CFAP Allan MacKay

Armoured Fighting Vehicle on way to Tarnak Farm

Medium: Mixed media on paper
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"As part of a tour, we were driven outside the perimeter of the airstrip towards Tarnak Farm. This was very flat desert-type ground, dotted with white flag ground mine locations and was the location where the four Canadian soldiers were killed and eight injured by the American friendly fire bombing --. Beyond this point we approached Osama Bin Laden's fortress in the desert."



Patricia Platoon Commander with US Soldier in Background

Medium: Mixed media on paper
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"I was in the area of the coalition mess tent taking shots to describe this site at meal time and tell the story of the coalition and the mix of forces gathered there: which included Canadians, Americans and Special Forces whose personnel were a mix of various countries. In the background is the main street in the airstrip area."



Armoured Fighting Vehicle

Medium: Mixed media on paper
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"This image was taken on a drive in the Tarnak Farm area and approaching what I understand was the Osama Bin Laden fortress where he centralized his activities in this area. The perspective depicts the view from the armoured vehicle with details of the gun and elements of the receding road in this heated, dust-filled environment."



Gunner and Barbed Wire Fence

Medium: Mixed media on paper
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"This image is at the perimeter of the Khandahar airstrip. The structure in the distance is the ruins of a building that was being occupied by Canadian, American and Afghan forces.... It was at the base of the structure that we arrived and met a number of Afghan soldiers and Canadians who drove in on another personnel carrier. The Americans were hiding under camouflage netting on the roof of the ruin while the Canadians shared tea with the Afghans. It was a guard post shared by these forces."



Three Silhouettes unloading a Hercules, Khandahar Airport

Medium: Mixed media on paper
Dimensions:
Date: 2002

"It was very hot and dry upon landed in Kandahar when the Hercules doors opened...the middle image is of a woman soldier on the ground who was very much involved with providing direction for the off loading of the aircraft...The scene depicted has a theatrical point of view from within the belly of the Hercules with the doors like curtains parting and then suddenly you see the parched landscape and human drama you are going to enter into."

Allan MacKay - PAFC

VBL en route vers la ferme Tarnak

Technique : Techniques mixtes sur papier
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Nous faisions une visite. On nous a conduits à l’extérieur du périmètre de la piste d’atterrissage, en direction de Tarnak Farm. Nous roulions sur un terrain très plat, typique du désert, ponctué ci et là de petits drapeaux blancs pour signaler la présence de mines. C’est à cet endroit que quatre Canadiens ont été tués, et huit autres blessés, par un tir ami (bombe incendiaire) des Américains. Un peu plus loin, nous nous sommes approchés de la forteresse d’Oussama Ben Laden dans le désert. »



Commandant de peloton

Technique : Techniques mixtes sur papier
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Je me trouvais aux alentours de la tente du mess de la coalition, en train de prendre des photos pour décrire l’endroit pendant les heures de repas et raconter l’histoire de la coalition et de l’amalgame de toutes ces forces réunies : les Canadiens, les Américains et les Forces spéciales composées de membres de différents pays. À l'arrière-plan, on aperçoit la rue principale de la zone de la piste d’atterrissage. »



L’avant d’un VBL

Technique : Techniques mixtes sur papier
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Cette image a été captée sur la route dans la région de Tarnak Farm. On s’approchait de ce qui, selon ce que j’avais pu comprendre, était la forteresse d’Oussama Ben Laden, où il avait centralisé ses activités dans ce secteur. Il s’agit d’une vue depuis le véhicule blindé, avec le canon et le chemin qui s’estompe, dans cet environnement chaud et poussiéreux. »



Artilleur devant des barbelés

Technique : Techniques mixtes sur papier
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Cette image décrit une scène à proximité de la piste d’atterrissage de Kandahar. La structure que l’on aperçoit au loin, ce sont les ruines d’un bâtiment qui était occupé par les forces canadiennes, américaines et afghanes... C’est au pied de cette structure que nous avons rencontré un certain nombre de soldats afghans et de Canadiens qui avaient voyagé dans un autre véhicule de transport de personnel. Les Américains étaient cachés sous un filet de camouflage sur le toit du bâtiment en ruines pendant que les Canadiens prenaient le thé avec les Afghans. C’était un poste de garde commun à ces forces. »



Trois silhouettes en train de décharger un Hercules à Kandahar

Technique : Techniques mixtes sur papier
Dimensions :
Date : 2002

« Il faisait très chaud et sec quand nous avons atterri à Kandahar et que les portes de l’avion Hercules se sont ouvertes... Au milieu se trouve une femme soldat qui s’active intensément, en donnant des directives pour le déchargement de l’avion... Le tableau décrit donc ce sentiment presque théâtral au moment où les rideaux (les portes du Hercules) s’ouvrent et que soudainement on aperçoit le paysage désolé et le drame humain dans lequel on s’apprête à plonger. »