Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Arthur George Knight

Arthur George Knight

Arthur George Knight was born in Haywards Heath, England on 26 June 1886 and came to Canada in 1911. He enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) in December 1914. Knight was sent overseas in 1915, and joined the 10th Infantry Battalion, CEF. In November 1917 he received the Croix de Guerre from the Belgian government.

After taking part in an unsuccessful attack on German positions near Cagnicourt in France on 2 September 1918, Acting Sergeant Knight led a bombing section forward under heavy fire and engaged the enemy with hand grenades at close quarters. Seeing that the way was still blocked, he dashed forward alone, bayoneting several of the enemy, and forcing the remainder to retreat in confusion. When his platoon resumed its advance into the German trenches, Knight spotted a group of about 30 enemy soldiers retire into a deep tunnel leading off the trench. Again, he hurried forward alone to confront the enemy, killing an officer and two non-commissioned officers, and capturing 20 other ranks. Later that day, when the progress of his platoon was checked yet again, Knight single-handedly routed the German defenders. By now seriously wounded, he was taken to the rear for treatment. Knight died of his wounds the following day.

For his exemplary conduct, Acting Sergeant Knight was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery, initiative, and devotion to duty when, after an unsuccessful attack, Sjt. Knight led a bombing section forward, under very heavy fire of all descriptions, and engaged the enemy at close quarters. Seeing that his party continued to be held up, he dashed forward alone, bayoneting several of the enemy machine-gunners and trench mortar crews, and forcing the remainder to retire in confusion. He then brought forward a Lewis gun and directed his fire on the retreating enemy, inflicting many casualties.

In the subsequent advance of his platoon in pursuit, Sjt. Knight saw a party of about thirty of the enemy go into a deep tunnel which led off the trench. He again dashed forward alone, and, having killed one officer and two N.C.O.’s, captured twenty other ranks. Subsequently he routed, single-handed, another enemy party which was opposing the advance of his platoon.

On each occasion he displayed the greatest valour under fire at very close range, and by his example of courage, gallantry, and initiative was a wonderful inspiration to all.

This very gallant N.C.O. was subsequently fatally wounded.”

(London Gazette, no.31012, 15 November 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Arthur George Knight

Arthur George Knight

Arthur George Knight naît à Haywards Heath, en Angleterre, le 26 juin 1886. Il vient s’établir au Canada en 1911. Il s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) en décembre 1914. Knight est affecté outre-mer en 1915, au sein du 10e Bataillon d’infanterie du CEC. En novembre 1917, il se voit décerner la Croix de Guerre par le gouvernement de la Belgique.

Après avoir participé à une attaque infructueuse contre les positions allemandes près de Cagnicourt, en France, le 2 septembre 1918, le Sergent intérimaire Knight commande une section de bombardement sous un feu nourri et attaque l’ennemi avec des grenades en combat rapproché. Constatant que la voie est toujours bloquée, il s’élance seul, transperçant plusieurs combattants ennemis de sa baïonnette et forçant les autres à battre en retraite dans la confusion. Quand son peloton reprend son avance à l’intérieur des tranchées allemandes, le Sergent intérimaire Knight repère un groupe d’environ 30 soldats ennemis qui se retirent par un tunnel profond menant à l’extérieur de la tranchée. De nouveau, il s’élance seul pour affronter l’ennemi, tuant un officier et deux sous-officiers et capturant 20 autres militaires du rang. Plus tard ce jour-là, quand l’avance de son peloton est de nouveau arrêtée, le Sergent intérimaire Knight met les défenseurs allemands en déroute à lui seul. Grièvement blessé, il est évacué vers l’arrière pour être soigné. Il succombe à ses blessures le lendemain.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Sergent intérimaire Knight pour sa conduite exemplaire.

Citation

Pour sa bravoure, son esprit d'initiative et son zèle remarquables lorsque, après une attaque ratée, le Sergent Knight prend la tête d'une section de bombardement et, s'avançant sous un feu nourri, engage avec l'ennemi un combat rapproché. Constatant que son détachement est toujours stoppé, il fonce seul en avant, passant à la baïonnette plusieurs mitrailleurs et servants de mortier ennemis, et obligeant le reste de la troupe à battre en retraite dans la confusion. Il se munit ensuite d'une mitrailleuse Lewis et fait feu sur l'ennemi en déroute, causant de nombreuses pertes dans ses rangs.

Son peloton ayant continué d'avancer, le Sergent Knight aperçoit une trentaine de soldats ennemis qui pénètrent dans un tunnel conduisant hors des tranchées. Il se rue tout seul sur eux et, après avoir abattu un officier et deux sous-officiers, il capture 20 militaires du rang. Plus tard, il met en déroute, sans aide, un autre détachement ennemi qui s'oppose à l'avance de son peloton.

Chaque fois, il montre un courage indéfectible sous un feu très rapproché. Cet exemple de bravoure et d'esprit d'initiative a inspiré tous ses hommes.

Ce très brave sous-officier a plus tard été blessé mortellement.

(London Gazette, no 31012, le 15 novembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]