Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Hugh Cairns

Hugh Cairns

Hugh Cairns was born in Ashington, England on 4 December 1896, and came with his family to Canada in May 1911. During the First World War, Cairns and his two brothers enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force. For his actions in the attack by the Canadian Corps on Vimy Ridge in April 1917, Cairns received the Distinguished Conduct Medal.

On 1 November 1918, while Sergeant Cairns was serving with the 46th Infantry Battalion near Valenciennes in France, a German machine gun opened fire on his platoon as it advanced. Single-handed, he attacked the enemy position and captured the gun, using a Lewis light machine gun to kill the crew. Later, when progress was blocked again, he charged another group of German positions, killing 12 of the enemy and capturing 18 others along with two machine guns. When further resistance was encountered from enemy machine guns and artillery, Cairns, though wounded, led a successful effort to outflank and eliminate the defenders. Cairns’s small party inflicted many casualties and captured about fifty of the enemy and all of their guns. A subsequent patrol in which he participated forced 60 more enemy soldiers to surrender. It was while disarming this group of prisoners that Cairns was wounded again, this time severely. Although he still managed to open fire and kill many of his assailants, he was overwhelmed by about 20 of the other enemy prisoners and collapsed from weakness and the loss of blood. Cairns died the following day.

Sergeant Cairns received a posthumous Victoria Cross for his exemplary conduct in these actions.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery before Valenciennes on 1st November, 1918, when a machine gun opened on his platoon.  Without a moment’s hesitation Serjt. Cairns seized a Lewis gun and single-handed, in the face of direct fire, rushed the post, killed the crew of five, and captured the gun.  Later, when the line was held up by machine-gun fire, he again rushed forward, killing 12 enemy and capturing 18 and two guns.

Subsequently, when the advance was held up by machine guns and field guns, although wounded, he led a small party to outflank them, killing many, forcing about 50 to surrender, and capturing all the guns.

After consolidation he went with a battle patrol to exploit Marly and forced 60 enemy to surrender.  Whilst disarming this party he was severely wounded.  Nevertheless, he opened fire and inflicted heavy losses.  Finally he was rushed by about 20 enemy and collapsed from weakness and loss of blood.

Throughout the operation he showed the highest degree of valour, and his leadership greatly contributed to the success of the attack.  He died on the 2nd November from wounds.”

(London Gazette, no.31155, 31 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Hugh Cairns

Hugh Cairns

Hugh Cairns naît à Ashington, en Angleterre, le 4 décembre 1896 et vient s'installer au Canada avec sa famille en mai 1911. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, Cairns et ses deux frères s’enrôlent dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC). Pour les exploits qu’il a accomplis lors de l’attaque de la crête de Vimy par le Corps canadien, en avril 1917, le Sergent Cairns reçoit la Médaille de conduite distinguée.

Le 1er novembre 1918, alors que le Sergent Cairns sert dans le 46e Bataillon d’infanterie près de Valenciennes, en France, une mitrailleuse allemande ouvre le feu sur son peloton en train d’avancer. Sans aucune aide, le Sergent Cairns attaque la position ennemie et s’empare de la mitrailleuse en utilisant une mitrailleuse légère Lewis pour tuer les servants. Plus tard, quand la progression est de nouveau arrêtée, il charge un autre groupe de positions allemandes, tuant 12 soldats et en capturant 18 autres, et s’empare de deux mitrailleuses. Les mitrailleuses et l’artillerie ennemies résistant encore, le Sergent Cairns, bien que blessé, réussit à mener une attaque de débordement et élimine les combattants. Le petit détachement de Cairns inflige de nombreuses pertes aux combattants ennemis et en capture une cinquantaine. Il s’empare de plus de toutes leurs mitrailleuses. Lors d'une autre patrouille à laquelle le Sergent Cairns participe par la suite, il force 60 autres soldats ennemis à se rendre. C’est en désarmant ce groupe de prisonniers que le Sergent Cairns est de nouveau blessé, cette fois gravement. Même s’il trouve encore le moyen d’ouvrir le feu et de tuer de nombreux assaillants, il est vaincu par une vingtaine de prisonniers ennemis. Faible et ayant perdu beaucoup de sang, il s’effondre. Il meurt le lendemain.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Sergent Cairns pour sa conduite exemplaire lors de ces engagements.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable près de Valenciennes, le 1er novembre 1918, lorsqu’une mitrailleuse a ouvert le feu sur son peloton. Sans jamais hésiter, le Sgt Cairns s’est emparé d’une mitrailleuse légère Lewis et seul, sous une pluie de tirs directs, il s’élance sur la position ennemie, tue le détachement de cinq soldats et s’empare de la mitrailleuse. Un peu plus tard, quand la progression est à nouveau ralentie par les mitrailleuses, il charge à nouveau, tue 12 ennemis, en capture 18 autres et saisit 2 mitrailleuses.

Plus tard, alors que l’avance est arrêtée par des mitrailleuses et des canons de campagne, il mène une attaque de débordement avec un petit groupe et élimine de nombreux ennemis, bien qu’il soit blessé,; il en force 50 à se rendre et s’empare de toutes les mitrailleuses.

Après la consolidation, il participe à une autre patrouille chargée d’exploiter Marly et force 60 autres soldats ennemis à se rendre. C’est en désarmant ce groupe de prisonniers qu’il est gravement blessé. Il ouvre néanmoins le feu et inflige de lourdes pertes. Finalement, une vingtaine d’ennemis l’assaillent et il s’effondre; il est faible et il a perdu beaucoup de sang.

Tout au long de cette opération, il a fait preuve d’un solide courage, et son leadership a largement contribué au succès de l’attaque. Il est décédé le 2 novembre des suites de ses blessures.

(London Gazette, no 31155, le 31 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]