Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

Aubrey Cosens

Aubrey Cosens

Aubrey Cosens was born in Latchford, Ontario on 21 May 1921. During the Second World War he enlisted in the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, but in mid-1944 transferred to the Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada.

Sergeant Cosens was awarded a posthumous Victoria Cross for his bravery and determined leadership in action at Mooshof in Germany on 25 and 26 February 1945. With two tanks in support, Cosens’s platoon twice attacked German strongpoints located in three farm buildings, and was beaten back on both occasions. The platoon was then subjected to a fierce counterattack, during which the platoon commander was killed. Sergeant Cosens assumed command of the platoon, now reduced to himself and four men. As the four other men provided covering fire, he ran across open ground to the remaining serviceable tank and directed its fire on the farm buildings. Having ordered the tank to ram the first building, Cosens entered it alone, killing several of the occupants and making prisoners of the rest. He then continued alone into the second and third buildings, killing or capturing what remained of the enemy. Just after the successful reduction of the strongpoints, Sergeant Cosens was shot through the head by an enemy sniper and killed.

Citation

“In Holland, on the night of 25th/26th February, 1945, the 1st Battalion, The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, launched an attack on the hamlet of Mooshof, to capture ground which was considered essential for the successful development of future operations.

Sergeant Cosens platoon, with two tanks in support, attacked enemy strongpoints in three farm buildings, but were twice beaten back by fanatical enemy resistance and then fiercely counter-attacked, during which time the platoon suffered heavy casualties and the platoon commander was killed.

Sergeant Cosens at once assumed command of the only other four survivors of his platoon, whom he placed in a position to give him covering fire, while he himself ran across open ground under heavy mortar and shell fire to the one remaining tank, where, regardless of danger, he took up an exposed place in front of the turret and directed its fire.

After a further enemy counter-attack had been repulsed, Sergeant Cosens ordered the tank to attack the farm buildings, while the four survivors of his platoon followed in close support.  After the tank had rammed the first building he entered it alone, killing several of the defenders and taking the rest prisoner.

Single-handed he then entered the second and third buildings and personally killed or captured all the occupants, although under intense machine gun and small arms fire.

Just after the successful reduction of these important enemy strongpoints, Sergeant Cosens was shot through the head by an enemy sniper and died almost instantly.

The outstanding gallantry, initiative and determined leadership of this brave N.C.O., who himself killed at least twenty of the enemy and took an equal number of prisoners, resulted in the capture of a position which was vital to the success of the future operations of the Brigade.”

(London Gazette, no.37086, 22 May 1945)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

Aubrey Cosens

Aubrey Cosens

Aubrey Cosens naît à Latchford, en Ontario, le 21 mai 1921. Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle dans les Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders mais, au milieu de 1944, il passe aux Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Sergent Cosens pour sa bravoure et son leadership énergique lors de l’engagement de Mooshof, en Allemagne, les 25 et 26 février 1945. Avec le soutien de deux chars, le peloton du Sergent Cosens attaque deux fois les centres de résistance allemands qui sont établis dans trois bâtiments de ferme, mais il est repoussé à chaque occasion. Le peloton subit alors une violente contre-attaque durant laquelle son commandant est tué. Le Sergent Cosens prend le commandement du peloton, qui ne comprend désormais que quatre hommes et lui-même. Pendant que ces soldats assurent un tir de protection, le Sergent Cosens s’élance en terrain découvert vers le dernier char encore en état de marche et ouvre le feu sur les bâtiments de ferme. Ayant ordonné au char d’enfoncer le premier bâtiment, Cosens y pénètre seul, tue plusieurs de ses occupants et capture les autres combattants. Il attaque ensuite seul le deuxième et le troisième bâtiment, tuant ou capturant ceux qui restent. Tout de suite après la prise des centres de résistance, le Sergent Cosens est tué d'une balle à la tête par un tireur embusqué.

Citation

Aux Pays-Bas, dans la nuit du 25 au 26 février 1945, le 1er Bataillon des Queen's Own Rifles of Canada lance une attaque contre le hameau de Mooshof afin de s’emparer d’un terrain considéré comme essentiel au développement des opérations.

Aidé de deux chars d'assaut, le peloton du Sergent Cosens attaque l'ennemi qui était réfugié dans trois maisons de ferme et il est repoussé deux fois par une défense fanatique de la part de l'ennemi, qui contre-attaque ensuite. Au cours de cette contre-attaque, le commandant du peloton ainsi qu’un grand nombre de ses soldats sont tués.

Le Sergent Cosens assume immédiatement le commandement des quatre survivants de son peloton et, les ayant placés de façon à ce qu'ils le couvrent, il court à travers le champ vers le seul char d'assaut non atteint et, en dépit du tir nourri des obus et des mortiers, il se place debout devant la tourelle et dirige le feu sur l'ennemi.

Après avoir repoussé une deuxième contre-attaque, le Sergent Cosens ordonne au char d'assaut d'attaquer les maisons de ferme et demande à ses quatre hommes qui ont survécu de suivre en renfort. Dès que le char d'assaut a enfoncé la première maison, le Sergent Cosens y entre seul, tuant plusieurs des occupants et faisant les autres prisonniers.

Seul, sans aide, et malgré un feu nourri de mitrailleuses et  d’armes légères, il court ensuite vers les deuxième et troisième maisons, dont il tue ou capture tous les occupants.

Presque immédiatement après cette réduction importante des bastions ennemis, un tireur embusqué tire sur le Sergent Cosens, qui est atteint d'une balle à la tête et meurt presque sur le coup.

Grâce à la bravoure extraordinaire, à l'initiative et à la détermination de cet homme courageux, qui à lui seul a tué au moins 20 hommes et en a fait autant prisonniers, il a été possible de capturer un poste essentiel au succès des opérations futures de la Brigade.

(London Gazette, no 37086, le 22 mai 1945)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]