Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Coulson Norman Mitchell

Coulson Norman Mitchell

Coulson Norman Mitchell was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba on 11 December 1889 and graduated from the University of Manitoba in 1912 with a degree in engineering. After the First World War began, he joined the Canadian Expeditionary Force as an engineer officer, and served with the 1st Tunnelling Company, Canadian Engineers. Mitchell received the Military Cross at Ypres in 1916.

Captain Mitchell earned the Victoria Cross on the night of 8 to 9 October 1918 while leading a party of sappers on a reconnaissance mission near Cambrai in France. Their task was to venture beyond the Canadian front line to examine bridges over which the Canadian 5th Infantry Brigade proposed to advance, and to prevent their demolition. After finding one bridge destroyed, Mitchell moved on to the next, which spanned the Canal de l’Escaut. Running across the bridge in total darkness, Mitchell found that it had indeed been prepared for demolition. With a non-commissioned officer he cut the detonation wires and began to remove the explosive charges. When the Germans realized what was happening, they charged toward the bridge but were held off by Mitchell’s sappers until reinforcements arrived. Saving the bridge over the Canal de l’Escaut contributed significantly to the later success of the 5th Infantry Brigade’s offensive operations.

Mitchell died in Montreal, Quebec on 17 November 1978.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty on the night of 8th-9th October, 1918, at the Canal de L’Escaut, north-east of Cambrai.

He led a small party ahead of the first wave of infantry in order to examine the various bridges on the line of approach and, if possible, to prevent their demolition.

On reaching the canal he found the bridge already blown up. Under a heavy barrage he crossed to the next bridge, where he cut a number of ‘lead’ wires. Then in total darkness, and unaware of the position or strength of the enemy at the bridgehead, he dashed across the main bridge over the canal. This bridge was found to be heavily charged for demolition, and whilst Capt. Mitchell, assisted by his N.C.O., was cutting the wires, the enemy attempted to rush the bridge in order to blow the charges, whereupon he at once dashed to the assistance of his sentry, who had been wounded, killed three of the enemy, captured 12, and maintained the bridgehead until reinforced.

Then under heavy fire he continued his task of cutting wires and removing charges, which he well knew might at any moment have been fired by the enemy.

It was entirely due to his valour and decisive action that this important bridge across the canal was saved from destruction.”

(London Gazette, no.31155, 31 January 1919)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Coulson Norman Mitchell

Coulson Norman Mitchell

Coulson Norman Mitchell naît à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, le 11 décembre 1889. Il obtient un diplôme en génie de l’Université du Manitoba en 1912. Après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s'enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien en qualité d’officier du génie, et sert dans la 1re Compagnie de sapeurs-mineurs du Génie canadien. Il reçoit la Croix militaire à Ypres en 1916.

Le Capitaine Mitchell mérite la Croix de Victoria dans la nuit du 8 au 9 octobre 1918 alors qu’il commande un détachement de sapeurs en mission de reconnaissance près de Cambrai, en France. La mission consiste à pénétrer au-delà de la première ligne canadienne pour inspecter les ponts que la 5e Brigade d’infanterie propose d’utiliser et pour empêcher leur démolition. Après avoir trouvé un pont déjà détruit, le Capitaine Mitchell se déplace vers le suivant, lequel traverse le canal de l’Escaut. En courant sur le pont dans l’obscurité complète, Mitchell constate que celui-ci a effectivement été préparé en vue de sa démolition. Aidé d’un sous-officier, il coupe les fils des détonateurs et commence à retirer les charges explosives. Quand les Allemands réalisent ce qui arrive, ils chargent le pont, mais les sapeurs du Capitaine Mitchell les tiennent en respect jusqu’à l’arrivée de renforts. Le sauvetage du pont du canal de l’Escaut contribue grandement au succès ultérieur des opérations offensives de la 5e Brigade d’infanterie.

Le Capitaine Mitchell s'éteint à Montréal, au Québec, le 17 novembre 1978.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle, dans la nuit du 8 au 9 octobre 1918, au canal de l’Escaut, au nord‑est de Cambrai.

Le Capitaine Mitchell commande un petit détachement qui devance la première vague de soldats d’infanterie afin d’examiner les ponts se trouvant sur la ligne d’approche et, dans la mesure du possible, d’empêcher leur démolition.

En arrivant au canal, il constate que le pont a déjà été détruit à l’explosif. Sous des tirs nourris, il traverse jusqu’au pont suivant, où il coupe un certain nombre de fils de détonateurs. Puis, dans l’obscurité la plus complète, sans connaître la position ou le nombre des ennemis qui se trouvent de l’autre côté, il s’élance pour traverser le pont qui enjambe le canal. Il constate que ce pont est lourdement chargé d’explosifs en vue de sa démolition. Pendant que le Capt Mitchell, aidé de son sous-officier, coupe les fils reliés aux charges, l’ennemi se précipite vers le pont pour essayer de le faire exploser. Sans tarder, il court rejoindre son guetteur, qui est blessé; il tue trois ennemis, en fait 12 autres prisonniers et défend la tête de pont jusqu’à l’arrivée des renforts.

Puis, sous un feu nourri, il continue de couper les fils et d’enlever les charges explosives qui, comme il le sait très bien, peuvent sauter à tout moment.

C’est grâce à sa bravoure et à sa détermination que cet important pont a été sauvé de la destruction.

(London Gazette, no 31155, le 31 janvier 1919)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]