Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Cecil John Kinross

Cecil John Kinross

Cecil John Kinross was born in Uxbridge, England on 17 February 1895, and, at the age of 16, came with his family to Alberta to farm. During the First World War he served with the 49th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force. Before Kinross received the Victoria Cross he had been wounded, but was able to return to his unit within a month.

On 30 October 1917 near Passchendaele in Belgium, Kinross’s company came under intense German artillery and machine gun fire. Carefully surveying the situation, he took off all of his equipment save for his rifle and a bandolier of ammunition, and set out alone over open ground in daylight. Kinross then charged the machine gun, killed the crew of six, and destroyed the gun. Inspired by his action, his company advanced some 300 metres and established itself in an important new position. For his exemplary conduct, Kinross was awarded the Victoria Cross.

Kinross was seriously wounded and did not return to front-line duties. He died in Lougheed, Alberta on 21 June 1957. Mount Kinross, in the Rocky Mountains near Jasper, Alberta, was named in his honour.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery in action during prolonged and severe operations.

Shortly after the attack was launched, the company to which he belonged came under intense artillery fire, and further advance was held up by a very severe fire from an enemy machine gun. Pte. Kinross, making a careful survey of the situation, deliberately divested himself of all his equipment save his rifle and bandolier and, regardless of his personal safety, advanced alone over the open ground in broad daylight, charged the enemy machine gun, killing the crew of six, and seized and destroyed the gun. His superb example and courage instilled the greatest confidence in his company, and enabled a further advance of 300 yards to be made and a highly important position to be established.

Throughout the day he showed marvellous coolness and courage, fighting with the utmost aggressiveness against heavy odds until seriously wounded.”

(London Gazette, no.30471, 11 January 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Cecil John Kinross

Cecil John Kinross

Cecil John Kinross naît à Harefield, en Angleterre, le 17 février 1896. À 16 ans, il vient s’établir avec sa famille dans une ferme en Alberta. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il sert dans le 49e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Avant de recevoir la Croix de Victoria, le Soldat Kinross avait déjà été blessé, mais avait été en mesure de retourner dans son unité un mois plus tard.

Le 30 octobre 1917, près de Passchendaele, en Belgique, la compagnie de Kinross essuie un feu intense provenant d’une mitrailleuse et de l’artillerie allemandes. Le Soldat Kinross examine minutieusement la situation puis, se débarrassant de tout son équipement à l’exception de son fusil et d’une cartouchière, il part seul à découvert en plein jour. Il charge alors la position, tue les six combattants du détachement et détruit leur mitrailleuse. Inspirée par ce fait d’armes, sa compagnie avance d’environ 300 mètres et s’établit sur une nouvelle position stratégique. Pour sa conduite exemplaire, le Soldat Kinross se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria.

Gravement blessé, Kinross ne retourne pas sur la ligne de feu. Il s'éteint à Lougheed, en Alberta, le 21 juin 1957. En son honneur, on a attribué son nom à l'une des montagnes Rocheuses, près de Jasper, en Alberta.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable, dans l’action, au cours d’une offensive prolongée et acharnée.

Peu après le déclenchement de l’attaque, la compagnie à laquelle il appartient essuie d’intenses tirs d’artillerie et toute progression est freinée par les tirs nourris d’une mitrailleuse ennemie. Le Sdt Kinross examine minutieusement la situation et, se débarrassant de tout son équipement à l’exception de son fusil et d’une cartouchière, au mépris de sa propre sécurité, il part seul à découvert en plein jour, fonce sur la mitrailleuse ennemie, tue le détachement de six combattants et détruit leur mitrailleuse. Inspirée par ce bel exemple de courage, sa compagnie avance d’environ 300 verges et s’établit sur une nouvelle position stratégique.

Tout au long de la journée, il affiche beaucoup de sang-froid et de courage, luttant avec une grande détermination dans une situation presque perdue d’avance, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit gravement blessé.

           

(London Gazette, no 30471, le 11 janvier 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]