Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Bellenden Seymour Hutcheson

Bellenden Seymour Hutcheson

Bellenden Seymour Hutcheson was born in the United States at Mount Carmel on 16 December 1883. A graduate of the Northwestern University Medical School, Dr Hutcheson practised for several years in the American West. After the First World War began, he joined the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and was attached to the 75th Infantry Battalion as its medical officer.

On 2 September 1918 Captain Hutcheson was treating wounded soldiers under intense shelling and small arms fire in the Drocourt-Quéant line near Cagnicourt in France. After ensuring that all of the wounded men had received care, he attended to a seriously wounded officer and evacuated him to safety. Shortly after, he spotted a wounded sergeant in front of the Canadian lines and rushed forward in full view of the enemy to tend to his injuries.

For his devotion to duty on this occasion, Captain Hutcheson was awarded the Victoria Cross. For his conduct in another action, he also received the Military Cross. Dr Hutcheson died in Cairo, Illinois on 9 April 1954.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty on September 2nd, when under most intense shell, machine-gun and rifle fire, he went through the Quéant-Drocourt Support Line with the battalion. Without hesitation and with utter disregard of personal safety he remained on the field until every wounded man had been attended to. He dressed the wounds of a seriously wounded officer under terrific machine-gun and shell fire, and, with the assistance of prisoners and of his own men, succeeded in evacuating him to safety, despite the fact that the bearer party suffered heavy casualties.

Immediately afterwards he rushed forward, in full view of the enemy, under heavy machine-gun and rifle fire, to tend a wounded serjeant, and, having placed him in a shell-hole, dressed his wounds. Captain Hutcheson performed many similar gallant acts, and, by his coolness and devotion to duty, many lives were saved.”

(London Gazette, no.31067, 14 December 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Bellenden Seymour Hutcheson

Bellenden Seymour Hutcheson

Bellenden Seymour Hutcheson naît à Mount Carmel, aux États-Unis, le 16 décembre 1883. Diplômé de l’École de médecine de l’Université Northwestern, le Dr Hutcheson exerce durant plusieurs années dans l’Ouest américain. Après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s'enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien et est affecté au 75e Bataillon d’infanterie en qualité de médecin militaire.

Le 2 septembre 1918, le Capitaine Hutcheson soigne des soldats blessés sous un bombardement et un tir d’armes légères intenses sur la ligne Drocourt-Quéant, près de Cagnicourt, en France. Après s’être assuré que tous les blessés ont reçu des soins, il s’occupe d’un officier grièvement blessé et l’évacue en lieu sûr. Peu après, il repère un sergent blessé devant les lignes canadiennes et s’élance vers lui complètement à découvert afin de soigner ses blessures.

Pour son dévouement à cette occasion, le Capitaine Hutcheson se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria. Il reçoit aussi la Croix militaire pour sa conduite lors d’un autre engagement. Le Dr Hutcheson s'éteint à Cairo, en Illinois, le 9 août 1954.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle, le 2 septembre, alors que sous une pluie de projectiles et de tirs de mitrailleuses et d’armes légères, il traverse la ligne de soutien Quéant-Drocourt avec son bataillon. Sans hésitation et au mépris total de sa propre sécurité, il reste sur le champ jusqu’à ce que tous les soldats blessés aient reçu des soins. Il panse les blessures d’un officier grièvement blessé, sous les tirs intenses des mitrailleuses et des projectiles et, avec l’aide de prisonniers et de ses propres hommes, il réussit à l’évacuer en lieu sûr, même si les brancardiers subissent de lourdes blessures.

Immédiatement après, il s’élance à nouveau, complètement à découvert et sous les tirs intenses de mitrailleuses et de fusils, pour s’occuper d’un sergent blessé. Après l’avoir installé dans un trou d’obus, il panse ses blessures. Le Capitaine Hutcheson a accompli de nombreux actes de bravoure semblables et beaucoup de vies ont été sauvées grâce à son sang-froid et à son zèle.

(London Gazette, no 31067, le 14 décembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]