Guidons, Colours and Standards

The contents of this site are intended for research purposes only. The images found on this site may not be reproduced in any form or in any media without the written consent of the Department of National Defence (Directorate of History and Heritage).

Flags have been used from the earliest times to identify individuals and groups. Ancient armies carried flags emblazoned with eagles, ravens, dragons and other like devices. Medieval flags often bore religious emblems, such as the Cross of St. George. Many flags which originated as the insignia of individuals, gradually came to represent the state or agencies within the state.

A general term with the following meanings: consecrated ceremonial flags carried by designated CF combatant formations and units, including Standards, Guidons, Queen's Colours, and command, regimental and military college Colours.

Drapeaux consacrés

Le contenu du présent site ne peut être utilisé qu'à des fins de recherche. La reproduction des images sous quelque forme que ce soit ou dans tout média est interdite, à moins d'une autorisation écrite du ministère de la Défense nationale (Direction - Histoire et patrimoine).

De temps immémoriaux, le drapeau a permis d'identifier des personnes et des groupes. Les armées d'autrefois arboraient des drapeaux portant un aigle, un corbeau, un dragon et d'autres symboles. Les drapeaux médiévaux arboraient souvent des emblèmes religieux comme la croix de Saint-Georges. De nombreux drapeaux qui, à l'origine, étaient la marque distinctive de certaines personnes ont peu à peu représenté l'État ou des organismes relevant de celui-ci.

Terme générique ayant les acceptions suivantes : les drapeaux de cérémonie consacrés arborés par les formations et les unités des FC, y compris les étendards, les guidons et les drapeaux consacrés de la reine, les drapeaux consacrés de commandement, de régiment et de collège militaire.