Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

Robert Hampton Gray

Robert Hampton Gray

Robert Hampton Gray was born in Trail, British Columbia on 2 November 1917. Joining the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve in July 1940, he was assigned to the Royal Navy’s Fleet Air Arm in which he trained as a fighter pilot and remained for the rest of the Second World War. Gray served in Britain, East Africa and finally with the British Pacific Fleet which, in the final weeks of the war, was operating against the Japanese home islands with the United States Navy’s Third Fleet. He received the Distinguished Service Cross for sinking a Japanese destroyer on 28 July 1945.

Lieutenant Gray was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously for his actions on 9 August 1945. On that day, he led eight Corsair fighters from HMS Formidable on a mission to bomb enemy shipping in Onagawa Wan; each aircraft carried two 500-pound bombs. As Gray commenced his attack, he met very heavy anti-aircraft fire and his fighter was hit almost immediately, which dislodged one of his bombs and caused the aircraft to catch fire. Despite the damage, Lieutenant Gray pressed home his attack with great determination, and scored a direct hit with his remaining bomb on the Japanese escort vessel Amakusa, which subsequently sank. Instead of taking evasive action to avoid enemy fire, his aircraft then turned slowly to starboard, rolled onto its back and dived into the bay, leading to speculation that Gray may have been wounded during his run in to the target. He did not survive.

Citation

“…for great valour in leading an attack on a Japanese destroyer in Onagawa Wan on 9th August, 1945. In the face of fire from shore batteries and a heavy concentration of fire from some five warships Lieutenant Gray pressed home his attack, flying very low in order to ensure success, and, although he was hit and his aircraft was in flames, he obtained at least one direct hit, sinking the destroyer. Lieutenant Gray has consistently shown a brilliant fighting spirit and most inspiring leadership.”

(London Gazette, no.37346, 13 November 1945)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

Robert Hampton Gray

Robert Hampton Gray

Robert Hampton Gray naît à Trail, en Colombie-Britannique, le 2 novembre 1917. S’étant enrôlé dans la Réserve des volontaires de la Marine royale canadienne en juillet 1940, il est affecté à l’aéronavale de la Royal Navy, où il reçoit une instruction de pilote de chasse et où il passe le reste de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le Lieutenant Gray sert en Grande-Bretagne, en Afrique orientale et, finalement, avec la flotte britannique du Pacifique. Au cours des dernières semaines de la guerre, il mène des opérations contre les îles du Japon avec la troisième flotte de la Marine américaine. Il reçoit la Croix du service distingué pour avoir coulé un destroyer japonais le 28 juillet 1945.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Lieutenant Gray pour les exploits accomplis le 9 août 1945. Ce jour-là, il est à la tête de huit chasseurs Corsair du HMS Formidable en mission de bombardement d’un convoi ennemi à Onagawa Wan; chaque avion transporte deux bombes de 500 livres. Quand le Lieutenant Gray amorce son attaque, il fait face à un tir antiaérien nourri qui atteint son chasseur presque immédiatement. L'une des bombes est délogée, ce qui provoque un incendie. Malgré les dégâts, le Lieutenant Gray mène son attaque avec une grande détermination et atteint directement le navire d’escorte japonais Amakusa, qui coule. Au lieu d'effectuer des manœuvres d’évitement du feu ennemi, son appareil tourne alors lentement à droite, se retourne et plonge dans la baie, ce qui donne à penser que le Lieutenant Gray a peut-être été blessé durant sa ruée vers la cible. Il n’a pas survécu à la chute de son appareil.

Citation

Pour sa bravoure exceptionnelle alors qu'il dirige une attaque contre un destroyer japonais à Onagawa Wan, le 9 août 1945. En dépit du feu d'artillerie provenant des forces riveraines et d’une forte concentration de tirs provenant de quelque cinq navires de guerre, le Lieutenant Gray mène son attaque, volant à très basse altitude pour assurer le succès de sa mission, et bien qu’il soit atteint et que son avion soit en flammes, il touche sa cible au moins une fois et coule le destroyer. Le Lieutenant Gray a toujours fait preuve d’un esprit combatif et d’un leadership qui inspire.

(London Gazette, no 37346, le 13 novembre 1945)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]