John Horton (Navy) and Allan MacKay (Army). Their impressions were recorded while on Operation APOLLO (OP APOLLO), Afghanistan, 30 June-11 July 2002.


Ardell Bourgeois (Air Force)

Ardell Bourgeois was born in Alberta and moved several times before settling in British Columbia after his father retired from the Armed Forces. He graduated from the Emily Carr College of Art and Design in 1988. He has won fourteen awards at aviation art shows since 1994 and has seen his work displayed in museums (including the Canadian War Museum and Canadian Aviation Museum in Ottawa) and several magazines.

Ardell Bourgeois is currently living in Chilliwack, B.C. and is an active member of the Canadian Aviation Artists Association.

Aurora Time
On Guard for Thee
Queen Without a Hangar
Hercules and the Kabul Gate Guard

Top of Page



John Horton (Navy)

John Horton was born in London, England and graduated from the Poole & Bournemouth School of Art before joining the Royal Navy. He worked in design and architecture for several years before moving to Vancouver in 1964. His passion for the work of marine artist increasingly has occupied his time.

John Horton is currently living in Vancouver, B.C. and is a member of the Canadian Society of Marine Artists.

www.johnhorton.ca

Action Stations, 2002
Apollo Patrol
A Dawn Boarding
”Go Fast“ - Interdiction
Homecoming
The Shadow

Top of Page



Allan MacKay (Army)

Allan MacKay was born in Charlottetown, P.E.I., and graduated from the Nova Scotia College of Art in 1967. He has enjoyed a long and multifaceted career in the visual arts as a gallery curator / director, arts administrator and professional artist. He was the founding Director of the Southern Alberta Art Gallery, as well as Director of the Mendel Art Gallery, Saskatoon, and of the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery of Toronto.

Allan MacKay is currently living in Kitchener, Ontario, and works as a curatorial consultant with the Kitchener Waterloo Art Gallery.

www.allanhardingmackay.com

Armoured Fighting Vehicle on way to Tarnak Farm
Patricia Platoon Commander with US Soldier in Background
Armoured Fighting Vehicle
Gunner and Barbed Wire
Three Silhouettes unloading a Hercules, Khandahar Airport

Projet pilote - « l'Art de l'OP Apollo » du PAFC

Voici les premiers travaux produits pendant le projet pilote du Programme d'arts des Forces canadiennes (PAFC). Ces travaux furent lancés officiellement par le général R.R. Henault, Chef d'état-major des Forces canadiennes et le monsieur Serge Bernier, Directeur, Histoire et patrimone (DHP), le jeudi 13 novembre 2003 au Quartier général de la Défense nationale à Ottawa.

Les artistes choisis sont : Ardell Bourgeois (force aérienne), John Horton (la marine) et Allan MacKay (l'armée). Ils ont préparé leurs oeuvres pendant l'Opération Apollo, en Afghanistan, entre le 30 juin et le 11 juillet, 2002.


Ardell Bourgeois (Force aérienne)

Ardell Bourgeois est né en Alberta et a déménagé plusieurs fois avant de s'établir en Colombie Britannique (C.-B.), après la retraite de son père des forces armées. Il a obtenu son diplôme de l'école «Emily Carr College of Art and Design» en 1988. Il a gagné quatorze prix dans des expositions d'art sur l'aviation depuis 1994 et ses travaux sont exposés dans plusieurs musées (dont le Musée canadien de la guerre et le Musée de l'aviation à Ottawa) en plus d'être reproduits dans plusieurs revues.

Ardell Bourgeois réside à Chilliwack, C.B., et il est un membre actif de l'Association canadienne des artistes de l'aviation.

L'heure de l'Aurora
Protégera nos foyers et nos droits
Une reine sans hangar
Hercules et barrière de garde à Kaboul

Top of Page



John Horton (Marine)

John Horton est né à Londres, en Angleterre, et a reçu son diplôme du «Poole & Bournemouth School of Art» avant de joindre la marine royale britannique. Il a travaillé en design et en architecture pendant plusieurs années avant de s'établir à Vancouver, C.-B., en 1964. Sa passion pour le travail d'artiste de la marine a occupé de plus en plus de son temps.

John Horton réside présentement à Vancouver, C.-B., et il est un membre de la Société canadienne des artistes de la marine.

www.johnhorton.ca

Aux postes de combat, 2002
Sea King
Arraisonnement à l'aube
”Go Fast“ - Interdiction
Retour chez nous
L'ombre

Top of Page



Allan MacKay (Armée)

Allan MacKay est né à Charlottetown, Î-P.-É., et a reçu son diplôme du «Nova Scotia College of Art» en 1967. Il a eu une longue et riche carrière dans les arts visuels, comme conservateur/directeur de galeries, administrateur d'art, et artiste professionnel. Il fut le directeur-fondateur de la «Southern Alberta Art Gallery», Directeur de la «Mendel Art Gallery», de Saskatoon et de la «Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery» de Toronto.

Allan MacKay réside présentement à Kitchener, Ontario, et il travaille comme consultant en conservation au Musée des beaux-arts de Kitchener Waterloo.

www.allanhardingmackay.com

VBL en route vers la ferme Tarnak
Commandant de peloton
L'avant d'un VBL
Artilleur devant des barbelés
Trois silhouettes en train de charger un Hercules à Kandahar