Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Wallace Lloyd Algie

Wallace Lloyd Algie

Wallace Lloyd Algie was born on 10 June 1891 in Alton, Ontario. In April 1916 he enlisted in the 20th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force. Lieutenant Algie was awarded the Victoria Cross for his conduct on 11 October 1918 during the final day of the advance to Cambrai, France by the Canadian Corps. When his troops came under heavy machine gun fire from a nearby village, Algie rushed forward with nine men and disabled the crew of one machine gun, and then turned it on the enemy. Continuing to advance into the village with his party, he attacked a second machine gun, killed its crew, and captured an officer and ten men, thereby clearing the eastern end of the village. Lieutenant Algie was killed later that day while returning to the village with reinforcements.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and self-sacrifice on the 11th October, 1918, north-east of Cambrai, when with attacking troops which came under heavy enfilade machine-gun fire from a neighbouring village.

Rushing forward with nine volunteers, he shot the crew of an enemy machine gun, and, turning it on the enemy, enabled his party to reach the village.  He then rushed another machine gun, killed the crew, captured an officer and 10 enemy, and thereby cleared the end of the village.

Lt. Algie, having established his party, went back for reinforcements, but was killed when leading them forward.  His valour and personal initiative in the face of intense fire saved many lives and enabled the position to be held.”

(London Gazette, no.31155, 31 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Wallace Lloyd Algie

Wallace Lloyd Algie

Wallace Lloyd Algie naît à Alton, en Ontario, le 10 juin 1891. En avril 1916, il s’enrôle dans le 20e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Le dernier jour de l’avance du Corps canadien vers Cambrai, en France, le 11 octobre 1918, lorsque ses troupes se retrouvent sous un intense tir de mitrailleuses provenant d’un village voisin, le Lieutenant Algie s’élance avec neuf hommes, met hors de combat les servants de l’une des mitrailleuses, puis retourne celle-ci contre l’ennemi. Poursuivant son avance avec son détachement, il réussit à pénétrer dans le village et attaque une autre mitrailleuse, tue son équipe et capture un officier et dix hommes, dégageant ainsi la partie est du village. C’est en revenant plus tard avec des renforts qu'il est tué. Pour sa conduite à l'occasion de cet assaut, le Lieutenant Algie a mérité la Croix de Victoria.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure et d’abnégation de soi très remarquable, le 11 octobre 1918, au nord-est de Cambrai, alors que les troupes offensives essuyaient d’intenses tirs de mitrailleuse en enfilade en provenance d’un village voisin.

Après s’être élancé avec neuf volontaires, il met hors de combat le détachement d’une mitrailleuse ennemie puis, retournant celle-ci contre l’ennemi, il permet à sa troupe d’atteindre le village. Il se rue ensuite sur une autre mitrailleuse, capture un officier et 10 soldats ennemis, dégageant ainsi l’extrémité du village.

Une fois son groupe bien établi, le Lt Algie part à la recherche de renforts, mais il se fait tuer au retour. Le courage et l’esprit d’initiative dont il a fait preuve devant des tirs nourris ont permis de sauver de nombreuses vies et de tenir la position

(London Gazette, no 31155, le 31 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]