Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

George Fraser Kerr

George Fraser Kerr

George Fraser Kerr was born in Deseronto, Ontario on 8 June 1894. Shortly after the First World War began, he enlisted as a private soldier in the 3rd Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force. Eventually commissioned as an officer, Kerr was twice wounded in action, and received the Military Medal and the Military Cross and Bar.

On 27 September 1918 Lieutenant Kerr was in command of the support company on the left flank of his battalion advancing through Bourlon Wood, near Cambrai in France. When a German machine gun blocked the way forward, Kerr handled his company with great skill by outflanking the enemy position without delay. Later in the day, his company’s progress was again checked near the Arras-Cambrai road. Alone and in advance of his company, Kerr attacked the German strongpoint, capturing four machine guns and 31 prisoners.

For his courage and leadership on this occasion, Lieutenant Kerr was awarded the Victoria Cross. He died in Toronto, Ontario on 8 December 1929.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and leadership during the Bourlon Wood operations on 27th September, 1918, when in command of the left support company in attack.

He handled his company with great skill, and gave timely support by outflanking a machine-gun which was impeding the advance.

Later, near the Arras-Cambrai road, the advance was again held up by a strong point. Lt. Kerr, far in advance of his company, rushed this strong point single-handed and captured four machine-guns and thirty-one prisoners.

His valour throughout this engagement was an inspiring example to all.”

(London Gazette, no.31108, 6 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

George Fraser Kerr

George Fraser Kerr

George Fraser Kerr naît à Deseronto, en Ontario, le 8 juin 1894. Peu après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle comme soldat dans le 3e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Devenu officier, Kerr est blessé deux fois au combat et reçoit la Médaille militaire ainsi que la Croix militaire avec agrafe.

Le 27 septembre 1918, le Lieutenant Kerr commande la compagnie de soutien sur le flanc gauche de son bataillon, qui avance dans le bois de Bourlon, près de Cambrai en France. Lorsqu’une mitrailleuse allemande bloque l’avance, le Lieutenant Kerr dirige sa compagnie avec beaucoup d’habileté en débordant la position ennemie sans délai. Plus tard ce jour-là, l’avance de la compagnie est encore arrêtée près de la route Arras-Cambrai. Seul et devançant sa compagnie, le Lieutenant Kerr attaque la fortification allemande, s’empare de 4 mitrailleuses et fait 31 prisonniers.

Pour le courage et le leadership dont il a fait preuve à cette occasion, le Lieutenant Kerr se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria. Il s'éteint à Toronto, en Ontario, le 8 décembre 1929.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son leadership au cours de l’offensive dans le bois de Bourlon, le 27 septembre 1918, alors qu’il commandait la compagnie de soutien, sur le flanc gauche.

Il a dirigé sa compagnie avec beaucoup d’habileté et offert un soutien opportun en contournant la mitrailleuse qui l’empêchait d’avancer.

Plus tard, près de la route Arras-Cambrai, l’avance est encore une fois arrêtée par un emplacement fortifié. Le Lt Kerr, très en avance sur la compagnie, attaque seul cette fortification; il s’empare de quatre mitrailleuses et fait 31 prisonniers.

            Le courage dont il a fait preuve tout au long de cette offensive a été une source d’inspiration pour tous.

(London Gazette, no 31108, le 6 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]