CFAP Selected Artists 2003-2005

Béroud, François

Art Form: Sculpture

François Béroud was born in Switzerland and graduated from the École professionnelle des arts et métiers and the École de Technique du Théâtre, both in Bienne, Switzerland. He has exhibited his sculptures in fifteen exhibits since 1982, in Canada, the U.S., Europe and Japan.

François Béroud is currently living in Montréal, Québec, and teaches art at the École du Tournant St-Constant.

HMCS Toronto

Top of Page



Bourgeois, Ardell

Art Form: Painting

See 2002


Top of Page



Bradford, Douglas

Art Form: Painting

Douglas Bradford, a life-long resident of Northern Ontario, has been a professional artist for the past 32 years. His water colours reflect the majesty of the landscape and dignity of its people. Since 1972 he has had several solo shows and his work hangs in museums and private collections across Canada, the US, New Zealand, Britain and Japan.

Douglas Bradford is currently living in Sault Ste-Marie, and continuing his character studies that communicate the strength of character and quiet determination of the people of Northern Ontario.

On The Bridge
Sea King

Top of Page



Collier, David

Art Form: Drawing

David Collier was born in Windsor, Ontario. He served with the Canadian Army and drew sketches for the Army newspaper before he took up cartooning professionally. In addition to his fourteen graphic novels and sketch books, his work has appeared in fourteen newspapers and magazines, including the Globe and Mail and Hamilton Spectator.

David Collier is currently living in Hamilton, Ontario and is associated with Drawn & Quarterly.

Water Testing
Refuelling
Closing in on Vessel of Interest

Top of Page



Dowling, John

Art Form: Painting


Top of Page



Goligher, Kevin

Art Form: Painting, Sketching

Kevin Goligher served in the Canadian Army until 1995. Since then, he has completed several shows featuring his and other experiences overlooked by the public. He is particularly interested in adding "I was there" details that only participants would notice.

Kevin Goligher is currently living in Kingston, Ontario.

Act of Remembrance

Top of Page



Hamel, Jacques

Art Form: Painting, Sculpture

Jacques Hamel was born in Québec City. He studied at l’université Laval, the American Academy of Paris and les Ateliers de la Ville de Paris for several years and was an accredited copyist at the Louvre from 1998 to 1999. He spent another year at Art Students League in New York City. His works have been exhibited and accepted into the collections of museums across Europe and North America.

Jacques Hamel is currently living in Québec City, Québec. He has had four solo exhibits, focusing his efforts on urban scenes.

The Cook
The Driver
The Observer

Top of Page



Hutton, John

Art Form: Painting, Cards

John Hutton was born in Windsor, Ontario. He is a member of the Canadian Aviation Artists’ Association and his works have been exhibited and accepted into museums and private collections across North America.

He is currently living in Windsor, Ontario.

Snowbirds

Top of Page



Kearns, Gertrude

Art Form: Drawing, Painting

Gertrude Kearns was born in Toronto. She has won several awards from the Ontario Society of Artists, the National Aviation Museum and others. She has had over twenty solo exhibits across Canada since 1989 and has work in the collections of the Canadian War Museum and ten other institutions. A common theme of her works is the physical expression of engagement and its psychological impact.

Gertrude Kearns is currently living in Toronto and is affiliated with the Propeller Centre for the Visual Arts.

ccca.concordia.ca/artists/artist_info.html?languagePref=en&link_id=6262

EH-symmetric

Top of Page



Lasserre, Maskull

Art Form: Drawing, Sculpture

Maskull Lasserre was born in Alberta, Canada in 1978, and spent his childhood in Southern Africa. He completed an Undergraduate degree in Visual Art and Philosophy at Mount Allison University, and Graduate studies in Sculpture at Concordia University. Lasserre now works full time out of a studio in Montreal, QC. He has shown work across Canada, and completed several public sculpture commissions. He was also selected to participate with the CFAP in 2010-2011.

HMCS Calgary

Top of Page



MacDonnell, William

Art Form: Painting

William MacDonnell studied at Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. Many of his works have represented war and its effects, including German cities in 1919 and 1946, the signing of the armistice after the First World War, the aftermath of peacekeeping operations in Croatia and war-torn fields in Indochina. Toughout his works, MacDonnell’s reflections on collective memory and forgetfulness are apparent.

William MacDonnell is currently living in Calgary and has presented twenty-four solo shows since 1979.

The Wall
Waiting for Twilight, Patrol Base Wilson

Top of Page



Marois, Karole

Art Form: Painting

Karole Marois was born in Ottawa Canada where she currently resides. A graduate of Toronto's Ontario College of Art and Design in 1979, she continued her studies at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Florence, Italy. The art of the Renaissance continues to be an important source of inspiration for her painting and mural work.

Marois paints murals for both the public and private sectors. Her clients include the National Museums of Canada and Parks Canada. Producing large works allows her to create environments that engage the viewer’s interest and elicit an emotional connection. While her inspiration is rooted in the human form and psyche, her subject matter is diverse.

Since she began her artistic career, Karole has travelled and exhibited extensively, and her work can be found in private and public collections across Canada and abroad. Selected as one of the participants in the Canadian Forces Artist Program (CFAP), she was sent to the Netherlands in 2005, to observe the celebrations of the 60th anniversary of the Liberation of Holland. One of her large painting installations based on this experience, “The Parade”, is part of a touring exhibition presented by the Canadian War Museum. This exhibition “A Brush with War: Military Art from Korea to Afghanistan” will travel across Canada from 2009 to 2012.

The Parade

Top of Page



Meyboom, Alex

Art Form: Photography


Top of Page



Pecota, Sylvia

Art Form: Photo/Art

Sylvia Pecota, award-winning photographer and artist, was born in Toronto.  She was the first Canadian woman to hold an exhibition in the former Soviet Union and has also exhibited in Canada, Germany, Italy and Australia. She is presently working on a book about the Canadian soldier. During her recent assignment in Kandahar, (February 2006), Sylvia exhibited a selection of Canadian prints at Canada House on Kandahar Air Base.

Fallen Comrades

Top of Page



Rexhepi, Zeqirja

Art Form: Painting

Zeqirja Rexhepi was born in Perlepnice, Gjilan, Kosovo. He studied at the art college of Scopia, Macedonia and the Academy of Art at the University of Prishtina. He worked as a professional artist for 25 years, known for creating monumental frescoes for churches and mosques. Exhibited in several countries of Europe and Canada, he is best known for his painting of the Church of Binqa in Kosova.

Zeqirja Rexhepi is currently living in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, where he has produced several murals toughout the city.

Remembrance Day
Signature for Peace
Hope for Peace

Top of Page



Richfield, Mark

Art Form: Drawing

Mark Richfield was born in British Columbia. He has participated in several exhibitions at the Pitt Gallery in Vancouver.  He is currently living in Pitt Meadows, B.C.

Last Flight #1
Last Flight #2

Top of Page



Tam, Ho

Art Form: Photography

Ho Tam has studied at McMaster University and the Banff Centre for the Arts as well as participating in programs at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York and the MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire. In addition to his contributions in over 30 group exhibitions across the continent he has had over 20 solo exhibits. He is currently living in Toronto.

Ho Tam

Top of Page



Taylor, Katherine

Art Form: Painting, sketching

Katherine Taylor grew up in Toronto and graduated from the Ontario College of Art. After marrying a soldier posted to Germany, she developed an interest and expertise in military subjects. In the late 1980s she co-founded the magazine Esprit de Corps to celebrate and document the Canadian Forces and their work toughout the world. She was a member of the CF’s Civilian Artists Program (CAFCAP).

Katherine Taylor lives in Ottawa, Ontario and has been commissioned by regiments, museums, air-shows, individuals and corporations for a variety of military studies.

Preparation for Flight
Preparation for Flight

Top of Page



Wall, Ian

Art Form: Painting

Ian Wall grew up in Brampton and studied art at Sheridan College in the early 1990s, after spending eight years with Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry. He has recorded some of his experiences as a soldier in art.

Ian Wall lives in Kincardine, Ontario, where he helped establish the Victoria Park Art Gallery and has participated in several exhibitions.

Normandy-60th
Tuff at Sea

Top of Page



Wright, Andrew

Art Form: Photography/Video

Andrew Wright's work is described as multi-tiered inquiries into the nature of perception, photographic structures and technologies, and the ways we relate to an essentially mediated and primarily visual world. With linkages to practices as diverse as Alfred Stieglitz and Iain & Baxter (with whom Wright worked in the 90s), Wright's use of photography is decidedly non–conventional as it eschews lyricism and traditional pictorial aims. His practice is at the intersection of traditional and conceptual forms of artmaking.

He has exhibited widely, both nationally and internationally, with exhibitions at Peak Gallery, Toronto, the University of California, Berkeley, Oakville Galleries, Photo Miami, Roam Contemporary (New York), ARCO '05 (Madrid), Presentation House, Vancouver and the Art Gallery of Calgary, to name a few. He has also participated in residencies, including the Banff Centre and Braziers Workshop (U.K.), and as a 'war artist' with the Canadian Forces Artists Program aboard Canadian warship H.M.C.S. Toronto. He is the founding Artistic Director for Contemporary Art Forum Kitchener and Area (CAFKA). He is currently living in Waterloo, Ontario.

Wright is the recipient of numerous awards. In 2010 he was awarded a grant from the Canada Foundation for Innovation for high resolution digital capture. In 2001 he was the winner of the Ernst & Young Great Canadian Printmaking Competition, and has received grants from the Canada Council for the Arts, The Waterloo Regional Arts Fund, and the Ontario Arts Council. He has received critical acclaim for his work in publications such as Canadian Art, Border Crossings, and The Globe & Mail .

He has been nominated six times for the Sobey Art Award and in 2007 he was named a semi-finalist for the award. He was also nominated for the prestigious Karsh Award in Photography in 2010 and 2012. In 2011 he won the inaugural BMW Exhibition Award at Contact Photography Festival in Toronto.

Andrew Wright is represented by Patrick Mikhail Gallery in Ottawa. He is an Associate Professor of Visual Art and Acting Chair of the Department of Visual Arts at the University of Ottawa.

“My experience aboard HMCS Toronto in 2005 offered me uncommon insight into the daily operations of the Navy and into the lives of those who serve. I spent my time taking and offering photographic portraits to the crew in addition to gathering imagery that led to further work and explorations--some of which continue to this day”


Top of Page



Zuber, Edward

Art Form: Painting

Artistes sélectionnés en 2003-2005 dans cadre du PAFC

Béroud, François

Forme d’art : Sculpture

François Béroud est né en Suisse et il est diplômé de l’École professionnelle des arts et métiers et de l’École de Technique du Théâtre, toutes deux situées à Bienne, en Suisse. Depuis 1982, ses sculptures ont été présentées dans 15 expositions, au Canada, aux États Unis, en Europe et au Japon.

François Béroud vit actuellement à Montréal, au Québec, et il enseigne les arts à l’École du Tournant, à Saint Constant.

NCSM Toronto

Haut de la page



Bourgeois, Ardell

Forme d’art : Peinture

Voir 2002


Haut de la page



Bradford, Douglas

Forme d’art : Peinture

Douglas Bradford a passé sa vie dans le Nord de l’Ontario, où il mène une carrière d’artiste professionnel depuis 32 ans. Ses aquarelles mettent en évidence la majesté du paysage et la dignité des gens. Depuis 1972, il a présenté plusieurs expositions solos, et ses œuvres font partie de collections privées et sont exposées dans des musées au Canada, aux États Unis, en Nouvelle Zélande, en Grande-Bretagne et au Japon.

Douglas Bradford vit à Sault Ste. Marie. Il continue à exécuter des œuvres qui illustrent la force de caractère et la détermination tranquille des gens du Nord de l’Ontario.

Sur le pont
Sea King

Haut de la page



Collier, David

Forme d’art : Dessin

David Collier est né à Windsor, en Ontario. Il a servi dans l’Armée canadienne et a réalisé des dessins pour le journal de l’Armée avant de devenir dessinateur professionnel de bandes dessinées. En plus des 14 livres de dessins et romans illustrés qu’il a publiés, ses œuvres ont paru dans 14 journaux et revues, dont le Globe and Mail et le Hamilton Spectator.

David Collier vit actuellement à Hamilton, en Ontario, et il est associé à Drawn & Quarterly.

Vérification de la qualité de l’eau
Avitaillement en carburan
Manœuvre d’approche d’un navire d’intérêt

Haut de la page



Dowling, John

Forme d’art : Peinture


Haut de la page



Goligher, Kevin

Forme d’art : Peinture, croquis

Kevin Goligher a servi dans l’Armée canadienne jusqu’en 1995. Depuis, il a travaillé à plusieurs expositions présentant ses expériences et celles d’autres personnes, le genre d’expériences qui échappent en général à la population. Il s’intéresse particulièrement à l’ajout de ce qu’il appelle les détails du « j’y étais », que seuls les participants vont remarquer.

Kevin Goligher vit à Kingston, en Ontario.

Acte de commémoration

Haut de la page



Hamel, Jacques

Forme d’art : Peinture, sculpture

Jacques Hamel est né à Québec. Il a étudié à l’Université Laval, à l’American Academy of Paris et aux Ateliers de la Ville de Paris pendant plusieurs années et il a été copiste autorisé au Musée du Louvre de 1998 à 1999. Il a passé une autre année à l’Art Students League, à New York. Ses œuvres ont été exposées par différents musées d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord et figurent dans leurs collections.

Jacques Hamel habite à Québec (Québec). Il a présenté quatre expositions solos qui mettaient l’accent sur des scènes urbaines.


Haut de la page



Hutton, John

Forme d’art : Peinture, cartes

John Hutton est né à Windsor, en Ontario. Il est membre de l’Association canadienne des artistes en aviation, et ses œuvres ont été exposées et acquises par divers musées et collectionneurs privés de l’Amérique du Nord.

Il habite actuellement à Windsor, en Ontario.

Snowbirds

Haut de la page



Kearns, Gertrude

Forme d’art : Dessin, peinture

Gertrude Kearns est née à Toronto. Elle a reçu plusieurs prix de l’Ontario Society of Artists, du Musée de l'aviation du Canada et d’autres institutions. Elle a présenté plus de 20 expositions solos un peu partout au Canada depuis 1989. Certaines de ses œuvres font partie des collections du Musée canadien de la guerre et de 10 autres institutions. L’un des thèmes courants qu’elle exploite est l’expression physique de l’engagement et ses effets psychologiques.

Gertrude Kearns vit à Toronto et est affiliée au Propeller Centre for the Visual Arts.

ccca.concordia.ca/artists/artist_info.html?languagePref=fr&link_id=6262

EH-symmetric

Haut de la page



Lasserre, Maskull

Forme d’art : Dessin, sculpture

Maskull Lasserre est né en Alberta, au Canada, en 1978 et il a passé son enfance en Afrique du Sud. Il a obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle en arts visuels et philosophie à l’Université Mount Allison et a poursuivi des études supérieures en sculpture à l’Université Concordia. M. Lasserre travaille maintenant à temps plein à partir d’un studio à Montréal (Québec). Il a exposé des œuvres un peu partout au Canada et a exécuté plusieurs commandes publiques de sculptures. Il a également été sélectionné pour participer au PAFC en 2010-2011.

NCSM Calgary

Haut de la page



MacDonnell, William

Forme d’art : Peinture

William MacDonnell a étudié au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. Bon nombre de ses peintures représentent la guerre et ses conséquences, par exemple les villes allemandes en 1919 et 1946, la signature de l’armistice après la Première Guerre mondiale, les répercussions des opérations de maintien de la paix en Croatie et les champs ruinés en Indochine après la guerre. Ses œuvres sont une réflexion sur la mémoire collective et le phénomène de l’oubli.

William MacDonnell réside à Calgary. Il a présenté 24 expositions solos depuis 1979.

Le mur
En attendant le crépuscule, base de patrouille Wilson

Haut de la page



Marois, Karole

Forme d’art : Peinture

Karole Marois est née à Ottawa, au Canada, où elle réside actuellement. Après avoir obtenu un diplôme de l’Ontario College of Art and Design, à Toronto, en 1979, elle a poursuivi ses études à l’Accademia di Belle Arti, à  Florence, en Italie. L’art de la Renaissance demeure une importante source d’inspiration pour ses peintures et ses murales.

Karole Marois peint des murales pour le secteur tant public que privé. Parmi ses clients, elle compte les Musées nationaux du Canada et Parcs Canada. La production d’œuvres de grande taille lui permet de créer des environnements qui soulèvent l’intérêt de l’observateur et suscitent une relation émotionnelle. Elle puise son inspiration dans la forme et  l’esprit humains, et ses sujets sont variés.

Depuis le début de sa carrière artistique, Karole a beaucoup voyagé et fait de nombreuses expositions. On retrouve de ses œuvres dans des collections privées et publiques un peu partout au Canada et à l’étranger. Sélectionnée comme participante au Programme d’arts des Forces canadiennes (PAFC), elle a été affectée aux Pays-Bas en 2005 pour observer les fêtes soulignant le 60e anniversaire de la libération de la Hollande. L’une de ses œuvres de grande dimension découlant cette expérience, The Parade (Le Défilé), fait partie d’une exposition itinérante présentée par le Musée canadien de la guerre. Cette exposition, intitulée Sur le vif : L’art militaire de la Corée à l’Afghanistan, voyagera d’un bout à l’autre du Canada de 2009 à 2012.

Le défilé

Haut de la page



Meyboom, Alex

Forme d’art : Photographie


Haut de la page



Pecota, Sylvia

Forme d’art : Photographie/art

La photographe et artiste Sylvia Pecota, dont les œuvres ont été primées, est née à Toronto. C’est la première Canadienne à avoir présenté une exposition dans l’ancienne Union soviétique. Ses œuvres ont aussi été exposées au Canada, en Allemagne, en Italie et en Australie. Elle travaille actuellement à la rédaction d’un livre sur les soldats canadiens. Pendant son affectation à Kandahar, en février 2006, elle a exposé une sélection d’épreuves canadiennes à la Maison du Canada, à la base aérienne de Kandahar.

Compagnons d’armes disparus

Haut de la page



Rexhepi, Zeqirja

Forme d’art : Peinture

Zeqirja Rexhepi est né à Perlepnice, près de Gjilan, au Kosovo. Il a étudié au Collège des arts de Scopia, en Macédoine, et à l’Académie des arts, à l’Université de Prishtina. Il a travaillé comme artiste professionnel pendant 25 ans. Les fresques monumentales qu’il a créées dans des églises et des mosquées sont célèbres. Ses œuvres ont été exposées dans plusieurs pays européens et au Canada, et on le connaît surtout pour ses peintures dans l’église de Binqa à Kosova.

Zeqirja Rexhepi habite actuellement à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle Écosse, où il a réalisé plusieurs murales.

Jour du Souvenir
Signature de la paix
Espoir de paix

Haut de la page



Richfield, Mark

Forme d’art : Dessin

Mark Richfield est né en Colombie Britannique. Il a participé à plusieurs expositions à la Pitt Gallery, à Vancouver. Il vit à Pitt Meadows (C. B.).

Dernier vol no 1
Dernier vol no 2

Haut de la page



Tam, Ho

Forme d’art : Photographie

Ho Tam a étudié à l’Université McMaster et au Banff Centre for the Arts. Il a aussi participé à divers programmes au Whitney Museum of American Art, à New York, et à la MacDowell Colony, au New Hampshire. En plus d’avoir contribué à plus de 30 expositions collectives un peu partout sur le continent, il a tenu plus de 20 expositions solos. Il vit actuellement à Toronto.

Ho Tam

Haut de la page



Taylor, Katherine

Forme d’art : Peinture, croquis

Katherine Taylor a grandi à Toronto, où elle a obtenu un diplôme à l’École d'art et de design de l'Ontario. Après son mariage avec un soldat affecté en Allemagne, elle a commencé à s’intéresser aux sujets militaires et a acquis une expertise dans ce domaine. À la fin des années 80, elle a cofondé la revue Esprit de Corps, qui rend hommage aux Forces canadiennes et témoigne de leur travail aux quatre coins du monde. Elle a été membre du Programme d'aide des Forces canadiennes aux artistes civils (PAFCAC).

Katherine Taylor vit à Ottawa (Ontario). Des régiments, des musées, des responsables de spectacles aériens, des particuliers et des sociétés lui ont commandé toute une gamme d’études de sujets militaires.

Préparation au vol
Préparation au vol

Haut de la page



Wall, Ian

Forme d’art : Peinture

Ian Wall a grandi à Brampton. Il a étudié au Sheridan College au début des années 90, après avoir passé huit ans au sein du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry. Il a représenté quelques unes de ses expériences comme soldat dans ses œuvres.

Ian Wall vit à Kincardine (Ontario), où il a contribué à fonder la Victoria Park Art Gallery. Il a participé à plusieurs expositions.

Normandie-60e anniversaire
Tuff at Sea

Haut de la page



Wright, Andrew

Forme d’art : Photographie/vidéo

On décrit les œuvres d’Andrew Wright comme étant des investigations à plusieurs niveaux sur la nature de la perception, les structures et technologies photographiques, et la façon dont nous entretenons des rapports avec un monde essentiellement médiatisé et principalement visuel. établissant des liens avec des techniques aussi diverses que celles d’Alfred Stieglitz et Iain & Baxter (avec qui Wright a travaillé dans les années 90), Wright utilise la photographie d’une façon absolument non conventionnelle qui évite le lyrisme et les objectifs traditionnels sur le plan de l’image. Sa technique se situe en fait à l’intersection des formes traditionnelles et conceptuelles de la création artistique.

Andrew Wright a présenté de nombreuses expositions, au pays comme à l’étranger. Ses œuvres ont notamment été exposées aux endroits suivants : Peak Gallery (Toronto), University of California, Berkeley, Oakville Galleries, Photo Miami, Roam Contemporary (New York), ARCO ´05 (Madrid), Presentation House, Vancouver et The Art Gallery of Calgary. Il a aussi été artiste en résidence, entre autres au Banff Centre et au Braziers Workshop (R-U) et, en tant qu’« artiste de guerre » dans le cadre du Programme d’arts des Forces canadiennes, à bord du navire de guerre canadien NCSM TORONTO. Il est le fondateur et le directeur artistique du Contemporary Art Forum Kitchener and Area (CAFKA). Il vit actuellement à Waterloo (Ontario).

Wright a reçu de nombreuses récompenses. En 2010, il a obtenu une bourse de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation relativement à la saisie numérique haute résolution. En 2001, il a remporté la Ernst & Young Great Canadian Printmaking Competition et a reçu de nombreuses bourses du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Waterloo Regional Arts Fund et du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario. Ses œuvres lui ont valu les éloges de la critique dans diverses publications comme Canadian Art, Border Crossings et The Globe & Mail.

Il a été mis en nomination six fois pour la Sobey Art Award, se rendant même en demi-finale en 2007. Il a également été mis en nomination pour la prestigieuse Karsh Award in Photography en 2010 et 2012. En 2011, il a remporté la BMW Exhibition Award, qui était remise pour la première fois, dans le cadre du Contact Photography Festival, à Toronto.

Andrew Wright est représenté par la Patrick Mikhail Gallery, à Ottawa. Il est professeur agrégé en arts visuels et directeur intérimaire du Département d’arts visuels de l’Université d’Ottawa.

« Mon expérience à bord du NCSM TORONTO en 2005 m’a donné un aperçu peu commun des opérations quotidiennes de la Marine et de la vie des militaires. J’ai passé mon temps à tirer des portraits photographiques des membres de l’équipage et à leur offrir, en plus de recueillir des images qui ont mené à d’autres travaux et explorations, dont certains se poursuivent encore aujourd’hui. »


Haut de la page



Zuber, Edward

Forme d’art : Peinture