CFAP Selected Artists 2012-2013

Amato, Joseph and Payne Alicia



Amato, Joseph



Art Form: musical composition

Toronto-based Joseph Amato enjoys a varied career as a saxophone player, mentor, and musical scholar. Currently responsible for Strategic Partnerships at the Merriam School of Music in Oakville, he promotes Merriam’s visibility in the community. As a jazz saxophone player, he has performed throughout North and South America. He is also an accomplished music director, vocalist, composer, arranger, and orchestrator. An experienced private theory instructor and music scholar, he is a PhD candidate in Composition. He received his MA in Composition from York University in Toronto. Previous studies include creative music training at Humber College and classical saxophone performance at the University of Western Ontario.

Payne, Alicia



Art Form: Writer/Librettist

Alicia Payne was born in London, England and lives in Toronto. She is a performer, writer and artist educator whose professional memberships include the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA), Canadian Actors Equity Association (CAEA) and the Playwrights Guild of Canada, where she was recently elected Vice President. She is an alumna of the Tapestry Opera Composer-Librettist Laboratory and has used theatre and opera to help youth write stories about their communities. Alicia is a co-founder of Arbez Drama Projects.

http://aliciapayne.workbooklive.com

www.aliciapayne.ca

Top of Page


Dupuis, Sophie

Art Form: Video

Sophie Dupuis is a director and scriptwriter from Val-d’Or, Quebec. She is one of the major figures in the new generation of Quebec filmmakers that emerged after the year 2000. She has directed several short fiction films, including L’hiver et la violence, Faillir and J’viendrai t’chercher, which have won awards at festivals both in Quebec and elsewhere. Quiet Forces marks Dupuis’ first foray into the documentary genre. When not making films, she coaches young actors and coordinates the activities of the French-language erotic news site she co-founded (jesuisvenu.com). Dupuis is currently writing two feature-length fiction films.

Top of Page


Hossack, Leslie

Art Form: photography

Leslie Hossack is an Ottawa-based photographer whose work has been exhibited across Canada and featured in a variety of publications. In 2013, she was deployed to Kosovo with The Canadian Forces Artists Program, following in a long tradition of national war artists.

Hossack has completed major studies of iconic architecture in Vancouver 2008-13, Paris 2009, Berlin 2010, Jerusalem 2011, and Moscow 2012. In Ottawa, her exhibition FALLOUT was presented at The Diefenbunker: Canada’s Cold War Museum.

In 2013, Hossack’s series Stalin’s Architectural Legacy received 3rd prize for historic architecture in the International Photography Awards. Her work is held in public and corporate collections in Canada, and in private collections at home and abroad.

Damaged Building West of Pristina, KosovoNational Martyrs’ Memorial in Marina, Skenderaj, Kosovo

www.lesliehossack.com

Top of Page


Kavanagh, Mary

Art Form: Video, Photography, Installation

Mary Kavanagh is a visual artist and Professor in the Department of Art at the University of Lethbridge, Alberta.

As part of her ongoing body of work examining cold war and nuclear testing programs, Kavanagh has researched and documented activities and ephemera at several historic sites of interest: Wendover Air Base, Utah, training base for WWII atomic bomb missions; Trinity, New Mexico, site of first atomic bomb test; Hiroshima, Japan, site of first wartime atomic bombing; and the Diefenbunker, Carp, Ontario, official Canadian bomb shelter. Her participation in the Canadian Forces Artists Program included "Exercise Vigilant Eagle 2013," a tri-national (United States, Canada and Russia) live-fly, simulated terrorist hijacking out of Anchorage, Alaska and Anydyr, Russia, staged by North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) and the Russian Federation Air Force (RFAF). She also visited the DRDC, Ottawa, where she filmed the Radiological Analysis and Defence (RAD) group engaged in radiation and chemical detection training.

She is the recipient of numerous grants and awards and her work has been extensively exhibited in solo and group exhibitions, most recently Future Station: 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art.

The Expulsion (in white)The Expulsion (in green)

www.marykavanagh.ca

Top of Page


Kneubühler, Thomas

Art Form: Video, Film

Born in Solothurn, Switzerland, Thomas Kneubühler has been living in Montreal since 2000. In 2003, he completed a Master’s degree in Studio Arts at Concordia University, Montreal. His work often deals with social issues and how technology is affecting people’s lives. His work has been presented in many exhibitions in both Europe and North America, most recently at the Québec Triennial at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2011), at the Centre culturel canadien, Paris (2012) and at the Ausstellungsraum Klingental, Basel (2013). In 2011 he was awarded the Pratt & Whitney Canada Prize of the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

"Whether it is the ambiguous boundaries of public and private space, the all-pervasive spectre of security surveillance or even the radiant, if dehumanizing, beauty of cityscapes, Kneubühler's practice tellingly identifies the co-existing insecurities, uncertainties and subtle pleasures embedded in the structures of modern life." (Bryne McLaughlin, Canadian Art)

AntennasTerrain #2

www.thomaskneubuhler.com

Top of Page


Mahovsky, Trevor

Art Form:photography, sculpture

Rhonda Weppler (born in Winnipeg) and Trevor Mahovsky (born in Calgary) have worked collaboratively since 2004. Both artists have MFA degrees from the University of British Columbia, where they met in 1996. Exhibitions include the National Gallery of Canada, Flux Night (Atlanta), Alter Space (San Francisco), Vancouver Art Gallery, Dlectricity (Detroit), LABoral (Gijon), Dos de Mayo (Madrid), Power Plant (Toronto), Tokyo Wonder Site, and loop-raum (Berlin). They recently completed a permanent commission for the Main Street Skytrain station, Vancouver. Recipients of the 2014 Glenfiddich Prize, their work is represented in public collections including the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal and the National Gallery of Canada.

Line, (detail)Resting Place, (detail)

Top of Page


McKay, Sharon

Art Form: Writing

Sharon was also selected to participate with the CFAP in 2008-2009. A short biography can be found with that group of artists.

Top of Page


Reid, Leslie

Art Form:Panting, Video

Leslie Reid's work has long explored the perceptual and psychological sensations evoked by the experience of a particular place. Her paintings bring together the sensory effects of light and space with the lived history of that place, often through references to family, and touch on those feelings of danger, refuge and survival that reside there.

Most recently her work was exhibited in Builders: Canadian Biennial 2012 at the National Gallery of Canada. In 2011 the retrospective Leslie Reid: A Darkening Vision was held at the Carleton University Art Gallery. This exhibition, curated by former Director  Diana Nemiroff, featured paintings from 1975 to the present, as well as new ventures in video.

Leslie Reid recently travelled in the Yukon, N.W.T. and Nunavut with CF Op Nanook, as a participant with the Canadian Forces Artists Program.

Leslie Reid is Professor Emerita in the Department of Visual Arts, University of Ottawa.

Llewellyn II 59°04’N; 134°05’WKaskawulsh III 60°44’N; 138°04’W

www.lesliereid.ca

Top of Page


Weppler, Rhonda

Art Form: Photography, Sculpture

Rhonda Weppler (born in Winnipeg) and Trevor Mahovsky (born in Calgary) have worked collaboratively since 2004. Both artists have MFA degrees from the University of British Columbia, where they met in 1996. Exhibitions include the National Gallery of Canada, Flux Night (Atlanta), Alter Space (San Francisco), Vancouver Art Gallery, Dlectricity (Detroit), LABoral (Gijon), Dos de Mayo (Madrid), Power Plant (Toronto), Tokyo Wonder Site, and loop-raum (Berlin). They recently completed a permanent commission for the Main Street Skytrain station, Vancouver. Recipients of the 2014 Glenfiddich Prize, their work is represented in public collections including the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal and the National Gallery of Canada.

Line, (detail)Resting Place, (detail)

Top of Page

Artistes sélectionnés en 2012-2013 dans cadre du PAFC

Amato, Joseph and Payne Alicia



Amato, Joseph



Forme d’art : Photographie

Joseph Amato est établi à Toronto. Il poursuit une carrière diversifiée en tant que saxophoniste, mentor et musicologue. Actuellement chargé des partenariats stratégiques à la Merriam School of Music, à Oakville, il favorise la visibilité de la Merriam dans la collectivité. Comme saxophoniste de jazz, il a joué un peu partout en Amérique du Nord et du Sud. C’est également un directeur musical, un chanteur, un compositeur, un arrangeur et un orchestrateur accompli, en plus d’être un professeur privé chevronné de théorie. Joseph Amato, qui détient déjà une maîtrise en composition de l’Université York, à Toronto, est aspirant au doctorat en composition. Ses études antérieures comprennent une formation en musique créative au Humber College et en prestation au saxophone classique à l’Université
Western Ontario.

Payne, Alicia



Forme d’art : Écrivaine/Librettiste

Alicia Payne est née à Londres, en Angleterre, et elle vit à Toronto. Elle est interprète, écrivaine et artiste-éducatrice. Elle est membre de diverses associations professionnelles, notamment l’Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA), la Canadian Actors Equity Association (CAEA) et la Playwrights Guild of Canada, dont elle a récemment été élue vice-présidente. Alicia est une ancienne étudiante du Composer-Librettist Laboratory de la Tapestry Opera et elle se sert du théâtre et de l’opéra comme moyen d’aider les jeunes à écrire des histoires au sujet de leurs collectivités. Alicia est cofondatrice des Arbez Drama Projects.

http://aliciapayne.workbooklive.com

www.aliciapayne.ca

Haut de la page


Dupuis, Sophie

Forme d’art : Vidéo

Sophie Dupuis, de Val-d’Or, au Québec, est réalisatrice de films et scénariste. Elle est l’une des principales figures de la nouvelle génération de cinéastes québécois qui a émergé après l’an 2000. Elle a réalisé plusieurs courts films de fiction, notamment L’hiver et la violence, Faillir et J’viendrai t’chercher, qui ont remporté des prix à divers festivals tant au Québec qu’ailleurs. Quiet Forces constitue la première incursion de Sophie Dupuis dans le genre documentaire. Lorsqu’elle n’est pas occupée à réaliser des films, Sophie encadre de jeunes acteurs et coordonne les activités du site de nouvelles érotiques de langue française dont elle est la cofondatrice (jesuisvenu.com). Dupuis écrit présentement le scénario de deux longs métrages de fiction.

Haut de la page


Hossack, Leslie

Forme d’art : photographie

Leslie Hossack est une photographe établie à Ottawa dont les œuvres ont été exposées un peu partout au Canada et présentées dans diverses publications. En 2013, elle a été affectée au Kosovo dans le cadre du Programme d’arts des Forces canadiennes, s’inscrivant dans une longue tradition d’artistes de guerre canadiens.

Hossack a effectué des études approfondies de l’architecture iconique à Vancouver (2008-2013), à Paris (2009), à Berlin (2010), à Jérusalem (2011) et à Moscou (2012). À Ottawa, son exposition intitulée FALLOUT a été présentée au Diefenbunker, Musée canadien de la guerre froide.

En 2013, la série de photos de Hossack intitulée Stalin’s Architectural Legacy a remporté le 3e prix dans la catégorie d’architecture historique des International Photography Awards. Ses œuvres font partie de collections publiques et d’entreprises au Canada ainsi que de collections privées, au pays et à l’étranger.

Damaged Building West of Pristina, KosovoNational Martyrs’ Memorial in Marina, Skenderaj, Kosovo

www.lesliehossack.com

Haut de la page


Kavanagh, Mary

Forme d’art : vidéo, photographie, installation

Mary Kavanagh est artiste spécialisée en arts visuels et professeure au Département des arts de l’Université de Lethbridge (Alberta).

Dans le cadre de son œuvre en cours axée sur la guerre froide et les programmes d’essais nucléaires, Mary Kavanagh a fait des recherches en vue de mettre en évidence les activités et vestiges à plusieurs emplacements historiques d’intérêt, notamment : la base aérienne Wendover (Utah), base d’entraînement pour les missions de largage de la bombe atomique au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale; Trinity (Nouveau-Mexique), lieu du premier essai de la bombe atomique ; Hiroshima (Japon), lieu du premier bombardement atomique en temps de guerre; et le Diefenbunker (Carp, Ontario), abri canadien officiel contre les bombardements. En tant qu’artiste participant au Programme d’arts des Forces canadiennes, elle a pris part à l’exercice Vigilant Eagle 2013, une simulation, en vol réel, de détournement d’avion par des terroristes qu’ont organisée le Commandement de la défense aérospatiale de l’Amérique du Nord (NORAD) et la Force aérienne de la Fédération de Russie et qu’ont menée conjointement les États-Unis, le Canada et la Russie à partir d’Anchorage (Alaska) et d’Anydyr (Russie). Mary s’est également rendue à RDDC Ottawa, où elle a filmé le groupe de Défense et analyse radiologique (DAR) tandis qu’il suivait la formation en détection des radiations et des agents chimiques

Mary a reçu de nombreuses bourses et récompenses et ses œuvres ont été abondamment présentées dans le cadre d’expositions en solo et de groupe, la plus récente étant Future Station: 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art. ’

The Expulsion (in white)The Expulsion (in green)

www.marykavanagh.ca

Haut de la page


Kneubühler, Thomas

Forme d’art : Vidéo, Film

Né à Solothurn (Suisse), Thomas Kneubühler vit à Montréal depuis l’an 2000. En 2003, il a obtenu une maîtrise en arts plastiques à l’Université Concordia (Montréal). Ses œuvres ont souvent pour thèmes les questions sociales et la façon dont la technologie touche la vie des gens. Il a présenté des œuvres dans de nombreuses expositions, tant en Europe qu’en Amérique du Nord, dont les plus récentes se sont tenues lors de la Triennale québécoise au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2011), au Centre culturel canadien, à Paris (2012) et à l’Ausstellungsraum Klingental, à Bâle (2013). En 2011, il a reçu le prix Pratt & Whitney Canada du Conseil des arts de Montréal.

« Que ce soit en montrant les frontières ambiguës entre l’espace public et l’espace privé, le spectre omniprésent de la surveillance de sécurité ou même la beauté radieuse, bien que déshumanisante, des paysages urbains, les œuvres de Kneubühler cernent avec éloquence les insécurités, les incertitudes et les plaisirs subtils qui coexistent dans les structures de la vie moderne. » (Bryne McLaughlin, Canadian Art)

AntennasTerrain #2

www.thomaskneubuhler.com

Haut de la page


Mahovsky, Trevor

Forme d’art : photographie, sculpture

Rhonda Weppler (née à Winnipeg) et Trevor Mahovsky (né à Calgary) collaborent depuis 2004. Les deux artistes détiennent des maîtrises en beaux-arts de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où ils se sont rencontrés en 1996. Ils ont exposé leurs oeuvres notamment aux endroits suivants : Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Flux Night (Atlanta), Alter Space (San Francisco), Vancouver Art Gallery, Dlectricity (Detroit), LABoral (Gijón), Dos de Mayo (Madrid), Power Plant (Toronto), Tokyo Wonder Site et loop-raum (Berlin). Ils ont récemment terminé une commande permanente pour la Main Street Skytrain Station, à Vancouver. Ils se sont vu décerner le prix Glenfiddich 2014 et certaines de leurs oeuvres font partie de collections publiques, notamment au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

Line, (detail)Resting Place, (detail)

Haut de la page


McKay, Sharon

Forme d'art : Photographie, Vidéo, Musique

Sharon a aussi été sélectionné pour participer au PAFC en 2008-2009. Une notice biographique de M. stankievech se trouve sous ce groupe d'artistes.

Haut de la page


Reid, Leslie

Forme d’art : Peinture, Vidéo

Dans ses œuvres, Leslie Reid examine depuis longtemps les sensations au niveau de la perception et de la psychologie qu’évoque l’expérience d’un endroit particulier. Ses peintures combinent les effets sensoriels de la lumière et de l’espace au vécu historique de l’endroit, souvent au moyen d’allusions à la famille, et abordent les sentiments de danger, de sécurité et de survie qui y résident.  

Dernièrement, elle a présenté des œuvres dans le cadre de l’exposition appelée Les bâtisseurs : La biennale canadienne 2012 au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. En 2011, une exposition rétrospective intitulée Leslie Reid: A Darkening Vision s’est tenue à la Carleton University Art Gallery. Cette exposition, organisée par l’ancienne directrice, Diana Nemiroff, mettait en vedette diverses peintures exécutées de 1975 à aujourd’hui, ainsi que de nouvelles réalisations vidéo.

Leslie Reid s’est récemment rendue au Yukon, aux T.N.-O. et au Nunavut dans le cadre de l’Op Nanook des FC, en tant que participante au Programme d’arts des Forces canadiennes.

Leslie Reid est professeure émérite au Département des arts visuels de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Llewellyn II 59°04’N; 134°05’WKaskawulsh III 60°44’N; 138°04’W

www.lesliereid.ca

Haut de la page


Weppler, Rhonda

Forme d’art : photographie, sculpture

Rhonda Weppler (née à Winnipeg) et Trevor Mahovsky (né à Calgary) collaborent depuis 2004. Les deux artistes détiennent des maîtrises en beaux-arts de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où ils se sont rencontrés en 1996. Ils ont exposé leurs oeuvres notamment aux endroits suivants : Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Flux Night (Atlanta), Alter Space (San Francisco), Vancouver Art Gallery, Dlectricity (Detroit), LABoral (Gijón), Dos de Mayo (Madrid), Power Plant (Toronto), Tokyo Wonder Site et loop-raum (Berlin). Ils ont récemment terminé une commande permanente pour la Main Street Skytrain Station, à Vancouver. Ils se sont vu décerner le prix Glenfiddich 2014 et certaines de leurs oeuvres font partie de collections publiques, notamment au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

Line, (detail)Resting Place, (detail)

Haut de la page