Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

William Merrifield

William Merrifield

William Merrifield was born in Brentwood, England on 9 October 1890, and later came to Canada. During the First World War he enlisted with the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and served with the 4th Infantry Battalion. Merrifield received the Military Medal for his conduct near Passchendaele in Belgium on 6 and 7 November 1917.

On 1 October 1918, the advance of Sergeant Merrifield and his men near Abancourt in France was being blocked by intense fire from two German machine gun emplacements. Merrifield resolved to attack both positions alone. Running from shell-hole to shell-hole, he killed the crew of the first machine gun and, although wounded, continued to the second emplacement, where he used a hand grenade to kill all of the enemy defenders. Merrifield refused to be evacuated, and went on leading his platoon until he was wounded again, this time severely. For showing “the highest qualities of valour and leadership” in this action, Sergeant Merrifield was awarded the Victoria Cross.

Merrifield died in Toronto, Ontario on 8 August 1943.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty during the attack near Abancourt on the 1st October, 1918. When his men were held up by an intense fire from two machine-gun emplacements, he attacked them both single-handed. Dashing from shell-hole to shell-hole he killed the occupants of the first post, and, although wounded, continued to attack the second post, and with a bomb killed the occupants. He refused to be evacuated, and led his platoon until again severely wounded.

Sjt. Merrifield has served with exceptional distinction on many former occasions, and throughout the action of the 1st October showed the highest qualities of valour and leadership.”

(London Gazette, no.31108, 6 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

William Merrifield

William Merrifield

William Merrifield naît à Brentwood, en Angleterre, le 9 octobre 1890 et immigre par la suite au Canada. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien et sert dans le 4e Bataillon d’infanterie. Merrifield se voit décerner la Médaille militaire pour sa conduite près de Passchendaele, en Belgique, les 6 et 7 novembre 1917.

Le 1er octobre 1918, la progression du Sergent Merrifield et de ses hommes, près d’Abancourt, en France, est arrêtée par un tir intense provenant de deux positions de mitrailleuses allemandes. Le Sergent Merrifield décide d’attaquer seul les deux positions. Courant d’un trou d’obus à l’autre, il tue les combattants du détachement de la première mitrailleuse et, bien que blessé, il poursuit sa route vers la deuxième position, où il se sert d’une grenade pour tuer tous les défenseurs ennemis. Le Sergent Merrifield refuse d’être évacué et continue de commander son peloton jusqu’à ce qu’il soit de nouveau blessé, cette fois gravement. Pour avoir fait preuve « des plus grandes qualités de courage et de leadership » à cette occasion, le Sergent Merrifield se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria.

Il s'éteint à Toronto, en Ontario, le 8 août 1943.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle au cours d’une attaque près d’Abancourt, le 1er octobre 1918. Quand ses hommes sont arrêtés par les tirs intenses de deux positions de mitrailleuses, il décide de les attaquer seul. Courant d’un trou d’obus à un autre, il tue les combattants du premier poste et, bien que blessé, il poursuit sa route jusqu’au second poste et tue tous ses occupants avec une grenade. Il refuse d’être évacué et continue de commander son peloton même s’il est à nouveau gravement blessé.

Le Sgt Merrifield a accompli son service avec une distinction exceptionnelle à de nombreuses reprises dans le passé et tout au long de l’offensive du 1er octobre, il a affiché les plus grandes qualités de courage et de leadership.

(London Gazette, no 31108, le 6 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]