Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Okill Massey Learmonth

Okill Massey Learmonth

Okill Massey Learmonth was born in Quebec City, Quebec on 20 February 1894. He enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) as a private soldier in November 1914, and was commissioned as an officer in June 1916.

On 18 August 1917, Major Learmonth was serving as a company commander in the 2nd Infantry Battalion, CEF on Hill 70, near Lens in France. On that day a massive German counterattack on the Canadian positions caused his company to recoil momentarily. Learmonth threw himself into the defence by standing on the parapet of the Canadian trenches and hurling hand grenades at the enemy attackers, including German grenades that he actually caught and returned to their previous owners. Despite being seriously wounded, he maintained his exposed position on the parapet in order to personally direct the defence. When Learmonth was unable to carry on, he insisted on remaining and continued to give direction to his junior officers. Finally, he was forced to hand over his duties, and was evacuated to a hospital in the rear. Here Learmonth died of his wounds the following day.

For his bravery and leadership on this occasion, Major Learmonth was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and exceptional devotion to duty. During a determined counter-attack on our new positions, this officer, when his company was momentarily surprised, instantly charged and personally disposed of the attackers. Later, he carried on a tremendous fight with the advancing enemy. Although under intense barrage fire and mortally wounded, he stood on the parapet of the trench, bombed the enemy continuously and directed the defence in such a manner as to infuse a spirit of utmost resistance into his men.

On several occasions this very brave officer actually caught bombs thrown at him by the enemy and threw them back. When he was unable by reason of his wounds to carry on the fight he still refused to be carried out of the line, and continued to give instructions and invaluable advice to his junior officers, finally handing over all his duties before he was evacuated from the front line to the hospital where he died.”

(London Gazette, no.30372, 8 November 1917)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Okill Massey Learmonth

Okill Massey Learmonth

Okill Massey Learmonth naît à Québec, au Québec, le 20 février 1894. Il s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) à titre de soldat en novembre 1914 et obtient sa commission d'officier en juin 1916.

Le 18 août 1917, le Major Learmonth sert à titre de commandant de compagnie dans le 2e Bataillon d’infanterie du CEC, sur la côte 70, près de Lens, en France. Ce jour-là, une contre-attaque allemande massive contre les positions canadiennes oblige sa compagnie à reculer momentanément. Le Major Learmonth rassemble tout son courage pour défendre la position en se tenant debout sur le parapet des tranchées canadiennes et en lançant des grenades aux attaquants ennemis, y compris des grenades allemandes qu’il attrape et renvoie à leurs propriétaires. Malgré une blessure grave, il demeure à découvert sur le parapet de façon à diriger personnellement la défense. Quand il se trouve dans l’impossibilité de continuer, le Major Learmonth insiste pour rester et continue à donner des ordres à ses officiers subalternes. Finalement, il est forcé de céder le commandement et est évacué vers un hôpital à l’arrière. Le lendemain, il succombe à ses blessures.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Major Learmonth pour la bravoure et le leadership dont il a fait preuve à cette occasion.

Citation

Pour sa bravoure exceptionnelle et son grand zèle. Lors d'une contre-attaque surprise menée contre nos nouvelles positions, le Major Learmonth charge aussitôt l'ennemi et en vient à bout tout seul. Plus tard, il mène un combat furieux contre l'ennemi qui avance. Malgré un tir de barrage intense et des blessures mortelles, il se tient debout sur le parapet de la tranchée et lance des grenades à l'ennemi tout en dirigeant la défense de manière à inspirer à ses hommes un esprit de résistance à toute épreuve.

À plusieurs reprises, ce brave officier se saisit des grenades qui lui sont lancées et les renvoie à l'ennemi. Lorsqu'il est incapable de poursuivre le combat à cause de ses blessures, il refuse d'être transporté derrière les lignes et continue de donner des ordres et de précieux conseils à ses officiers subalternes. Enfin, il délègue toutes ses responsabilités et est évacué vers un hôpital, où il succombe à ses blessures.

(London Gazette, no 30372, le 8 novembre 1917)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]