Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

John Weir Foote

John Weir Foote

John Weir Foote was born in Madoc, Ontario on 5 May 1904. A Presbyterian minister, he joined the Canadian Chaplain Service at the beginning of the Second World War.

On 19 August 1942 Honorary Captain Foote was attached to the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (RHLI), one of the battalions from the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division that participated in the raid on the French port of Dieppe on that day. After landing, Padre Foote assisted the RHLI’s medical officer in caring for the wounded at the regimental aid post. However, he frequently left the relative safety of that location for the open beach where he rendered first aid, and gave injections of morphine to alleviate the suffering of the many wounded who were there. Later, he carried wounded men from the regimental aid post to landing craft waiting to evacuate the survivors of the raiding force. Padre Foote declined the opportunity to embark, preferring to continue to minister to those left behind, and to share their fate as prisoners of war.

At the end of the war, Padre Foote received the Victoria Cross for his conduct at Dieppe, the first ever awarded to a Canadian chaplain. He died in Hamilton, Ontario on 2 May 1988.

Citation

“At Dieppe, on 19th August, 1942, Honorary Captain Foot, Canadian Chaplain Services, was Regimental Chaplain with the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry.

Upon landing on the beach under heavy fire he attached himself to the Regimental Aid Post which had been set up in a slight depression on the beach, but which was only sufficient to give cover to me lying down. During the subsequent period of approximately eight hours, while the action continued, this officer not only assisted the Regimental Medical Officer in ministering to the wounded in the Regimental Aid Post, but time and again left this shelter to inject morphine, give first-aid and carry wounded personnel from the open beach to the Regimental Aid Post. On these occasions, with utter disregard for his personal safety, Honorary Captain Foote exposed himself to an inferno of fire and saved many lives by his gallant efforts. During the action, as the tide went out, the Regimental Aid Post was moved to the shelter of a stranded landing craft. Honorary Captain Foote continued tirelessly and courageously to carry wounded men from the exposed beach to the cover of the landing craft. He also removed wounded from inside the landing craft when ammunition had been set on fire by enemy shells. When landing craft appeared he carried wounded from the Regimental Aid Post to the landing craft through very heavy fire.

On several occasions this officer had the opportunity to embark but returned to the beach as his chief concern was the care and evacuation of the wounded. He refused a final opportunity to leave the shore, choosing to suffer the fate of the men he had ministered to for over three years.

Honorary Captain Foote personally saved many lives by his efforts and his example inspired all around him. Those who observed him state that the calmness of this heroic officer as he walked about, collecting the wounded on the fire-swept beach will never be forgotten.”

(London Gazette, no.37466, 14 February 1946)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

John Weir Foote

John Weir Foote

John Weir Foote naît à Madoc, en Ontario, le 5 mai 1904. Ministre presbytérien, il s'enrôle dans le Service de l’aumônerie canadien au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le 19 août 1942, le Capitaine honoraire Foote est attaché au Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (RHLI), l'un des bataillons de la 2e Division d’infanterie canadienne qui participent au raid contre le port de Dieppe ce jour-là. Après avoir débarqué, l’aumônier Foote aide le médecin militaire du RHLI à soigner les blessés au poste de secours régimentaire. Il quitte souvent la sécurité relative du poste et se rend à la plage où, à découvert, il prodigue les premiers soins aux nombreux blessés et leur administre des injections de morphine pour calmer leurs souffrances. Plus tard, il transporte des blessés du poste de secours régimentaire jusqu'à la péniche de débarquement qui doit servir à évacuer les survivants de la force d’intervention. L’aumônier Foote décline l’offre d’embarquer, préférant continuer à servir ceux qui sont encore là et partager leur sort de prisonniers de guerre.

À la fin de la guerre, l’aumônier Foote reçoit la Croix de Victoria pour sa conduite à Dieppe, la seule à avoir été décernée à un aumônier canadien. Il s'éteint à Hamilton, en Ontario, le 2 mai 1988.

Citation

À Dieppe, le 19 août 1942, le Capitaine honoraire Foote, du Canadian Chaplain Service (services d’aumônerie canadien), était aumônier de régiment auprès du Royal Hamilton Light Infantry.

À son débarquement sur la plage, sous un tir nourri, il rejoint le poste de secours régimentaire qui a été établi dans une petite dépression de la plage, mais qui ne suffit qu'à abriter quelques hommes en position couchée. L'action se poursuit pendant les huit heures suivantes, et cet officier ne se contente pas de seconder l'officier médical du poste de secours en donnant des soins aux blessés. À plusieurs reprises, en effet, il quitte cet abri pour faire des injections de morphine, donner les premiers soins et transporter les blessés étendus sur la plage jusqu'au poste de secours. Pendant ces déplacements, et au mépris absolu de sa propre sécurité, il s'expose à l'enfer du feu ennemi et sauve de nombreuses vies grâce à ses courageux efforts. Dans le feu de l'action, à la marée descendante, le poste de secours est déplacé à l'abri d'une péniche de débarquement échouée. Le Capitaine honoraire Foote transporte sans relâche et courageusement les blessés de la plage découverte vers la péniche de débarquement. Il en sort également des soldats blessés lorsque des obus ennemis mettent le feu à leurs munitions. Lorsqu'une péniche de débarquement fait son apparition, il y transporte les blessés du poste de secours sous des tirs très nourris.

À plusieurs occasions, cet officier a l'occasion de monter à bord, mais il retourne plutôt à la plage, sa principale préoccupation étant les soins à apporter aux blessés et leur évacuation. Il refuse une dernière chance de s'embarquer, choisissant plutôt de subir le sort des hommes dont il s'occupe depuis plus de trois ans.

Le Capitaine honoraire Foote a sauvé de nombreuses vies grâce à ses efforts, et son exemple a été une inspiration pour ses compagnons. Ceux qui l'ont observé affirment qu'ils n'oublieront jamais cet officier héroïque transportant calmement les blessés étendus sur la plage, sous une pluie de balles.

(London Gazette, no 37466, le 14 février 1946)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]