Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Herman James Good

Herman James Good

Herman James Good was born in South Bathurst, New Brunswick on 29 November 1887. During the First World War he served in France with the 13th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force.

On 8 August 1918, the opening day of the attack by the Canadian Corps at Amiens, the advance of Corporal Good’s company was checked by fire from three German machine guns emplaced in Hangard Wood, near Villers-Bretonneux. Good charged the position alone, killing several of the enemy and making prisoners of the remaining defenders. Later that day, when the advance had penetrated deep into the German lines, he came upon an enemy battery of 5.9-inch guns, which was in action. Collecting three men from his section, Good assaulted the battery in the face of point-blank fire and captured the crews of all three guns.

Corporal Good’s actions on this occasion earned him the Victoria Cross. He died in Bathurst, New Brunswick on 18 April 1969.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and leading when in attack his company was held up by heavy fire from three machine guns, which were seriously delaying the advance. Realising the gravity of the situation, this N.C.O. dashed forward alone, killing several of the garrison and capturing the remainder.

Later on Cpl. Good, while alone, encountered a battery of 5.9-inch guns, which were in action at the time. Collecting three men of his section, he charged the battery under point-blank fire and captured the entire crews of three guns.”

(London Gazette, no.30922, 27 September 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Herman James Good

Herman James Good

Herman James Good naît à South Bathurst, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 29 novembre 1887. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il sert en France, dans le 13e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le 8 août 1918, premier jour de l’attaque du Corps canadien à Amiens, l’avance de la compagnie du Caporal Good est arrêtée par le tir de trois mitrailleuses allemandes en position dans le bois de Hangard, près de Villers-Bretonneux. Le Caporal Good attaque seul la position, tue plusieurs soldats ennemis et capture les autres combattants. Plus tard ce jour-là, une fois que la compagnie se trouve profondément à l’intérieur des lignes allemandes, le Caporal Good tombe sur une batterie ennemie de canons de 5,9 pouces en action. Il choisit trois hommes de sa section et attaque la batterie malgré des tirs à bout portant. Il capture les détachements des trois canons.

Les exploits accomplis par le Caporal Good à cette occasion lui valent la Croix de Victoria. Il s'éteint à Bathurst, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 18 avril 1969.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable au cours d’une attaque, alors que sa compagnie est retenue par les tirs nourris de trois mitrailleuses qui retardent énormément l’avance. Constatant la gravité de la situation, ce sous-officier fonce seul, tuant plusieurs membres de la garnison et capturant les autres.

Plus tard, alors qu’il est seul, le Cpl Good, tombe sur une batterie de mitrailleuses de 5,9 pouces en action. Il choisit trois hommes de sa section et attaque la batterie, malgré des tirs à bout portant, et capture les détachements des trois mitrailleuses.

(London Gazette, no 30922, le 27 septembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]