Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Harry Garnet Bedford Miner

Harry Garnet Bedford Miner

Harry Garnet Bedford Miner was born in Cedar Springs, Ontario on 24 June 1891 and lived on a farm. In December 1915 he enlisted in the 142nd Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force, and was transferred to the 58th Infantry Battalion the following year. Miner received the Croix de Guerre from the French government in recognition of the part he played in operations near Lens in 1917.

Corporal Miner was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously for his conduct on 8 August 1918, the first day of the massive Allied offensive around Amiens in France. Near Demuin, Miner charged a German machine gun position alone and, after killing the crew, turned the captured weapon on the retreating enemy. Later in the day, with the help of two comrades, he attacked another enemy machine gun emplacement and put it out of action. Again alone, Miner assaulted a German bombing post, dealt with two enemy soldiers with his bayonet, and put the other occupants of the position to flight. It was during this last action that Corporal Miner received severe grenade wounds that proved to be fatal.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty in attack, when despite severe wounds he refused to withdraw. He rushed an enemy machine-gun post single-handed, killed the entire crew and turned the gun on the enemy.

Later, with two others, he attacked another enemy machine-gun post, and succeeded in putting the gun out of action.

Cpl. Miner then rushed single-handed an enemy bombing post, bayoneting two of the garrison and putting the remainder to flight. He was mortally wounded in the performance of this gallant deed.”

(London Gazette, no.30975, 26 October 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Harry Garnet Bedford Miner

Harry Garnet Bedford Miner

Harry Garnet Bedford Miner naît à Cedar Springs, en Ontario, le 24 juin 1891 et vit dans une ferme. En décembre 1915, il s’enrôle dans le 142e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien, puis est muté au 58e Bataillon d’infanterie l’année suivante. Le Caporal Miner se voit décerner la Croix de Guerre par le gouvernement français en reconnaissance de sa participation aux opérations près de Lens, en 1917.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Caporal Miner  pour sa conduite le 8 août 1918, premier jour de l’offensive alliée massive autour d’Amiens, en France. Près de Demuin, le Caporal Miner charge seul une position allemande de mitrailleuse et, après avoir tué les membres du détachement, retourne l’arme contre l’ennemi en retraite. Plus tard ce jour-là, avec l’aide de deux camarades, il attaque une autre position ennemie de mitrailleuse et la met hors de combat. Encore une fois, le Caporal Miner attaque seul un poste de bombardement allemand, se bat contre deux soldats ennemis avec sa baïonnette et met en fuite les autres occupants de la position. Durant ce dernier engagement, le Caporal Miner reçoit plusieurs blessures par grenade qui s’avèrent mortelles.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle lors d’un assaut, lorsqu’en dépit de graves blessures, il refuse de battre en retraite. Il charge, seul, une position de mitrailleuse ennemie, tue tous les membres du détachement et retourne l’arme contre l’ennemi.

Plus tard, avec deux camarades, il attaque une autre position ennemie de mitrailleuse et réussit à la mettre hors combat.

Le Cpl Miner attaque ensuite seul un poste de bombardement ennemi, passe deux soldats ennemis à la baïonnette et met en fuite tous les autres occupants de la position. Il est mortellement atteint au cours de ce brave fait d’armes.

(London Gazette, no 30975, le 26 octobre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]