Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

William Johnstone Milne

William Johnstone Milne

William Johnstone Milne was born in Cambusnethan, Scotland on 21 December 1892 and came to Canada in 1910, settling in Saskatchewan. During the First World War, he served with the 16th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force.

On 9 April 1917, the 16th Infantry Battalion took part in the successful attack by the Canadian Corps on Vimy Ridge, the strongest German defensive position in northwestern France. Early that day, the advance of Private Milne’s company was checked by machine gun fire. Crawling forward, he put the crews of two machine guns out of action and captured their guns. Milne was killed a short time later, and his body was never recovered.

For his conduct in this action, Private Milne was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty in attack.

On approaching the first objective, Pte. Milne observed an enemy machine gun firing on our advancing troops. Crawling on hands and knees, he succeeded in reaching the gun, killing the crew with bombs, and capturing the gun.

On the line re-forming, he again located a machine gun in the support line, and stalking the second gun as he had done the first, he succeeded in putting the crew out of action and capturing the gun.

His wonderful bravery and resource on these two occasions undoubtedly saved the lives of many of his comrades.

Pte. Milne was killed shortly after capturing the second gun.”

(London Gazette, no.30122, 8 June 1917)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

William Johnstone Milne

William Johnstone Milne

William Johnstone Milne naît à Cambusnethan, en Écosse, le 21 décembre 1892. En 1910, il immigre au Canada et s’établit en Saskatchewan. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il sert dans le 16e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le 9 avril 1917, le 16e Bataillon participe à l’attaque victorieuse menée par le Corps canadien contre la crête de Vimy, la position allemande la mieux défendue du Nord-Ouest de la France. Tôt ce jour-là, l’avance de la compagnie du Soldat Milne est arrêtée par un tir de mitrailleuses. Milne s’avance en rampant, met les détachements des deux mitrailleuses hors de combat et s'empare de leurs armes. Le Soldat Milne est tué peu après et l'on n'a jamais retrouvé son corps.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Soldat Milne pour sa conduite au cours de cet engagement.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle au cours d’une attaque.

Quand il s'approche du premier objectif, un poste de mitrailleuse qui tire sur les Canadiens, le Soldat Milne rampe jusqu'à proximité du poste, tue les servants avec des bombes et s'empare de la mitrailleuse.

Une fois la ligne d'assaut canadienne reformée, il vise un autre poste de mitrailleuse dans la ligne d'appui et, comme dans le premier cas, il réussit à maîtriser l'ennemi et à s'emparer de la mitrailleuse.

La bravoure considérable et l'esprit d'initiative dont il a fait preuve lors de ces deux incidents ont sans aucun doute sauvé la vie de bon nombre de ses camarades.

Le Soldat Milne est tué peu après avoir pris le deuxième poste de mitrailleuse.

(London Gazette, no 30122, le 8 juin 1917)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]