Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Claude Joseph Patrick Nunney

Claude Joseph Patrick Nunney

Claude Joseph Patrick Nunney was born in Dublin, Ireland on 24 December 1892, and came to Canada an orphan. He was initially placed in an orphanage in Ottawa, Ontario, and later with a family in nearby Glengarry County. In March 1915 at Alexandria, Ontario, Nunney enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and served with the 38th Infantry Battalion. Before winning the Victoria Cross, he had already received the Distinguished Conduct Medal and the Military Medal.

Private Nunney was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously for the dash and steadfast example he demonstrated on 1 and 2 September 1918 during the fighting at the Drocourt-Quéant Line in France. On 1 September, near Vis-en-Artois, positions recently captured by the Canadians were subjected to a heavy enemy artillery barrage and a counterattack. On his own initiative, Nunney left his company’s main line and went forward through the barrage to its outpost line. Here he went from position to position encouraging his comrades. The next day, Private Nunney’s exemplary conduct helped to inspire his company to carry its objective. Severely wounded on that day, Nunney died on 18 September 1918.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery during the operations against the Drocourt-Quéant line on the 1st and 2nd September, 1918.

On 1st September, when his battalion was in the vicinity of Vis-en-Artois, preparatory to the advance, the enemy laid down a heavy barrage and counter-attacked. Pte. Nunney, who was at this time at company headquarters, immediately on his own initiative proceeded through the barrage to the company outpost lines, going from post to post and encouraging the men by his own fearless example. The enemy were repulsed and a critical situation was saved. During the attack on 2nd September his dash continually placed him in advance of his companions, and his fearless example undoubtedly helped greatly to carry the company forward to its objectives.

He displayed throughout the highest degree of valour until severely wounded.”

(London Gazette, no.31067, 14 December 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Claude Joseph Patrick Nunney

Claude Joseph Patrick Nunney

Claude Joseph Patrick Nunney naît à Dublin, en Irlande, le 24 décembre 1892 et est accueilli au Canada comme orphelin. Il est d’abord placé dans un orphelinat à Ottawa, en Ontario, puis dans une famille qui vit dans le comté avoisinant de Glengarry. En mars 1915, à Alexandria, en Ontario, Nunney s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien et sert dans le 38e Bataillon d’infanterie. Avant la Croix de Victoria, il reçoit la Médaille de conduite distinguée et la Médaille militaire.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au Soldat Nunney pour la rapidité et la fermeté dont il a fait preuve les 1er et 2 septembre 1918 durant les combats sur la ligne Drocourt-Quéant, en France. Le 1er septembre, près de Vis-en-Artois, des positions récemment prises par les Canadiens sont soumises à un intense barrage d’artillerie ennemie et subissent une contre-attaque. De sa propre initiative, le Soldat Nunney quitte la ligne principale de sa compagnie, franchit le barrage et se rend jusqu’à la ligne d’avant-poste. Il se déplace alors d’une position à l’autre afin d’encourager ses camarades. Le lendemain, la conduite exemplaire du Soldat Nunney est une source d’inspiration pour sa compagnie dans la poursuite de son objectif. Grièvement blessé ce jour-là, le Soldat Nunney meurt le 18 septembre 1918.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable au cours des opérations sur la ligne Drocourt-Quéant, les 1er et 2 septembre 1918.

Le 1er septembre, alors que son bataillon se trouve dans les environs de Vis-en-Artois et se prépare à avancer, l’ennemi installe un solide barrage et contre-attaque. De sa propre initiative, le Sdt Nunney, qui se trouvait alors au poste de commandement de sa compagnie, franchit le barrage et se rend jusqu’à la ligne d’avant-poste. Il se déplace d’une position à l’autre et encourage ses camarades en prêchant par son exemple d’intrépidité. L’ennemi est repoussé et la situation devient moins critique. Au cours de l’attaque du 2 septembre, il se retrouve continuellement devant ses camarades, grâce à sa rapidité. Son intrépidité exemplaire a sans aucun doute inspiré grandement sa compagnie dans la poursuite de ses objectifs.

Tout au long des opérations, il a affiché un courage irréprochable jusqu’à ce qu’il soit gravement blessé.

(London Gazette, no 31067, le 14 décembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]