Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Robert Hanna

Robert Hanna

Robert Hanna was born in Kilkeel, Ireland on 6 August 1886, and came to Canada in 1905. He joined the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War, and by the summer of 1917 was a Company Sergeant-Major (CSM) serving with the 29th Infantry Battalion.

On 21 August 1917 CSM Hanna’s company was attempting to overpower a German strongpoint on Hill 70, near Lens in France. In the course of three assaults on the enemy position, the company had suffered several casualties, including the loss of all of its officers. While his company continued to take casualties from the heavy machine gun fire coming from the strongpoint, Hanna calmly collected a party of men and led them in a fourth attack, rushing through the dense barbed wire protecting the position. When he arrived inside the strongpoint, CSM Hanna bayoneted three of the enemy and clubbed a fourth with his rifle, enabling the position and its machine gun to be captured.

For the bravery and leadership he demonstrated in this action, Hanna received the Victoria Cross. He died in Mount Lehman, British Columbia on 15 June 1967.


“For most conspicuous bravery in attack, when his company met with most severe enemy resistance and all the company officers became casualties. A strong point, heavily protected by wire and held by a machine gun, had beaten off three assaults of the company with heavy casualties. This Warrant Officer under heavy machine gun and rifle fire, coolly collected a party of men, and leading them against this strong point, rushed through the wire and personally bayonetted three of the enemy and brained the fourth, capturing the position and silencing the machine gun.

This most courageous action, displayed courage and personal bravery of the highest order at this most critical moment of the attack, was responsible for the capture of a most important tactical point, and but for his daring action and determined handling of a desperate situation the attack would not have succeeded.

C.S./M. Hanna’s outstanding gallantry, personal courage and determined leading of his company is deserving of the highest possible reward.”

(London Gazette, no.30372, 8 November 1917)


[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Robert Hanna

Robert Hanna

Robert Hanna naît à Kilkeel, en Irlande, le 6 août 1886 et immigre au Canada en 1905. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il s'enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien et, à l’été 1917, il est sergent-major de compagnie (SMC) au sein du 29e Bataillon d’infanterie.

Le 21 août 1917, la compagnie du SMC Hanna tente de maîtriser un emplacement fortifié allemand sur la côte 70, près de Lens, en France. Au cours de trois assauts contre la position ennemie, la compagnie subit de lourdes pertes, parmi lesquelles se trouvent tous ses officiers. Alors que l’ennemi continue à infliger des pertes à sa compagnie au moyen d'un intense tir de mitrailleuse depuis la fortification, le SMC Hanna rassemble calmement un groupe de soldats avec lesquels il lance une quatrième attaque, fonçant contre les épais barbelés qui protègent la position. Lorsqu’il atteint l'emplacement fortifié, le SMC Hanna passe trois ennemis à la baïonnette et en assomme un quatrième avec la crosse de son fusil, s'emparant ainsi de la position et de la mitrailleuse.

Le SMC Hanna reçoit la Croix de Victoria pour la bravoure et le leadership dont il a fait preuve au cours de cette action. Il s'éteint à Mount Lehman, en Colombie-Britannique, le 15 juin 1967.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable pendant une attaque, alors que sa compagnie se heurte à une très forte résistance de l’ennemi et que la compagnie subit la perte de tous ses officiers. Un emplacement fortifié, très bien protégé par des barbelés et couvert par une mitrailleuse, a repoussé les trois assauts de la compagnie et lui a infligé de lourdes pertes. Sous les feux de la mitrailleuse et des fusils, cet adjudant rassemble calmement un groupe de soldats et le conduit vers cette fortification, fonçant contre les barbelés; il passe personnellement trois ennemis à la baïonnette et assomme le quatrième, capturant du même coup la position et la mitrailleuse.

C’est à ce geste très courageux, ainsi qu’à la vaillance et au courage personnel déployés au moment le plus critique de l’attaque qu’il faut attribuer la capture de ce très important point tactique, qui, n’eût été de ce geste audacieux, accompli avec détermination dans une situation désespérée, aurait échoué.

La bravoure exceptionnelle, le courage personnel et la détermination du SMC Hanna, à la tête de sa compagnie, méritent la plus haute récompense.

(London Gazette, no 30372, le 8 novembre 1917)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]