Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Michael James O’Rourke

Michael James O’Rourke

Michael James O’Rourke was born on 19 March 1878 in Limerick, Ireland. After the First World War began, he enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force as a stretcher-bearer, and served with the 7th Infantry Battalion. O’Rourke received the Military Medal for his conduct in the Battle of the Somme in 1916.

O’Rourke earned the Victoria Cross for his courage and devotion to his comrades over a three-day period, from 15 to 17 August 1917, during the fighting for Hill 70, near Lens in France. Despite severe German shelling and machine gun and rifle fire, he worked unceasingly to bring the wounded to safety, to treat their injuries, and to obtain food and water for them. On several occasions, O’Rourke was knocked down and partially buried by explosions from enemy shells. At least three times he exposed himself recklessly to enemy fire in order to retrieve wounded men. The first time, O’Rourke jumped out of his trench in full view of German snipers to bring a soldier who had been blinded to safety. He left his trench on two other occasions in the face of heavy enemy machine gun fire and rescued two other wounded comrades.

O’Rourke died in Vancouver, British Columbia on 6 December 1957.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty during prolonged operations.

For three days and nights Pte. O’Rourke, who is a stretcher-bearer, worked unceasingly in bringing the wounded into safety, dressing them, and getting them food and water.

During the whole of his period the area in which he worked was subjected to very severe shelling and swept by heavy machine gun and rifle fire. On several occasions he was knocked down and partially buried by enemy shells. Seeing a comrade who had been blinded stumbling around ahead of our trench, in full view of the enemy who were sniping him, Pte. O’Rourke jumped out of his trench and brought the man back, being himself heavily sniped at while doing so. Again he went forward about 50 yards in front of our barrage under very heavy and accurate fire from enemy machine guns and snipers, and brought in a comrade. On a subsequent occasion, when the line of advanced posts was retired to the line to be consolidated, he went forward under very heavy enemy fire of every description and brought back a wounded man who had been left behind.

He showed throughout an absolute disregard for his own safety, going wherever there were wounded to succour, and his magnificent courage and devotion in continuing his rescue work, in spite of exhaustion and the incessant heavy enemy fire of every description, inspired all ranks and undoubtedly saved many lives.”

(London Gazette, no.30372, 8 November 1917)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Michael James O’Rourke

Michael James O’Rourke

Michael James O’Rourke naît à Limerick, en Irlande, le 19 mars 1878. Au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle comme brancardier au sein du Corps expéditionnaire canadien et sert dans le 7e Bataillon d’infanterie. Il reçoit la Médaille militaire pour sa conduite lors de la bataille de la Somme en 1916.

Le Soldat O’Rourke mérite la Croix de Victoria pour son courage et son dévouement envers ses camarades durant les trois jours qu'ont duré les combats pour la côte 70, près de Lens, en France, du 15 au 17 août 1917. Malgré les intenses bombardements et le tir des fusils et des mitrailleuses des Allemands, il travaille sans relâche afin d'emmener les blessés en lieu sûr, de les soigner et de leur apporter eau et nourriture. À plusieurs reprises, le Soldat O’Rourke est renversé et enseveli partiellement par l'explosion des obus ennemis. Au moins trois fois, il s’expose avec témérité au feu de l’ennemi afin de sauver des blessés. La première fois, il saute de sa tranchée et, sous le nez des tireurs d’élite allemands, ramène un soldat devenu aveugle. Il quitte la tranchée à deux autres reprises malgré un intense tir de mitrailleuse ennemi et sauve deux autres camarades blessés.

Le Soldat O’Rourke s’éteint à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 6 décembre 1957.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle au cours d’opérations prolongées.

Pendant trois jours et trois nuits, le Sdt O’Rourke, qui est brancardier, travaille sans relâche afin de mettre les blessés en lieu sûr, de les panser et de leur apporter de la nourriture et de l’eau.

Tout au long de cette période, la zone où il travaille est la cible d’intenses bombardements et elle est balayée par les tirs nourris des fusils et des mitrailleuses. À plusieurs reprises, il est assommé et partiellement enseveli par les retombées de tirs d’obus ennemis. En apercevant un camarade rendu aveugle trébucher devant notre tranchée, le Sdt O’Rourke bondit hors de la tranchée, sous le nez des tireurs d’élite ennemis, et ramène le soldat, mais ce faisant, il devient lui-même la cible des tireurs d’élite. À nouveau, il franchit environ 50 verges devant notre barrage, sous les feux intenses et très précis des mitrailleuses ennemies et des tireurs d’élite, et ramène un camarade. Encore une fois, alors que la ligne des positions avancées se retire pour se consolider, il s’élance sous les tirs intenses de toutes sortes et ramène un soldat blessé qui a été laissé derrière.

Ces gestes ont été accomplis au mépris de sa propre sécurité. Il se rendait là où il y avait des blessés à secourir, et le courage et le dévouement hors du commun dont il a fait preuve dans la poursuite de ses activités, en dépit de l’épuisement et des tirs incessants de l’ennemi, ont inspiré les militaires de tous grades et sans aucun doute épargné de nombreuses vies.

(London Gazette, no 30372, le 8 novembre 1917)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]