CFAP Selected Artists 2014-2015

Byrne, Leah

Art Form: film, sculpture, performance.

Leah Byrne has presented work at the Odd Gallery in Dawson City as well as in festivals and group exhibitions nationally and internationally. She holds a bachelor arts degree from New York University.

Top of Page


Cole, Nancy

Art Form:Textile

Born in Summerside, PEI, Nancy Cole is a professional visual artist that uses textile as a medium. Her work deals with social themes with a strong narrative base. Her practice has evolved from traditional quilting to contemporary and concept based art pieces. She has received several grants and exhibited internationally. -"My work thrives on interaction. It is a unique interdisciplinary process that bridges visual arts, textile arts, installation, performance, and new media... . I have addressed universal issues through my practice such as foreign adoption (My First Cousin Once Removed), the birth of Canadian culture (Smile the While), climate change (Storm Surge), the search for the God particle (Big Bang), as well as more personal matters such as serendipity (Our Two Paths Crossed), friendship (Postcard from Portugal)."

Top of Page


Johnson, Richard

Art Form: Drawing

Born in Scotland, Richard Johnson studied at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design. In 2003 he was embedded with the United States Marine Corps for the Detroit Free Press and in 2007 with Canadian forces in Kandahar, Afghanistan for the National Post. His drawings and writings have appeared in many publications. He also returned to Afghanistan in 2011 and 2012 and in 2015 he travelled to Ukraine with the CF Artists Program.

Top of Page


Lavigueur, Guy

Art Form: Photography, Video

Born in Mont-Joli, Quebec, Guy Lavigueur acquired an interest in aviation before studying another interest at Dawson Institute of Photography in Montreal. Aerial photography is at the centre of his recent work in the Canadian North. A member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts since 2004, he has exhibited across Canada (Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design in Vancouver, Cube Gallery in Ottawa, Eleanor-London Gallery in Montreal) and his work is in many public, corporate and private collections in North America and Europe.

Top of Page


Madina, Ramses

Art Form: Photography, Video

Ramses Madina studied at Carleton University and has presented works across North America. Some collections that include his works are McGill and York Universities and the City of Ottawa.

Top of Page


Murphy, Ivan

Art Form: Painting

Born in Quebec City, Ivan Murphy studied at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. Most of his acrylic paintings reference landscape to frame his narratives. While the places may not exist as painted, they represented slivers of memories or impressions from dream sequences that provide an authenticity to the overall image. He has received awards from the Nova Scotia Department of Culture. Murphy’s works are held in numerous public and private collections including the Nova Scotia Art Bank (2006 and 2012); the U.S. Consulate General; the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Ottawa; TD Bank, NS; Butterfield Fund Services, NS; Ocean Entertainment, NS; McInnes Cooper, NS; Spectacle Design Inc., NS; Accelerator Inc, NS; and St. Lawrence College, QC.

Top of Page


Mussallem, Kathryn

Art Form: Photography

After receiving her BFA (Photo) and a Master of Applied Arts in Visual Arts from Emily Carr University of Art + Design in Vancouver BC and a Master of Professional Studies in Digital Photography from the School of Visual Arts in New York NY, Kathryn Mussallem became an exhibiting photographer, printmaker and illustrator. Her work has recently appeared in group exhibitions in New York NY, Minneapolis MN, Saint Remy de Provence France, Leiden Netherlands, London UK and Vancouver BC. Winner of the Canadian National Prize at the 2016 Sony World Photography Awards, some of her recent solo exhibitions include: Tattoos & Scrimshaw: the Art of the Sailor at the Vancouver Maritime Museum (2013), the Maritime Museum San Diego (2014), the Los Angeles Maritime Museum (2015), the Santa Barbara Maritime Museum (2016) and It's a Sailors Life for Me at the Maritime Museum San Diego (2017).
www.thealmightyqueen.com/about-me/

Top of Page


Riley, Erin

Art Form: Photography

Erin Riley was born in Toronto. She studied at the University of Western Ontario and Loyalist College, has exhibited works across Canada, and worked for several publications including the Toronto Sun, the National Post, ROB Magazine and Chill. She seeks to express through her works universal themes and characteristics focusing on specific individuals and details in their surroundings. She proposes a multi-media combination of audio interviews, photography and texts in order to create portraits of personnel on duty to help find the universal in the specific. She visited the Canadian North in April 2009 with the CFAP. Erin Riley is currently living in Toronto.

Top of Page


Stankievech, Charles

Art Form: Photography, Video, Music

Charles Stankievech is an artist who creates ‘fieldworks’ engaging in art, architecture and music. His work has been exhibited internationally in a variety of settings from museums and galleries to festivals and concert halls. His writings have been included in journals published by MIT Press and Princeton Architectural Press as well as translated into French, Italian and German. Stankievech holds an MFA in Open Media and an honours BA in Philosophy and Literature. A founding faculty member of the Yukon School of Visual Arts in Dawson City, Yukon Territory, Stankievech splits his time between the Arctic and other landscapes.

Top of Page


Thompson, Mark

Art Form: stained glass

Mark Thompson was born in Ottawa in 1958 and graduated from the Ontario College of Art (now OCADU) in 1985. He has been self-employed as a glass-based visual artist since 1991 and has exhibited extensively, including a solo show at the Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery in 2003. His art form is glass-based paintings and sculpture. He also occasionally works as a stained glass conservator, most recently completing a 2-year project on the glasswork in the House of Commons. He built and maintains a fully equipped glass studio near Westport Ontario.
Website: www.markthompsonvisualarts.ca

Top of Page


Walker, Eric

Art Form:Painting, Video

Ottawa artist Eric Walker is from Halifax originally. He has a Canadian Forces background. His grandfather was a Chief Petty Officer in the Canadian Army Service Corp and his father, a Royal Canadian Navy veteran of World War ll. Eric studied media and visual art at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in Halifax from 1976 to 1984. His work spanning a quarter of a century is widely collected. Eric Walker is a Métis acadien and a member of the Eastern Woodland Métis Nation of Nova Scotia.

Top of Page

Artistes sélectionnés en 2014-2015 dans cadre du PAFC

Byrne, Leah

Forme d’art : Photographie, Film

Leah Byrne a présenté des œuvres à l’Odd Gallery, à Dawson City, ainsi que lors de festivals et d’expositions de groupe, aux échelles nationale et internationale. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université de New York.

Haut de la page


Cole, Nancy

Forme d’art : Textile

Née à Summerside (Î.-P.-É.), Nancy Cole est une artiste professionnelle spécialisée dans les arts visuels qui utilise le textile comme mode d’expression artistique. Dans son œuvre, elle traite de thèmes sociaux, appuyés par une solide base narrative. Après avoir pratiqué l’art traditionnel de la courtepointe, elle a évolué vers la création d’œuvres d’art contemporaines fondées sur des concepts. Elle a reçu plusieurs subventions et a présenté des expositions à l’échelle internationale. « Mon œuvre s’épanouit dans l’interaction. C’est un processus interdisciplinaire unique qui relie les arts visuels, les arts du textile, l’installation, l’exécution et les nouveaux médias […]. J’ai traité de questions universelles au moyen de ma pratique artistique, comme l’adoption à l’étranger (My First Cousin Once Removed), la naissance de la culture canadienne (Smile the While), le changement climatique (Storm Surge) et la recherche de la particule divine (Big Bang), ainsi que de sujets plus personnels, comme les heureux hasards (Our Two Paths Crossed) et l’amitié (Postcard from Portugal). »

Haut de la page


Johnson, Richard

Forme d’art : Dessin

Né en Écosse, Richard Johnson a étudié au Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design. En 2003, il a été journaliste intégré au Corps des Marines des États-Unis pour le compte du Detroit Free Press et, en 2007, auprès des Forces canadiennes à Kandahar, en Afghanistan, pour le National Post. Ses dessins et ses écrits ont paru dans de nombreuses publications. Il est également retourné en Afghanistan en 2011 et en 2012 et, en 2015, il s’est rendu en Ukraine dans le cadre du Programme d’arts des Forces canadiennes.

Haut de la page


Lavigueur, Guy

Forme d’art : Photographie, Vidéo

Né à Mont-Joli, au Québec, Guy Lavigueur s’est intéressé à l’aviation avant d’étudier dans un autre domaine d’intérêt au Dawson Institute of Photography, à Montréal. La photographie aérienne est au cœur de sa récente œuvre réalisée dans le Nord canadien. Membre de l’Académie royale des arts depuis 2004, il a présenté des expositions un peu partout au Canada (Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design, à Vancouver, Cube Gallery, à Ottawa, et galerie Eleanor-London, à Montréal), et on retrouve de ses œuvres dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées et collections d’entreprise, tant en Amérique du Nord qu’en Europe.

Haut de la page


Madina, Ramses

Forme d’art : Photographie, Vidéo

Ramses Madina a étudié à l’Université Carleton et a exposé des œuvres un peu partout en Amérique du Nord. Parmi les collections où ses œuvres se retrouvent, mentionnons celles des Universités McGill et York et celle de la Ville d’Ottawa.

Haut de la page


Murphy, Ivan

Forme d’art : Peinture

Né à Québec, Ivan Murphy a étudié au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. La plupart de ses peintures à l’acrylique font référence à des paysages qui définissent la trame narrative. Les lieux qu’il peint n’existent pas nécessairement, mais ils représentent des bribes de souvenirs ou d’impressions provenant de rêves qui confèrent de l’authenticité à l’image globale. Ivan Murphy a reçu des récompenses du ministère de la Culture de la Nouvelle-Écosse. On retrouve de ses œuvres dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées, notamment celles des organismes suivants : Nova Scotia Art Bank (2006 et 2012); consulat général des É.-U.; ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Ottawa); Banque TD (N.-É.); Butterfield Fund Services (N.-É.); Ocean Entertainment (N.-É.); McInnes Cooper (N.-É.); Spectacle Design Inc. (N.-É.); Accelerator Inc (N.-É.); et St. Lawrence College (Qc).

Haut de la page


Mussallem, Kathryn

Forme d’art : Photographie

Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat en beaux-arts (photo) et une maîtrise en arts appliqués (arts visuels) de l’Emily Carr University of Art + Design, à Vancouver (C.-B.) ainsi qu’une maîtrise en études professionnelles en photographie numérique de la School of Visual Arts, à New York (NY), Kathryn Mussallem est devenue photographe, graveuse et illustratrice exposante. Certaines de ses œuvres ont récemment été présentées dans des expositions de groupe à New York (NY), à Minneapolis (MN), à Saint Remy de Provence (France), à Leiden (Pays-Bas), à Londres (R.-U.) et à Vancouver (C.-B.). Kathryn est lauréate du prix national canadien des Sony World Photography Awards 2016. Parmi ses récentes expositions solo, mentionnons Tattoos & Scrimshaw: the Art of the Sailor, au Vancouver Maritime Museum (2013), au Maritime Museum San Diego (2014), au Los Angeles Maritime Museum (2015) et au Santa Barbara Maritime Museum (2016), et It's a Sailors Life for Me, au Maritime Museum San Diego (2017). www.thealmightyqueen.com/about-me

Haut de la page


Riley, Erin

Forme d’art : Photographie

Erin Riley est née à Toronto. Elle a étudié à l’Université Western Ontario et au Loyalist College, a fait des expositions un peu partout au Canada et a travaillé pour plusieurs publications, notamment The Toronto Sun, le National Post, le ROB Magazine et Chill. Dans ses œuvres, elle cherche à exprimer des caractéristiques et des thèmes universels en mettant l’accent sur des individus et des détails particuliers dans leur environnement. Elle propose un agencement multimédias d’entrevues audio, de photographies et de textes afin de créer des portraits de membres du personnel en service et d’ainsi trouver l’universel dans le spécifique. Elle a visité le Nord canadien en avril 2009 dans le cadre du PAFC. Erin Riley vit présentement à Toronto.

Haut de la page


Stankievech, Charles

Forme d’art : Photographie, Vidéo, Musique

Charles Stankievech est un artiste qui crée des « œuvres sur le terrain » en alliant l’art, l’architecture et la musique. Ses œuvres ont été exposées à l’échelle internationale dans toutes sortes d’environnements allant des musées et galeries aux festivals et aux salles de concert. Ses écrits ont paru dans des revues publiées par MIT Press et Princeton Architectural Press et ont aussi été traduits en français, en italien et en allemand. Stankievech détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts (médias ouverts) et un baccalauréat spécialisé en philosophie et littérature. Enseignant et membre fondateur de la Yukon School of Visual Arts, à Dawson City (Yukon), Stankievech partage son temps entre l’Arctique et d’autres paysages.

Haut de la page


Thompson, Mark

Forme d’art : Vitrail

Mark Thompson est né à Ottawa en 1958 et a obtenu son diplôme de l’Ontario College of Art (maintenant l’Université de l’ÉADO) en 1985. Il travaille à son propre compte comme artiste spécialisé dans l’utilisation du verre depuis 1991 et il a fait de nombreuses expositions, notamment en solo à la Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery en 2003. La forme d’art qu’il a adoptée est la peinture et la sculpture sur verre. Il travaille aussi à l’occasion comme restaurateur de vitraux et vient d’ailleurs de réaliser un projet de deux ans visant la restauration des vitraux de la Chambre des communes. Il a construit une verrerie entièrement équipée près de Westport (Ontario) et en assure le fonctionnement.

Site Web :www.markthompsonvisualarts.ca

Haut de la page


Walker, Eric

Forme d’art : Peinture, Vidéo

L’artiste d’Ottawa Eric Walker est originaire d’Halifax. Les Forces canadiennes font partie de son héritage culturel. En effet, son grand-père était premier maître au sein du Corps de l’intendance de l’Armée canadienne et son père, qui appartenait à la Marine royale canadienne, est un ancien combattant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Eric a étudié les arts médiatiques et les arts visuels au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, à Halifax, de 1976 à 1984. Ses œuvres, qui s’étendent sur un quart de siècle, se retrouvent dans de nombreuses collections. Eric Walker est Métis acadien et est membre de l’Eastern Woodland Métis Nation of Nova Scotia.

Haut de la page