Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt was born in Vancouver, British Columbia on 10 November 1908. In 1929 he graduated from the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario, and eventually enrolled in the Militia. When the Second World War began, Merritt was serving as an officer in The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada. In 1942 he became the commanding officer of The South Saskatchewan Regiment (SSR). On 19 August 1942, the SSR was one of the infantry battalions from the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division that participated in the raid on the French port of Dieppe. The battalion landed on Green Beach immediately in front of Pourville, a village just to the west of Dieppe. In order to reach its objectives east of the village, the Canadians were obliged to cross a bridge over the River Scie, which flowed through Pourville to the sea. The bridge and its approaches were swept by German artillery, machine gun and mortar fire coming from the heights dominating the eastern bank of the Scie, which brought the progress of the SSR to a halt. At this point, Lieutenant-Colonel Merritt came forward and took charge, walking calmly across the bridge at least four times under a storm of fire to conduct parties of his men to the eastern side. He then organized and led uphill assaults on several of the concrete “pillboxes” and other enemy positions that looked down on the bridge and the village, and succeeded in clearing them. Throughout the morning, Merritt energetically led his men, exposing himself recklessly to German fire. Although twice wounded, he organized the withdrawal of his battalion from the Pourville beaches, and mounted a rear guard that ensured that the greater part of the SSR and Queen’s Own The Cameron Highlanders of Canada were re-embarked for England. Merritt and the men of the rear guard could not be brought off, and were compelled to surrender.

For his exemplary leadership and valour, Lieutenant-Colonel Merritt was awarded the Victoria Cross. Merritt died in Vancouver, British Columbia on 12 July 2000.

Citation

“For matchless gallantry and inspiring leadership whilst commanding his battalion during the Dieppe raid on the 19th August, 1942.

From the point of landing, his unit’s advance had to be made across a bridge in Pourville which was swept by very heavy machine-gun, mortar and artillery fire: the first parties were mostly destroyed and the bridge thickly covered by their bodies. A daring lead was required; waving his helmet, Lieutenant-Colonel Merritt rushed forward shouting ‘Come on over! There’s nothing to worry about here.’

He thus personally led the survivors of at least four parties in turn across the bridge. Quickly organising these, he led them forward and when held by enemy pill-boxes he again headed rushes which succeeded in clearing them. In one case he himself destroyed the occupants of the post by throwing grenades into it. After several of his runners became casualties, he himself kept contact with his different positions.

Although twice wounded Lieutenant-Colonel Merritt continued to direct the unit’s operations with great vigour and determination and while organising the withdrawal he stalked a sniper with a Bren gun and silenced him. He then coolly gave orders for the departure and announced his intention to hold off and ‘get even with’ the enemy. When last seen he was collecting Bren and Tommy guns and preparing a defensive position which successfully covered the withdrawal from the beach.

Lieutenant-Colonel Merritt is now reported to be a Prisoner of War.

To this Commanding Officer’s personal daring, the success of his unit’s operations and the safe re-embarkation of a large portion of it were chiefly due.”

(London Gazette, no.35729, 2 October 1942)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt naît à Vancouver, en Colombie‑Britannique, le 10 novembre 1908. En 1929, il obtient son diplôme du Royal Military College, à Kingston, en Ontario, et s’enrôle par la suite dans la milice. Au début de la Seconde Guerre
mondiale, Merritt sert en qualité d’officier dans les Seaforth Highlanders of Canada. En 1942, il devient commandant du South Saskatchewan Regiment (SSR).

Le 19 août 1942, le SSR est l’un des bataillons de la 2e Division d’infanterie canadienne qui participent au raid sur le port français de Dieppe. Le bataillon débarque sur la plage Green Beach, exactement en face de Pourville, village situé immédiatement à l’ouest de Dieppe. Afin de pouvoir atteindre leurs objectifs à l’est du village, les Canadiens sont forcés de traverser un pont sur la rivière Scie, qui coule en direction de la mer en passant par Pourville. Le pont et ses abords sont balayés par des tirs d’artillerie, de mitrailleuses et de mortiers allemands depuis les hauteurs dominant la rive est de la Scie, ce qui met un frein à la progression du SSR. À ce stade, le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt s’avance et, prenant les choses en main, traverse calmement le pont à au moins quatre reprises sous un tir déchaîné afin de mener ses hommes par petits détachements sur le côté est. Il organise et commande ensuite des assauts contre plusieurs des casemates et autres positions ennemies qui dominent le pont et le village, et réussit à les éliminer. Toute la matinée, le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt commande ses hommes avec énergie, s’exposant sans prendre garde au feu allemand. Malgré deux blessures, il organise la retraite de son bataillon des plages de Pourville et met sur pied une arrière-garde qui permet à la majorité des hommes du SSR et des Cameron Highlanders of Canada de rembarquer pour l’Angleterre. Le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt et ses hommes de l’arrière-garde ne peuvent cependant pas être ramenés et sont contraints de se rendre.

Pour le leadership et le courage exemplaires dont il a fait preuve à cette occasion, le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria. Il s'éteint à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 12 juillet 2000.

Citation

Pour sa bravoure sans égale et pour ses qualités de chef qui ont su rallier ses hommes alors qu'il commandait son bataillon lors du raid de Dieppe le 19 août 1942.

Dès le débarquement, son unité doit traverser un pont, à Pourville, qui est la cible de tirs de mitrailleuses, de mortiers et d'artillerie très nourris. Les premiers groupes sont tués en grande partie et le pont est jonché de corps. Une décision audacieuse s'impose et le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt, tout en brandissant son casque, s'avance en courant et crie : « Venez! Traversez! Il n'y a rien à craindre ici. »

C'est ainsi qu'il mène les survivants d'au moins quatre groupes, chacun à leur tour, de l'autre côté du pont. Après les avoir rapidement regroupés, il les fait avancer. Lorsqu’ils sont retenus par l'ennemi embusqué dans des casemates, il organise des attaques couronnées de succès. Dans un cas, il élimine lui-même les occupants d'une position à l'aide de grenades. Après que plusieurs de ses messagers sont tombés au combat, il garde personnellement contact avec ses hommes postés dans différents endroits stratégiques.

Bien que blessé lui-même à deux reprises, le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt continue de mener les opérations de son unité d'une façon vigoureuse et déterminée et, alors qu'il planifie la retraite, il traque un tireur embusqué et le tue à bout portant. Ensuite, calmement, il donne des ordres pour le départ et annonce son intention de résister aux attaques et « d'obtenir sa revanche » sur l'ennemi. Lorsqu'il est vu pour la dernière fois, il rassemble des mitrailleuses Bren et des mitraillettes Thompson et prépare une position défensive qui couvre avec succès la retraite de la plage.

On rapporte que le Lieutenant-colonel Merritt est maintenant prisonnier de guerre.

C’est au courage et à l'audace de ce commandant qu’il faut en grande partie attribuer le succès des opérations de son unité et du réembarquement sécuritaire d'une grande partie de ses troupes.

(London Gazette, no 35729, le 2 octobre 1942)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]