Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Alexander Picton Brereton

Alexander Picton Brereton

Alexander Picton Brereton was born in Oak River, Manitoba on 13 November 1892. During the First World War he served with the 8th Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force.

On 9 August 1918, near Warvillers in France, Corporal Brereton’s platoon suddenly came under fire from six German machine guns while in an exposed position. Brereton immediately charged one of the machine guns on his own, shooting one member of the crew, bayoneting another, and compelling nine other enemy soldiers to surrender. The rest of the platoon, inspired by his example, assaulted and captured the five remaining machine gun positions. For his actions on this day, Corporal Brereton was awarded the Victoria Cross.

Brereton died in Calgary, Alberta on 11 June 1976.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery during an attack, when a line of hostile machine guns opened fire suddenly on his platoon, which was in an exposed position, and no cover available.  This gallant N.C.O. at once appreciated the critical situation and realised that unless something was done at once the platoon would be annihilated.  On his own initiative, without a moment’s delay, and alone, he sprang forward and reached one of the hostile machine-gun posts, where he shot the man operating the machine gun and bayoneted the next one who attempted to operate it, whereupon nine others surrendered to him.

Cpl. Brereton’s action was a splendid example of resource and bravery, and not only undoubtedly saved many of his comrades’ lives, but also inspired his platoon to charge and capture the fire remaining posts.”

(London Gazette, no.30922, 27 September 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Alexander Picton Brereton

Alexander Picton Brereton

Alexander Picton Brereton naît à Oak River, au Manitoba, le 13 novembre 1892. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, il sert au sein du 8e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le 9 août 1918, près de Warvillers, en France, le peloton du Caporal Brereton se retrouve soudainement à découvert, pris sous le feu de six mitrailleuses allemandes. Sans tarder, le Caporal Brereton charge seul l’une des mitrailleuses, abattant l’un des mitrailleurs, en passant un autre à la baïonnette et forçant neuf autres soldats ennemis à se rendre. Inspirés par son exemple, les autres membres de son peloton chargent et capturent les cinq autres postes de mitrailleuses. Pour ses actions au cours de cette journée, le Caporal Brereton se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria.

Le Caporal Brereton s’éteint à Calgary, en Alberta, le 11 juin 1976.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure au cours d’une attaque, alors qu’une série de mitrailleuses ennemies ouvrent subitement le feu sur son peloton qui se trouve en position exposée et ne peut se mettre à couvert. Ce brave sous-officier évalue tout de suite la situation critique et constate que si rien n’est fait, le peloton sera complètement détruit. De sa propre initiative et sans tarder, il s’élance, seul, et se rend jusqu’à un poste de mitrailleuse; il abat l’un des mitrailleurs, passe à la baïonnette celui qui tentait de tirer avec la mitrailleuse, forçant neuf autres soldats ennemis à se rendre.

Le geste du Cpl Brereton est un merveilleux exemple d’initiative et de bravoure. Non seulement il a sans aucun doute sauvé la vie d’un grand nombre de ses camarades, mais encore il a inspiré son peloton par son exemple, lequel a chargé et capturé les cinq autres postes de mitrailleuses.

(London Gazette, no 30922, le 27 septembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]