Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Joseph Thomas Kaeble

Joseph Thomas Kaeble

Joseph Thomas Kaeble was born in St-Moïse, Quebec on 5 May 1893. Before he enlisted in the 22nd Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War, he earned his living as a mechanic.

Corporal Kaeble was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously for demonstrating singular bravery on 8 and 9 June 1918. He was in charge of a machine gun section in the Canadian line near Neuville-Vitasse, near Arras in France, when an intense bombardment fell on the trenches heralding a strong enemy raid. By the time the shells stopped falling, all of his section but one were casualties. Seeing some fifty Germans advancing toward his position, Kaeble jumped over the parapet of his trench firing a Lewis machine gun at the approaching enemy. Although repeatedly struck, Corporal Kaeble continued to empty one magazine after another into the attackers until he fell back into the trench mortally wounded, dying shortly afterward. The repulse of the enemy raid at this point was due to his courage.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and extraordinary devotion to duty when in charge of a Lewis gun section in the front line trenches, on which a strong enemy raid was attempted.

During an intense bombardment Cpl. Kaeble remained at the parapet with his Lewis gun shouldered ready for action, the field of fire being very short. As soon as the barrage lifted from the front line, about fifty of the enemy advanced towards his post. By this time the whole of his section except one had become casualties. Cpl. Kaeble jumped over the parapet, and holding his Lewis gun at the hip, emptied one magazine after another into the advancing enemy, and, although wounded several times by fragments of shells and bombs, he continued to fire, and entirely blocked the enemy by his determined stand. Finally, firing all the time, he fell backwards into the trench, mortally wounded. While lying on his back in the trench he fired his last cartridges over the parapet at the retreating Germans, and before losing consciousness shouted to the wounded about him: ‘Keep it up boys; do not let them get through! We must stop them!” The complete repulse of the enemy attack at this point was due to the remarkable personal bravery and self-sacrifice of this gallant non-commissioned officer, who died of his wounds shortly afterwards.”

(London Gazette, no.30903, 16 September 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Joseph Thomas Kaeble

Joseph Thomas Kaeble

Joseph Thomas Kaeble naît à Saint-Moïse, au Québec, le 5 mai 1893. Avant de s’enrôler dans le 22e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il gagne sa vie comme mécanicien.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée au Caporal Kaeble à titre posthume pour la bravoure exceptionnelle dont il a fait preuve les 8 et 9 juin 1918. Alors qu'il est responsable d’une section de mitrailleuses sur la ligne canadienne près de Neuville-Vitasse, près d’Arras, en France, un bombardement intense s’abat sur les tranchées, annonçant un raid ennemi d’envergure. Quand le bombardement cesse, toute la section du Caporal Kaeble est hors de combat, sauf lui. Lorsqu’il aperçoit 50 Allemands qui s’avancent vers sa position, le Caporal Kaeble saute par-dessus le parapet de sa tranchée en faisant feu avec une mitrailleuse Lewis en direction de l’ennemi qui approche. Bien que touché à plusieurs reprises, il continue à vider un chargeur après l’autre sur les attaquants jusqu’à ce qu’il tombe dans la tranchée, mortellement blessé. Il meurt peu après. C'est grâce à son courage que ce raid ennemi a connu un échec.

Citation

Pour sa bravoure exceptionnelle et son zèle hors du commun durant un raid ennemi, alors qu'il était responsable d'une section de mitrailleuses Lewis dans la première ligne de tranchées.

Pendant un bombardement intense, le champ de tir étant très court, le Caporal Kaeble reste à son poste, sa mitrailleuse à l’épaule, prêt à engager le feu. Dès que le tir de barrage cesse, une cinquantaine de soldats allemands avancent vers son poste. Déjà, toute la section du Caporal Kaeble est hors de combat. Le Caporal s'élance au-dessus du parapet et, tenant sa mitrailleuse à la hanche, il vide les chargeurs l'un après l'autre sur l'ennemi. En dépit de plusieurs blessures causées par des fragments d'obus ou de bombes, il continue à tirer. Sa détermination lui permet de stopper complètement l'avance de l'ennemi. Enfin, tout en continuant à tirer, il tombe à la renverse dans la tranchée, mortellement blessé. Couché sur le dos dans la tranchée, il tire ses dernières cartouches au‑dessus du parapet, sur les Allemands en fuite. Avant de s’évanouir, il crie aux blessés autour de lui : « Tenez bon, les gars! Ne les laissez pas passer! Il faut les arrêter! » L’échec total de l’attaque ennemie à cet endroit est attribuable au courage personnel et à l’abnégation de cet intrépide sous-officier, qui succombe à ses blessures peu de temps après.

(London Gazette, no 30903, le 16 septembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]