Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba on 18 November 1895. He enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) in 1915, and was commissioned as a second lieutenant. While serving with the 52nd Infantry Battalion, CEF, O’Kelly received the Military Cross.

On 26 October 1917, Acting Captain O’Kelly led his company of the 52nd Battalion against German positions on Bellevue Spur, a network of defences near Passchendaele in Belgium. Previously, other units had tried to attack this feature, but had been unsuccessful while suffering considerable losses. O’Kelly and his men advanced about one kilometre into the enemy positions, and captured six “pillbox” fortifications, ten machine guns and 100 prisoners. They then dug in and held their position against repeated German counterattacks until they were relieved. Later that day, O’Kelly and his company fought off another strong enemy counterattack, taking more prisoners in the process. Alert to German activity that night, they captured a raiding party of 11 soldiers. For his exemplary leadership throughout that day, Acting Captain O’Kelly was awarded the Victoria Cross.

On 15 November 1922, O’Kelly was drowned during a storm on Lac Seul, near Kenora, Ontario. His body was never found.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery in an action in which he led his company with extraordinary skill and determination.

After the original attack had failed and two companies of his unit had launched a new attack, Capt. O’Kelly advanced his command over 1,000 yards under heavy fire without any artillery barrage, took the enemy positions on the crest of the hill by storm, and then personally organised and led a series of attacks against ‘Pill-boxes,’ his company alone capturing six of them with 100 prisoners and 10 machine guns.

Later on in the afternoon, under the leadership of this gallant officer, his company repelled a strong counter-attack, taking more prisoners, and subsequently during the night captured a hostile raiding party consisting of one officer, 10 men and a machine gun.

The whole of these achievements were chiefly due to the magnificent courage, daring and ability of Capt. O’Kelly.”

(London Gazette, no.30471, 11 January 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly

Christopher Patrick John O’Kelly naît à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, le 18 novembre 1895. Il s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) en 1915 et est commissionné au grade de sous-lieutenant. Alors qu’il sert dans le 52e Bataillon d’infanterie du CEC, O’Kelly reçoit la Croix militaire.

Le 26 octobre 1917, le Capitaine intérimaire O’Kelly mène sa compagnie du 52e Bataillon d’infanterie contre les positions allemandes constituées en réseau de défenses, sur l’éperon de Bellevue, près de Passchendaele, en Belgique. Auparavant, d’autres unités ont essayé en vain d’attaquer le dispositif ennemi, au prix de pertes considérables. Le Capitaine intérimaire O’Kelly et ses hommes avancent d’environ un kilomètre à l’intérieur des positions ennemies, s’emparent de 6 casemates et de 10 mitrailleuses et font 100 prisonniers. Ils creusent et tiennent leur position contre les contre-attaques allemandes répétées jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient relevés. Plus tard ce jour-là, le Capitaine intérimaire O’Kelly et sa compagnie repoussent une autre contre-attaque ennemie d’envergure et font d’autres prisonniers. Informés d’une action allemande cette nuit-là, ils capturent une section d’assaut de 11 soldats. Pour le leadership exemplaire manifesté tout au long de cette journée, le Capitaine intérimaire O’Kelly se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria.

Le 15 novembre 1922, lors d’une tempête sur le lac Seul, près de Kenora, en Ontario, le Capitaine intérimaire O’Kelly se noie. On n'a jamais retrouvé son corps.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable accompli en commandant sa compagnie avec une habileté et une détermination extraordinaires.

Après l’échec de l’attaque initiale et après que deux compagnies de son unité ont lancé une nouvelle attaque, le Capt O’Kelly et ses hommes avancent d’environ 1 000 verges, sous les tirs nourris et sans aucun barrage d’artillerie. Ils s’emparent des positions ennemies sur l’éperon de la colline et le Capt O’Kelly organise personnellement et dirige une série d’attaques contre des casemates. À elle seule, sa compagnie s’empare de 6 casemates, 10 mitrailleuses et fait 100 prisonniers.

Un peu plus tard ce jour-là, sous la conduite de ce brave officier, sa compagnie repousse une solide contre-attaque; elle fait de nouveaux prisonniers et, par la suite, au cours de la nuit, elle s’empare d’une section d’assaut ennemie composée d’un officier, de 10 hommes et d’une mitrailleuse.

C’est en grande partie au courage remarquable, à l’audace et à l’habileté du Capt O’Kelly qu’il faut attribuer toutes ces réalisations.

(London Gazette, no 30471, le 11 janvier 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]