Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

William Hew Clark-Kennedy

William Hew Clark-Kennedy

William Hew Clark-Kennedy was born in Dunskay, Scotland on 3 March 1880. After service with the British Army in the South African War, he came to Canada in 1902.

Clark-Kennedy joined the Royal Highlanders of Canada in 1914, and during the First World War rose to command the 24th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force. Lieutenant-Colonel Clarke-Kennedy was four times mentioned in dispatches, received the Distinguished Service Order and bar, was made a Companion of the Order of St Michael & St George, and was awarded the Croix de Guerre by France.

Lieutenant-Colonel Clark-Kennedy received the Victoria Cross for his conduct in the Battle of Arras on 27 and 28 August 1918. Over the course of those two days, his battalion suffered numerous casualties near Wancourt in France as it strove to advance through heavy artillery and machine gun fire. In the face of such strong enemy resistance, Clark-Kennedy led his men forward to eliminate machine gun positions preventing the progress of the offensive.

This enabled the entire brigade to reach the Fresnes-Rouvray line. Though wounded, Lieutenant-Colonel Clark-Kennedy remained in command of his battalion until its objective was consolidated.

Clark-Kennedy died in Montreal, Quebec on 25 October 1961.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery, initiative and skilful leading on the 27th and 28th August, 1918, when in command of his battalion.

On the 27th he led his battalion with great bravery and skill from Crow and Aigrette trenches in front of Wancourt to the attack on the Fresnes-Rouvroy line.  From the outset the brigade, of which the 24th Battalion was a central unit, came under very heavy shell and machine-gun fire, suffering many casualties, especially amongst leaders.  Units became partially disorganised and the advance was checked.  Appreciating the vital importance to the brigade front of a lead by the centre, and undismayed by annihilating fire, Lt.-Col. Clark-Kennedy, by sheer personality and initiative, inspired his men and led them forward.  On several occasions he set an outstanding example by leading parties straight at the machine-gun nests which were holding up the advance and overcame these obstacles.

By controlling the direction of neighbouring units and collecting men who had lost their leaders, he rendered valuable services in strengthening the line, and enabled the whole brigade front to move forward.

By the afternoon, very largely due to the determined leadership of this officer and disregard for his own life, his battalion, despite heavy losses, has made good the maze of trenches west of Cherisy and Cherisy Village, had crossed the Sensee Rivert bed, and had occupied Occident Trench in front of the heavy wire of the Fresnes-Rouvroy line; under continuous fire he then went up and down his line until far into the night, improving the position, giving wonderful encouragement to his men, and sent back very clear reports.

On the next day he again showed valorous leadership in the attack on the Fresnes-Rouvroy line and Upton Wood.  Though severely wounded soon after the start he refused aid, and dragged himself to a shell-hole, from which he could observe.  Realising that his exhausted troops could advance no further he established a strong line of defence and thereby prevented the loss of most important ground.  Despite intense pain and serious loss of blood he refused to be evacuated for over five hours, by which time he had established the line in a position from which it was possible for the relieving troops to continue the advance.

It is impossible to overestimate the results achieved by the valour and leadership of this officer.”

(London Gazette, no.31067, 14 December 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

William Hew Clark-Kennedy

William Hew Clark-Kennedy

William Hew Clark-Kennedy naît à Dunskay, en Écosse, le 3 mars 1880. Après avoir servi dans l’armée britannique au cours de la guerre d’Afrique du Sud, il immigre au Canada en 1902. Il s'enrôle dans le Royal Highlanders of Canada en 1914 et, durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il devient commandant du 24e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Le Lieutenant-colonel Clarke-Kennedy a été cité à l’ordre du jour à quatre reprises, a reçu l’Ordre du service distingué avec agrafe, a été fait Compagnon de l’Ordre de Saint-Michel et Saint‑Georges et s'est vu décerner la Croix de Guerre française.

Le Lieutenant-colonel Clark-Kennedy mérite la Croix de Victoria pour sa conduite lors de la bataille d’Arras les 27 et 28 août 1918. Durant ces deux jours, son bataillon subit de lourdes pertes près de Wancourt, en France, alors qu’il tente d’avancer en dépit d’un intense tir d’artillerie et de mitrailleuses. Devant une telle résistance de la part de l’ennemi, le Lieutenant-colonel Clark-Kennedy avance avec ses hommes et élimine les positions de mitrailleuses qui empêchent la progression de l’offensive. Cette action permet à la brigade entière d’atteindre la ligne Fresnes-Rouvray. Même blessé, le Lieutenant-colonel Clark-Kennedy continue à commander son bataillon jusqu’à ce que son objectif soit atteint.

Le Lieutenant-colonel Clark-Kennedy s'éteint à Montréal, au Québec, le 25 octobre 1961.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable, pour son initiative et pour avoir habilement mené le bataillon qu’il commandait, les 27 et 28 août 1918.

Le 27, c’est avec courage et habileté qu’il mène son bataillon entre les tranchées Crow et Aigrette, devant Wancourt, et le lieu de l’offensive, sur la ligne Fresnes-Rouvroy. Dès le début, la brigade, au centre de laquelle se trouve le 24e Bataillon, est la cible d’intenses tirs d’artillerie et de mitrailleuses; les pertes sont nombreuses, surtout parmi les chefs. Les unités sont en partie désorganisées et l’avance est freinée. Reconnaissant à quel point il est important que le front de la brigade soit dirigé par le centre et nullement découragé par les tirs d’anéantissement, le Lcol Clark-Kennedy, grâce à sa personnalité et à son initiative, devient une source d’inspiration pour ses hommes et les fait avancer. À plusieurs reprises, il leur donne un exemple hors du commun en les menant tout droit vers les nids de mitrailleuses qui les empêchent d’avancer et surmonte ces obstacles.

En contrôlant l’orientation des unités avoisinantes et en rassemblant les hommes qui n’ont plus de chef, il s’avère très utile pour le renforcement de la ligne et permet à tout le front de la brigade d’avancer.

Dans l’après-midi, grâce surtout au leadership énergique de cet officier qui fait fi de sa propre vie, son bataillon réussit, en dépit de lourdes pertes, à franchir le labyrinthe de tranchées à l’ouest de Cherisy et du village de Cherisy; il traverse le lit de la rivière Sensée et il occupe la tranchée Occident devant les solides barbelés de la ligne Fresnes-Rouvroy; sous les feux continus, il fait des allers-retours le long de sa ligne jusqu’à tard dans la nuit, améliore la position, encourage merveilleusement bien ses hommes et renvoie des rapports très clairs.

Le jour suivant, il fait à nouveau preuve d’un grand leadership dans l’attaque menée sur la ligne Fresnes-Rouvroy et sur Upton Wood. Quoique gravement blessé peu après le départ, il refuse toute aide et se traîne jusqu’à un trou d’obus d’où il peut observer. Constatant que ses troupes épuisées ne peuvent plus avancer, il établit une solide ligne de défense et empêche ainsi la perte de ce terrain très important. En dépit d’intenses douleurs et d’une abondante perte de sang, il refuse pendant cinq heures d’être évacué; à ce moment, il a établi la ligne dans une position telle que les troupes de relève pourront poursuivre l’avancée.

On ne saurait surestimer les résultats obtenus grâce à la bravoure et au leadership de cet officier.

(London Gazette, no 31067, le 14 décembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]