Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Photo of William Henry Metcalf

William Henry Metcalf

William Henry Metcalf was born in Waite Township, United States on 29 January 1885. When the First World War began, he immediately came to Canada from the United States and enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, eventually serving in the 16th Infantry Battalion. Metcalf received the Military Medal in 1916 for his part in the fighting during the Battle of the Somme.

Lance-Corporal Metcalf earned the Victoria Cross on 2 September 1918 near Cagnicourt in France during the Second Battle of Arras. On that day, the right flank of an attack by his battalion on a German trench was being held up by heavy resistance. Having assessed the situation, Metcalf hurried forward under intense machine gun fire to contact a tank passing to his left. Using a signal flag, he walked in front of the tank and directed it along the length of the enemy trench. As the tank fired down into the German trench, the machine gun positions were eliminated and heavy casualties inflicted on the enemy defenders. Though he was wounded in this action, Lance-Corporal Metcalf continued to advance until he was ordered out of the firing line to have his wound treated.

Metcalf died in Lewiston, Maine on 8 August 1968.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery, initiative and devotion to duty in attack, when, the right flank of the battalion being held up, he realised the situation and rushed forward under intense machine-gun fire to a passing Tank on the left. With his signal flag he walked in front of the Tank, directing it along the trench in a perfect hail of bullets and bombs. The machine-gun strong points were overcome, very heavy casualties were inflicted on the enemy, and a very critical situation was relieved.

Later, although wounded, he continued to advance until ordered to get into a shell hole and have his wounds dressed.

His valour throughout was of the highest standard.”

(London Gazette, no.31012, 15 November 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

William Henry Metcalf

William Henry Metcalf

William Henry Metcalf naît à Waite Township, aux États-Unis, le 29 janvier 1885. Au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il traverse la frontière et s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien pour finalement servir dans le 16e Bataillon d’infanterie. Le Caporal suppléant Metcalf reçoit la Médaille militaire en 1916 pour sa participation aux combats de la bataille de la Somme.

Le 2 septembre 1918, le Caporal suppléant Metcalf mérite la Croix de Victoria, près de Cagnicourt, en France, lors de la deuxième bataille d’Arras. Ce jour-là, son bataillon attaque une tranchée allemande, mais son flanc droit est contenu par une forte résistance. Après avoir évalué la situation, le Caporal suppléant Metcalf s’élance vers un char qui passe à sa gauche, sous un feu nourri de mitrailleuse. À l’aide d’un drapeau de signalisation, il marche devant le char et le dirige le long de la tranchée ennemie. Le char tire sur la tranchée allemande, les positions des mitrailleuses ennemies sont éliminées et de lourdes pertes sont infligées aux défenseurs. Quoique blessé au cours de l’engagement, le Caporal
suppléant Metcalf continue son avance jusqu’à ce qu’on lui ordonne de quitter la ligne de feu afin de faire soigner sa blessure.

Le Caporal suppléant Metcalf s'éteint à Lewiston, au Maine, le 8 août 1968.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable, pour son initiative et pour son zèle quand, le flanc droit de son bataillon étant contenu, il évalue la situation et s’élance vers un char qui passe à sa gauche, sous le feu nourri d’une mitrailleuse. Brandissant un drapeau de signalisation, il marche à l’avant du char et le dirige le long de la tranchée ennemie, pour qu’il enfile des balles et des bombes. Les positions des mitrailleuses sont éliminées, de lourdes pertes sont infligées aux ennemis et il vient ainsi à bout d’une situation très critique.

Plus tard, en dépit de ses blessures, il poursuit son avance jusqu’à ce qu’il reçoive l’ordre d’entrer dans un trou d’obus et de faire panser ses blessures.

Tout au long de l’action, il a affiché une bravoure hors du commun.

(London Gazette, no 31012, le 15 novembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]