CFAP Selected Artists 2006-2007

Bailey, Karen

Art Form: Painting

Karen Bailey was born in Ottawa and studied at the Reigate School of Art and Design in England. While her past work has included book illustration, courtroom drawing, heraldic art and calligraphy, she now focuses on painting people at work. Her recent series documents the military medical personnel at work at the Role 3 Hospital in Kandahar. What interests Bailey most are ‘behind the scenes’ support staff who make it possible for the ‘front line’ service men and women to do their job. She seeks to recognize those whose contribution often goes unnoticed.

She paints from her Ottawa studio and has exhibited in Ireland, Britain, USA and Canada.

www.karenbailey.ca

X-ray Technicians with Halo Traction Patient

Top of Page



Ball, Allen

Art Form: Drawing, photos

Allen Ball was born in London, England, where he completed his undergraduate degree at Camberwell School of Art and Design, followed by an MFA at the University of Alberta on a Commonwealth Scholarship. Over the past 20 years, his work has been grounded primarily in the practice of painting, interrogating the limits of its forms and extending its language into an expanded field of inquiry — from large–scale immersive digital installations to collaborative works that explore socio-visual understandings of nanotechnologies. His work can be found in numerous local, national, and international public and private collections. Both his research and teaching philosophy deeply embrace the importance of public art, as evidenced by his 2007 tour of duty as a Canadian war artist in the Sinai Peninsula. Allen Ball is Associate Chair (Undergraduate), Associate Professor, and Painting Coordinator in the Department of Art and Design at the University of Alberta.

"Participation in the Canadian Forces Artists Program has greatly enriched my professional life and practice. I have spent over five years developing the photographs I took during my tour of duty, which culminated in my solo installation at the ASC Gallery building in London, United Kingdom on November 11, 2013. The exhibition runs until November 11, 2014, the centennial of WWI."

CANCON
Watchtower
Tour guide
Canadian Contingent
Garage
Controller

Top of Page



Jones, Catherine

Art Form: Painting

Catherine Jones was born in Halifax and studied at Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. She created a study that includes 21 portraits illustrating veterans – from Canada, Britain and Germany – inspired by a Dinner of Reconciliation in Ortona, Italy in 1998 and based on the theme of forgiveness. « Forgiveness is the rarest of all human attributes, » she explains. She recently had some of her work unveiled in the Senate of Canada.

Catherine Jones is currently living in Halifax and has held fifteen solo exhibitions since 1980, including « At the End of the Day, » her study of 21 portraits.

Representative of Their Numbers

Top of Page



MacDonnell, William

Art Form: Painting

See 2003-2005


Top of Page



Waters, Scott

Art Form: Painting

Scott Waters received a visual art degree from the University of Victoria and a Masters of Fine Arts from York University. A Former soldier with the PPCLI, his art practice investigates how the military (especially the infantry) society operates as a social unit both in isolation and in relation to civilian society; how fraternity and mythology informs these societies and how the external viewer perceives them. Born in Northern England, he grew up in British Columbia but now lives in Toronto ON. He was also selected to participate with the CFAP in 2010-2011.

Sleeping in a LAV
Keifer on OP
Sgt. Collette

Artistes sélectionnés en 2006-2007 dans cadre du PAFC

Bailey, Karen

Forme d’art : Peinture

Karen Bailey est née à Ottawa et elle a étudié à la Reigate School of Art and Design, en Angleterre. Par le passé, elle a illustré des livres, exécuté des croquis au tribunal et touché à l’art héraldique et à la calligraphie; sa principale activité consiste maintenant à peindre des gens au travail. Sa plus récente série montre le personnel médical militaire en service à l’hôpital de rôle 3, à Kandahar. Mme Bailey s’intéresse particulièrement au personnel de soutien « en coulisse », grâce auquel les militaires « sur la ligne de front », hommes et femmes, peuvent accomplir leur travail. Elle cherche à faire reconnaître les personnes dont la contribution passe souvent inaperçue.

Elle exécute ses œuvres dans son studio d’Ottawa et elle a exposé en Irlande, en Grande Bretagne, aux États Unis et au Canada.

www.karenbailey.ca

Techniciens en radiologie et patient soumis à un système de traction par halo

Haut de la page



Ball, Allen

Forme d’art : Dessin, photographie

Allen Ball est né à Londres (Angleterre), où il a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle à la Camberwell School of Art and Design, pour ensuite faire une maîtrise en beaux–arts à l'Université de l'Alberta, grâce à une bourse du Commonwealth. Au cours des 20 dernières années, il a basé son travail principalement sur la pratique de la peinture, s'interrogeant sur les limites de ses formes et étendant son langage à un domaine d'étude élargi — ses œuvres allant d'installations numériques immersives de grande envergure à des projets réalisés en collaboration qui étudient les conceptions socio–visuelles des nanotechnologies. Ses œuvres se retrouvent dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées aux échelles locale, nationale et internationale. Dans sa recherche et sa conception de l'enseignement, il souscrit totalement à l'importance de l'art public, comme en a témoigné son affectation en 2007 en tant qu'artiste de guerre canadien dans la péninsule du Sinaï. Allen Ball est directeur adjoint (études de premier cycle), professeur agrégé et coordonnateur de la peinture au Département des arts et du design de l'Université de l'Alberta.

«La participation au Programme d'arts des Forces canadiennes a grandement enrichi ma vie professionnelle. J'ai passé plus de cinq ans à développer les photos que j'ai prises pendant mon affectation, processus dont le point culminant a été l'inauguration de mon exposition personnelle à l'ASC Gallery, à Londres, au Royaume–Uni, le 11 novembre 2103. L'exposition se poursuivra jusqu'au 11 novembre 2014, jour du centenaire de la Première Guerre mondiale. »

CANCON
Tour de guet
Guide touristique
Contingent canadien
Garage
Contrôleur

Haut de la page



Jones, Catherine

Forme d’art : Peinture

Catherine Jones est née à Halifax et elle a étudié au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. Elle a réalisé une étude de 21 portraits d’anciens combattants canadiens, britanniques et allemands, inspirée par un dîner de réconciliation, à Ortona, en Italie, en 1998, et basée sur le thème du pardon. « La capacité de pardonner est la plus rare des qualités humaines », explique t elle. Certaines de ses œuvres ont été dévoilées récemment au Sénat du Canada.

Catherine Jones vit à Halifax. Elle a tenu 15 expositions solos depuis 1980, entre autres At the End of the Day, son étude de 21 portraits.

Représentation de leur nombre

Haut de la page



MacDonnell, William

Forme d’art : Peinture

Voir 2003-2005


Haut de la page



Waters, Scott

Forme d’art : Peinture

Scott Waters a obtenu un diplôme en arts visuels de l’Université de Victoria et une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université York. Ancien soldat du PPCLI, il examine, dans sa démarche artistique, la façon dont la société militaire (en particulier l’infanterie) fonctionne en tant qu’unité sociale, tant en isolement que par rapport à la société civile, de quelle manière la fraternité et la mythologie servent à informer ces sociétés et comment l’observateur externe les perçoit. Il est né dans le Nord de l’Angleterre et il a grandi en Colombie-Britannique, mais il vit maintenant à Toronto (Ontario). Il a aussi été sélectionné pour participer au PAFC en 2010-2011.

Soldats dormant dans un VBL
Keifer au cours d’une opération
Sgt. Collette