Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Samuel Lewis Honey

Samuel Lewis Honey

Samuel Lewis Honey was born in Conn, Ontario on 9 February 1894. Late in January 1915 he enlisted as a private soldier in the Canadian Expeditionary Force. Honey received the Military Medal early in 1917, and then the Distinguished Conduct Medal for his actions in the attack on Vimy Ridge by the Canadian Corps in April of the same year. He was subsequently commissioned as an officer and served with the 78th Infantry Battalion.

Lieutenant Honey was awarded the Victoria Cross for his exemplary conduct during offensive operations at Bourlon Wood in France from 27 to 30 September 1918. Taking command of his company after all the other officers had become casualties, he skilfully reorganized the advance while under heavy German fire and gained his objective. When his company began to suffer casualties from enfilading machine gun fire, Honey located the guns and, alone, attacked them and took ten of the enemy prisoner. Honey and his company consolidated the position they had captured, and subsequently repelled four German counterattacks. Later, after making a solitary reconnaissance at night to find an enemy post, he returned with a party of his men and captured it. 29 September again found him leading his company against a strong German position. Lieutenant Honey died on 30 September of wounds suffered on that day.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery during the Bourlon Wood operations, 27th September to 2nd October, 1918.

On 27th September, when his company commander and all other officers of his company had become casualties, Lt. Honey took command and skilfully reorganised under very severe fire. He continued the advance with great dash and gained the objective. Then finding that his company was suffering casualties from enfilade machine-gun fire he located the machine-gun nest and rushed it single-handed, capturing the guns and ten prisoners.

Subsequently he repelled four enemy counter-attacks and after dark again went out alone, and having located an enemy post, led a party which captured the post and three guns.

On the 29th September he led his company against a strong enemy position with great skill and daring and continued in the succeeding days of the battle to display the same high example of valour and self-sacrifice. He died of wounds received during the last day of the attack by his battalion.”

(London Gazette, no.31108, 6 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Samuel Lewis Honey

Samuel Lewis Honey

Samuel Lewis Honey naît à Conn, en Ontario, le 9 février 1894. À la fin de janvier 1915, il s’enrôle comme soldat dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Le Soldat Honey reçoit la Médaille militaire au début de 1917, puis la Médaille de conduite distinguée pour ses faits d'armes lors de l’attaque de la crête de Vimy par le Corps canadien en avril de la même année. Par la suite, il obtient sa commission d'officier et sert dans le 78e Bataillon d’infanterie.

Le Lieutenant Honey s'est vu décerner la Croix de Victoria pour sa conduite exemplaire durant l’offensive du bois de Bourlon, en France, du 27 au 30 septembre 1918. Prenant le commandement de sa compagnie après la mise hors de combat des autres officiers, il réorganise intelligemment l’avance sous un feu allemand intense et s’empare de son objectif. Lorsque sa compagnie commence à subir des pertes en raison d’un tir d’enfilade de mitrailleuses, le Lieutenant Honey repère les armes puis, seul, les attaque et fait 10 prisonniers. Sa compagnie et lui renforcent la position prise, puis repoussent quatre contre-attaques allemandes. Plus tard, après une reconnaissance de nuit en solitaire pour trouver un poste ennemi, il retourne à cet endroit avec un détachement de ses hommes et s’en empare. Le 29 septembre, il commande de nouveau sa compagnie lors d'une opération contre une solide position allemande. Le Lieutenant Honey succombe le 30 septembre aux blessures reçues ce jour-là.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable au cours de l’offensive du bois de Bourlon, du 27 septembre au 2 octobre 1918.

Le 27 septembre, alors que le commandant et tous les autres officiers de sa compagnie sont mis hors de combat, le Lt Honey prend le commandement et réorganise habilement l’avance, sous un feu très intense. Il poursuit rapidement l’avance et s’empare de l’objectif. Puis, constatant que sa compagnie subissait des pertes en raison d’un tir d’enfilade de mitrailleuses, il repère le nid de mitrailleuses, s’élance, seul, dans sa direction, s’empare des mitrailleuses et fait 10 prisonniers.

Plus tard, il repousse quatre contre-attaques ennemies et, une fois la nuit tombée, il sort de nouveau en solitaire. Ayant repéré un poste ennemi, il y conduit un détachement, qui s’empare du poste et de trois mitrailleuses.

Le 29 septembre, il conduit à nouveau sa compagnie contre une forte position ennemie, avec une grande habileté et beaucoup d’audace, et il continue, dans les jours qui suivent, à afficher le même bel exemple de bravoure et d’abnégation de soi. Il meurt des blessures qui lui ont été infligées la dernière journée de l’attaque menée par son bataillon..

(London Gazette, no 31108, le 6 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]