Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

William George Barker

William George Barker

William George Barker was born in Dauphin, Manitoba on 3 November 1894. During the First World War, Barker enlisted as an infantryman, but later transferred to the Royal Flying Corps (from 1 April 1918, the Royal Air Force).

A superb fighter pilot, he was responsible for the destruction of 50 enemy aircraft.

On 27 October 1918, while flying alone over the Forêt de Mormal in France on his way back to England, Major Barker engaged successive formations of German aircraft. After shooting down an enemy two-seater, he was attacked by a fighter and suffered a wound in his thigh. Barker then found himself surrounded by enemy fighters and was again severely wounded. Nevertheless, despite his wounds, he succeeded in bringing down three more German aircraft before crashing behind his own lines. For his conduct on this occasion, Major Barker was awarded the Victoria Cross.

Barker was killed in a flying accident at Rockcliffe airport, near Ottawa, on 12 March 1930. In addition to the Victoria Cross, for his wartime service Barker received the Distinguished Service Order with one bar, and the Military Cross with two bars.

Citation

“On the morning of the 27th October, 1918, this officer observed an enemy two-seater over the Fôret de Mormal.  He attacked this machine, and after a short burst it broke up in the air.  At the same time a Fokker biplane attacked him, and he was wounded in the right thigh, but managed, despite this, to shoot down the enemy aeroplane in flames.

He then found himself in the middle of a large formation of Fokkers, who attacked him from all directions; and was again severely wounded in the left thigh; but succeeded in driving down two of the enemy in a spin.

He lost consciousness after this, and his machine fell out of control.  On recovery he found himself being again attacked heavily by a large formation, and singling out one machine, he deliberately charged and drove it down in flames.

During this fight his left elbow was shattered, and he again fainted, and on regaining consciousness he found himself still being attacked, but, notwithstanding that he was now severely wounded in both legs and his left arm shattered, he dived on the nearest machine and shot it down in flames.

Being greatly exhausted, he dived out of the fight to regain our lines, but was met by another formation, which attacked and endeavoured to cut him off, but after a hard fight he succeeded in breaking up this formation and reached our lines, where he crashed on landing.

This combat, in which Major Barker destroyed four enemy machines (three of them in flames), brought his total successes up to fifty enemy machines destroyed, and is a notable example of the exceptional bravery and disregard which this very gallant officer has always displayed throughout his distinguished career.

Major Barker was awarded the Military Cross on 10th January, 1917; first Bar on 18th July, 1917; the Distinguished Service Order on 18th February, 1918; second Bar to Military Cross on 16th September, 1918; and Bar to Distinguished Service Order on 2nd November, 1918.”

(London Gazette, no.31042, 30 November 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

William George Barker

William George Barker

William George Barker naît à Dauphin, au Manitoba, le 3 novembre 1894. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle d’abord comme fantassin, puis passe au Royal Flying Corps (rebaptisé Royal Air Force le 1er avril 1918).

Extraordinaire pilote de chasse, il détruit 50 appareils ennemis. Le 27 octobre 1918, au cours d’un vol en solo au-dessus de la forêt de Mormal, en France, en direction de l’Angleterre, le Major Barker s’attaque à plusieurs formations successives d’avions allemands. Après avoir abattu un biplace ennemi, il est attaqué par un chasseur et est blessé à la cuisse. Le Major Barker se retrouve ensuite encerclé de chasseurs ennemis et est de nouveau grièvement blessé. Néanmoins, en dépit de ses blessures, il réussit à abattre trois autres appareils allemands avant de s’écraser derrière les lignes alliées. Pour sa conduite lors de cet affrontement, le Major Barker a mérité la Croix de Victoria.

Pour son service en temps de guerre, le Major Barker a en outre été décoré de l’Ordre du Service distingué avec une agrafe ainsi que de la Croix militaire avec deux agrafes. Il perd la vie dans un accident aérien à l’aéroport de Rockcliffe, près d’Ottawa, le 1er mars 1930.

Citation

Le matin du 27 octobre 1918, cet officier observait un biplace ennemi survolant la forêt de Mormal. Il l’attaque et après quelques tirs, l’avion explose dans les airs. Au même moment, un biplace Fokker l’attaque et le blesse à la cuisse droite, mais en dépit de sa blessure, il réussit à abattre cet appareil ennemi qui s’écrase, en flammes.

Il se trouve ensuite confronté à une imposante formation de Fokker, qui s’en prend à lui de tous les côtés; encore une fois, il subit de graves blessures, cette fois à la cuisse gauche, mais réussit néanmoins à abattre deux aéronefs ennemis qui s’écrasent après un piqué en spirale.

Il s’évanouit ensuite et son appareil commence à perdre de l’altitude. Il reprend connaissance alors qu’il est de nouveau attaqué par une importante formation, et cette fois, il fait feu sur un appareil qui s’enflamme avant de s’écraser.

Au cours de ce combat, son coude gauche se brise en éclats. Il perd connaissance une nouvelle fois et en reprenant ses esprits, il constate qu’il est encore une fois la cible d’attaques, mais en dépit de ses graves blessures aux deux jambes et au bras gauche, il pique sur l’appareil le plus proche qui s’écrase, en flammes.

Totalement épuisé, il redresse son appareil pour regagner nos lignes, mais il se retrouve confronté à une autre formation, qui l’attaque et tente de l’empêcher de se retirer. Toutefois, au terme d’un rude combat, il réussit à briser cette formation et à atteindre nos lignes, où il se pose en catastrophe.

Au cours de ce combat, le Major Barker a détruit 4 appareils ennemis (3 d’entre eux ont pris feu), portant ainsi à 50 le nombre d’appareils inscrits à son tableau de chasse. Il s’agit d’un exemple remarquable de la bravoure exceptionnelle et de l’abnégation de soi dont ce très brave officier a fait preuve tout au long de sa distinguée carrière.

Le Major Barker s’est vu décerner la Croix militaire le 10 janvier 1917; sa première barrette, le 18 juillet 1917; l’Ordre du service distingué, le 18 février 1918; la seconde barrette à la Croix militaire, le 16 septembre 1918; et la barrette à l’Ordre du service distingué, le 2 novembre 1918. 

(London Gazette, no 31042, le 30 novembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]