Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Frederick Hobson

Frederick Hobson

Frederick Hobson was born in London, England on 23 September 1873. After seeing action with the British Army during the South African War (1899-1902), he came to Canada and settled in Galt (now Cambridge), Ontario. Being 41 years old when he went to the recruiting office shortly after the First World War began, Hobson gave his year of birth as 1875 so that he would be allowed to enlist in the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

On 18 August 1917 Sergeant Hobson was serving with the 20th Infantry Battalion on Hill 70, near Lens in France. During a German counterattack on the Canadian lines, a Lewis light machine gun in a forward position was buried by a shell explosion that killed all but one of the its crew. Hobson hurried to the site, dug out the Lewis gun, and got it back into action against the attacking enemy soldiers. When the gun jammed, Sergeant Hobson, though wounded, left the gunner to clear the stoppage and advanced alone to confront the Germans. Using his bayonet and rifle butt, he held them at bay until he was killed by a rifle shot. By that time the Lewis gun was again firing, and shortly after reinforcements arrived to defeat the counterattack.

For these actions Sergeant Hobson was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously.

Citation

During a strong enemy counter-attack a Lewis gun in a forward post in a communication trench leading to the enemy lines, was buried by a shell, and the crew, with the exception of one man, killed.

Sjt. Hobson, though not a gunner, grasping the great importance of the post, rushed from his trench, dug out the gun, and got it into action against the enemy who were now advancing down the trench and across the open.

A jam caused the gun to stop firing. Though wounded, he left the gunner to correct the stoppage, rushed forward at the advancing enemy and, with bayonet and clubbed rifle, single handed, held them back until he himself was killed by a rifle shot. By this time however, the Lewis gun was again in action and reinforcements shortly afterwards arriving, the enemy were beaten off.

The valour and devotion to duty displayed by this non-commissioned Officer gave the gunner the time required to again get the gun into action, and saved a most serious situation.”

(London Gazette, no.30338, 17 October 1917)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Frederick Hobson

Frederick Hobson

Frederick Hobson naît à Londres, en Angleterre le 23 septembre 1873. Après avoir combattu avec l’armée britannique durant la guerre d’Afrique du Sud (1899-1902), il immigre au Canada et s’installe à Galt (maintenant Cambridge), en Ontario. Comme il est âgé de 41 ans quand il se présente au bureau de recrutement, peu après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il déclare être né en 1875 pour pouvoir s’enrôler dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le 18 août 1917, le Sergent Hobson sert dans le 20e Bataillon d’infanterie sur la côte 70, près de Lens, en France. Durant la contre-attaque allemande sur les lignes canadiennes, une mitrailleuse légère Lewis est ensevelie par l’explosion d’un obus qui tue tous les membres de son détachement, sauf un. Le Sergent Hobson se précipite, déterre la mitrailleuse Lewis et la remet en action pour contrer l’attaque des soldats ennemis. Quand la mitrailleuse s’enraye, le Sergent Hobson, malgré ses blessures, laisse au mitrailleur le soin de débloquer l’arme et s’avance seul pour affronter les Allemands. À l’aide de sa baïonnette et de la crosse de son fusil, il les tient à distance jusqu’à ce qu’il soit tué par un tir de fusil. Entre-temps, la mitrailleuse Lewis s'est remise à fonctionner et, peu après, des renforts arrivent et repoussent la contre-attaque.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Sergent Hobson pour ses faits d'armes.

Citation

Lors d'une violente contre-attaque allemande, une mitrailleuse légère Lewis, qui se trouvait dans une tranchée de communication conduisant aux lignes ennemies, est ensevelie par l’explosion d’un obus et tout le détachement de la mitrailleuse, à l'exception d'un homme, est tué.

Saisissant l'importance de ce poste avancé bien qu’il ne soit pas artilleur, le Sergent Hobson sort précipitamment de sa tranchée, déterre la mitrailleuse et la remet en action pour contrer l'ennemi qui avance aussi bien dans la tranchée qu'à découvert.

Quand la mitrailleuse s'enraye, le Sergent Hobson laisse à l'artilleur le soin de régler le problème et s’avance seul vers l’ennemi, malgré ses blessures. Avec sa baïonnette et la crosse de son fusil, il parvient à tenir les attaquants à distance jusqu'à ce qu'il soit tué par une balle de fusil. Entre‑temps, la mitrailleuse a été remise en marche et, peu après, l'arrivée de renforts permet de repousser l'ennemi.

Grâce au courage et au sens du devoir de ce sous-officier, l'artilleur a eu le temps de remettre en marche sa mitrailleuse, ce qui a permis à nos troupes de se tirer d'un fort mauvais pas.

(London Gazette, no 30338, le 17 octobre 1917)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]