Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Frederick George Coppins

Frederick George Coppins

Frederick George Coppins was born in London, England, on 25 October 1889 and served with the Royal West Kent Regiment before emigrating to Canada. After serving for a time in the cavalry, he joined the 8th Infantry Battalion, CEF.

Corporal Coppins earned the Victoria Cross on 9 August 1918 while serving with his battalion east of Amiens. When his platoon unexpectedly came under fire from several German machine guns, it was pinned down and unable to advance or retreat. With no cover available, it was imperative that the enemy machine guns be silenced if the platoon was not to be annihilated. On his own initiative, Coppins called on four men to follow him, and together they attacked the enemy positions. The other four men were killed in the charge, and Coppins was wounded. However, he persisted in the assault and, reaching the machine guns alone, killed four enemy soldiers and took four others prisoner.

Coppins died in Livermore, California on 30 March 1963.

Citation

“For conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty when, during an attack, his platoon came unexpectedly under fire of numerous machine guns.  It was not possible to advance or to retire, and no cover was available.  It became apparent that the platoon would be annihilated unless the enemy machine guns were silenced immediately.  Cpl. Coppins, without hesitation, and on his own initiative, called on four men to follow him and leapt forward in the face of intense machine-gun fire.  With his comrades he rushed straight for the machine guns.  The four men with him were killed and Cpl. Coppins wounded.  Despite his wounds he reached the hostile machine guns alone, killed the operator of the first gun and three of the crew, and made prisoners of four others, who surrendered.

Cpl. Coppins, by this act of outstanding valour, was the means of saving many lives of the men of his platoon, and enabled the advance to be continued.

Despite his wound, this gallant N.C.O. continued with his platoon to the final objective, and only left the line when it had been made secure and when ordered to do so.”

(London Gazette, no.30922, 27 September 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Frederick George Coppins

Frederick George Coppins

Frederick George Coppins naît à San Francisco, aux États-Unis, le 25 octobre 1889. Citoyen des États-Unis, pays neutre à l’époque, Coppins affirme être né en Angleterre afin de pouvoir s’enrôler dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC). Après avoir servi quelque temps dans la cavalerie, il s'enrôle dans le 8e Bataillon d’infanterie du CEC.

Le 9 août 1918, le Caporal Coppins mérite la Croix de Victoria, alors qu’il sert avec son bataillon à l’est d’Amiens. Ce jour-là, son peloton, pris de façon inattendue sous le feu de plusieurs mitrailleuses allemandes, est immobilisé et se trouve incapable d’avancer ou de battre en retraite. Puisqu’il est impossible de se mettre à couvert, il est impératif de neutraliser les mitrailleuses ennemies pour éviter l’anéantissement du peloton. De sa propre initiative, le Caporal Coppins demande à quatre hommes de le suivre et, ensemble, ils attaquent les positions ennemies. Ces quatre hommes sont tués au moment de la charge et le Caporal Coppins est blessé. Il poursuit néanmoins l’assaut et, parvenant seul aux mitrailleuses, tue quatre soldats ennemis et en fait quatre autres prisonniers.

Le Caporal Coppins s'éteint à Livermore, en Californie, le 30 mars 1963.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle au moment où, lors d’un assaut, son peloton subit de façon inattendue le feu de nombreuses mitrailleuses. Il est incapable d’avancer ou de retraiter et ne peut se mettre à couvert. Il devient évident que le peloton sera anéanti s’il n’arrive pas à neutraliser immédiatement les mitrailleuses ennemies. Sans hésitation et de sa propre initiative, le Cpl Coppins demande à quatre hommes de le suivre et il se lance à l’assaut, sous les tirs intenses des mitrailleuses. Avec ses camarades, il se dirige tout droit vers les mitrailleuses. Les quatre hommes qui l’accompagnent sont tués et le Cpl Coppins est blessé. En dépit de ses blessures, il parvient seul aux mitrailleuses ennemies, tue celui qui actionne la première pièce d’artillerie, ainsi que trois membres de ce détachement, et il fait prisonniers les quatre autres ennemis qui se sont rendus.

Par sa bravoure hors du commun, le Cpl Coppins a pu sauver la vie de nombreux hommes de son peloton et il a rendu possible la poursuite de l’avancée.

En dépit de sa blessure, ce vaillant sous-officier a poursuivi sa route avec son peloton, jusqu’à l’objectif final. Il n’a quitté sa ligne qu’une fois celle-ci sécurisée, quand il a reçu l’ordre de le faire.

(London Gazette, no 30922, le 27 septembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]