Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Milton Fowler Gregg

Milton Fowler Gregg

Milton Fowler Gregg was born in Mountain Dale, New Brunswick on 10 April 1892. In September 1914, he enlisted in the 13th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force. Gregg eventually received a commission in the field as an officer, and was decorated with the Military Cross and later a Bar to that medal for his conduct in action at Lens and Arras in France in 1917 and 1918 respectively.

Lieutenant Gregg earned the Victoria Cross for his actions from 27 September to 1 October 1918 while serving with The Royal Canadian Regiment near Cambrai in France. Gregg led his men in an advance under intense fire through uncut enemy barbed wire. When the Germans mounted a strong counterattack and his supply of grenades was exhausted, Lieutenant Gregg secured more grenades and rejoined his men. Despite suffering two wounds, he continued to lead his men against the enemy trenches, which they cleared.

Gregg died in Fredericton, New Brunswick on 13 March 1978.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and initiative during operations near Cambrai, 27th September to 1st October, 1918.

On 28th September, when the advance of the brigade was held up by fire from both flanks and by thick, uncut wire, he crawled forward alone and explored the wire until he found a small gap, through which he subsequently led his men, and forced an entry into the enemy trench. The enemy counter-attacked in force, and, through lack of bombs, the situation became critical. Although wounded, Lt. Gregg returned alone under terrific fire and collected a further supply. Then rejoining his party, which by this time was much reduced in numbers, and, in spite of a second wound, he reorganised his men and led them with the greatest determination against the enemy trenches, which he finally cleared.

He personally killed or wounded 11 of the enemy and took 25 prisoners, in addition to 12 machine guns captured in this trench. Remaining with his company in spite of wounds, he again on the 30th September led his men in attack until severely wounded. The outstanding valour of this officer saved many casualties and enabled the advance to continue.”

(London Gazette, no.31108, 6 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Milton Fowler Gregg

Milton Fowler Gregg

Milton Fowler Gregg naît à Mountain Dale, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 10 avril 1892. En septembre 1914, il s’enrôle dans le 13e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Gregg reçoit finalement sa commission d'officier sur le champ de bataille. Il se voit décerner la Croix militaire, à laquelle une agrafe est ajoutée plus tard pour ses faits d'armes à Lens et à Arras, en France, en 1917 et en 1918 respectivement.

Le Lieutenant Gregg a mérité la Croix de Victoria pour les exploits accomplis du 27 septembre au 1er octobre 1918. Il sert alors dans le Royal Canadian Regiment près de Cambrai, en France. Le Lieutenant Gregg dirige ses hommes au cours d'une avance lorsqu’ils franchissent des barbelés ennemis encore intacts sous un tir nourri. Quand les Allemands organisent une puissante contre-attaque et que les grenades viennent à manquer, le Lieutenant Gregg va en chercher d’autres et revient vers ses hommes. Malgré deux blessures, il continue à commander ses hommes et réussit à dégager les tranchées ennemies.

Le Lieutenant Gregg s'éteint à Fredericton, au Nouveau‑Brunswick, le 13 mars 1978.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son sens de l’initiative dans le cadre des opérations près de Cambrai, entre le 27 septembre et le 1er octobre 1918.

Le 28 septembre, alors que la progression de la brigade est freinée par des tirs provenant des deux flancs et par de solides barbelés encore intacts, il avance, seul, en rampant et examine les barbelés jusqu’à ce qu’il y repère un trou par lequel il fera subséquemment entrer ses hommes, avant de s’imposer dans les tranchées ennemies. L’ennemi organise une puissante contre-attaque et quand les grenades viennent à manquer, la situation devient critique. En dépit de ses blessures, le Lt Gregg revient sur ses pas, seul et sous une pluie de tirs intenses, pour aller chercher d’autres grenades. Il rejoint ensuite son groupe, dont le nombre a sensiblement diminué, et en dépit d’une seconde blessure, il réorganise ses hommes et les fait pénétrer avec grande détermination dans les tranchées ennemies, qu’il réussit finalement à nettoyer.

Il tue personnellement 11 ennemis et en fait 25 prisonniers, puis il s’empare de 12 mitrailleuses dans la tranchée. Ses blessures ne l’empêchent pas de rester avec sa compagnie et, le 30 septembre, il mène une nouvelle attaque, avec ses hommes, jusqu’à ce que de graves blessures ne l’arrêtent. Le courage exceptionnel de cet officier a épargné de nombreuses vies et permis de poursuivre l’avancée.

(London Gazette, no 31108, le 6 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]