Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

George Burdon McKean

George Burdon McKean

George Burdon McKean was born in Wellington, England on 4 July 1888. He came to Canada in 1902, settling in Edmonton. At the time he enlisted as a private soldier in the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War, McKean was a student at the University of Alberta. In the course of his military service, he received the Military Medal, and, after he was commissioned as an officer, the Military Cross.

Lieutenant McKean earned the Victoria Cross while serving with the 14th Infantry Battalion near Gavrelle in France on 27 and 28 April 1918. McKean was leading a party of scouts against a German trench that was being staunchly defended by troops using rifles and hand grenades. When his men hesitated, he ran forward alone and threw himself head first into the trench, killing two of the enemy with his revolver. Inspired by Lieutenant McKean’s action, his men advanced and swept the German defenders aside, capturing both the trench and its remaining occupants.

McKean stayed in England after the war. On 28 November 1926 he was killed in an industrial accident.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty during a raid on the enemy’s trenches.

Lt. McKean’s party, which was operating on the right flank, was held up at a block in the communication trench by most intense fire from hand grenades and machine guns. This block, which was too close to our trenches to have been engaged by the preliminary bombardment, was well protected by wire and covered by a well protected machine gun 30 yards behind it. Realising that if this block were not destroyed, the success of the whole operation might be marred, he ran into the open to the right flank of the block, and with utter disregard of danger, leaper over the block head first on top of the enemy. Whilst lying on the ground on top of one of the enemy, another rushed at him with fixed bayonet; Lt. McKean shot him through the body and then shot the enemy underneath him, who was struggling violently. This very gallant action enabled the position to be captured. Lt. McKean’s supply of bombs ran out at this time, and he sent back to our front line for a fresh supply. Whilst waiting for them he engaged the enemy single-handed.

When the bombs arrived, he fearlessly rushed the second block, killing two of the enemy, capturing four others and drove the remaining garrison, including a hostile machine-gun section, into a dug-out. The dug-out, with its occupants and machine gun, was destroyed.

This officer’s splendid bravery and dash undoubtedly saved many lives, for had not this position been captured, the whole of the raiding party would have been exposed to dangerous enfilading fire during the withdrawal. His leadership at all times has been beyond praise.”

(London Gazette, no.30770, 28 June 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

George Burdon McKean

George Burdon McKean

George Burdon McKean naît à Wellington, en Angleterre, le 4 juillet 1888. Il arrive au Canada en 1902 et s’établit à Edmonton. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, alors étudiant à l’Université de l'Alberta, McKean s’enrôle en qualité de soldat dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Au cours de son service militaire, il se voit décerner la Médaille militaire et, après avoir reçu sa commission d’officier, il obtient la Croix militaire.

Le Lieutenant McKean mérite la Croix de Victoria alors qu’il sert dans le 14e Bataillon d’infanterie près de Gavrelle, en France, les 27 et 28 avril 1918. Ce jour-là, le Lieutenant McKean conduit un détachement d’éclaireurs dans une attaque contre une tranchée allemande vigoureusement défendue par des troupes qui utilisent des fusils et des grenades. Quand il voit que ses hommes hésitent, il s’élance seul et se jette tête première dans la tranchée, tuant deux combattants ennemis avec son revolver. Inspirés par le geste de leur lieutenant, les hommes avancent, écartant les défenseurs allemands,  s'emparent de la tranchée et capturent les autres occupants.

Après la guerre, le Lieutenant McKean demeure en Angleterre. Le 28 novembre 1926, il est tué dans un accident de travail.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle au cours d’un raid dans les tranchées ennemies.

Le détachement du Lt McKean, qui exerçait ses activités sur le flanc droit, ne peut plus avancer en raison d’une pluie intense de grenades et de tirs de mitrailleuses provenant de la tranchée de communication. Ces hommes, qui sont trop proches de nos tranchées pour avoir été attaqués lors du bombardement préliminaire, sont bien protégés par des barbelés, et une mitrailleuse, tout aussi bien protégée, assure leur couverture 30 verges à l’arrière. Constatant que s’il ne vient pas à bout de cet obstacle, c’est le succès de l’opération tout entière qui est compromis, Lt McKean fonce à découvert vers le côté droit de ce barrage et, ne tenant aucun compte du danger, il se jette tête première sur l’ennemi. Alors qu’il est étendu sur le sol, un ennemi en dessous de lui, un autre soldat se précipite sur lui avec une baïonnette; le Lt McKean l’abat et tue ensuite l’ennemi qui est en dessous de lui et qui se débat vigoureusement. Ce geste d’une grande bravoure permet de s’emparer de la position. À ce moment, le Lt McKean est arrivé au bout de ses munitions; il lui faut envoyer des hommes sur la ligne de front pour le réapprovisionner. Entre-temps, il attaque l’ennemi en solo.

Quand les munitions arrivent, il n’hésite pas à se précipiter sur le second barrage. Il tue deux ennemis, en fait quatre prisonniers et conduit le reste de la garnison, notamment une section de mitrailleurs ennemis, dans un abri. L’abri, ainsi que ses occupants et la mitrailleuse, sont détruits.

La grande bravoure et l’audace de cet officier ont sans aucun doute sauvé de nombreuses vies, car n’eût été de la prise de cette position, ce sont tous les attaquants qui auraient été exposés aux dangereux tirs d’enfilade lors du repli. Le leadership dont il a toujours fait preuve est au-dessus de tout éloge.

(London Gazette, no 30770, le 28 juin 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]