Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

John Robert Osborn

John Robert Osborn

John Robert Osborn was born in Foulden, England on 2 January 1899. During the First World War, he served in the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve. Osborn came to Canada in 1920. In 1933, he joined The Winnipeg Grenadiers, a unit of the Non-Permanent Active Militia. When the Second World War began in September 1939, the Grenadiers went on active service and were stationed for a time in Jamaica. In October 1941, at the request of the British Government, the battalion was sent to reinforce the garrison in Hong Kong.

On 8 December 1941, units of the Japanese Army moved against British defences in Hong Kong. By 18 December, three Japanese regiments had landed on the Island. Very early on the morning of 19 December, “A” Company of the Winnipeg Grenadiers was ordered to clear the enemy out of a feature named Jardine’s Lookout, and then to advance on Mount Butler and recapture it. Soon after dawn, part of “A” Company led by Company Sergeant-Major Osborne mounted a bayonet charge and took the summit of Mount Butler. Three hours later, when three companies of Japanese troops counterattacked and forced his men down the western slope of the hill, Osborne calmly directed covering fire to keep the enemy at bay. At length, after Osborne’s party had rejoined the rest of “A” Company, the Japanese managed to surround the whole group. By mid-afternoon, having driven off two Japanese attacks and with ammunition running low and casualties mounting, the company commander, Major A.B. Gresham, decided to surrender and stepped out into the open with a white flag. He was immediately shot dead by the Japanese, who now began to throw grenades into “A” Company’s position. CSM Osborne picked up several of the grenades and returned them to the enemy. Finally, a grenade fell in a place where Osborne could not retrieve it in time. Shouting a warning as he shoved one man aside, he threw himself on the grenade, which exploded and killed him instantly.

When the story of CSM Osborn’s leadership and sacrifice became known after the defeat of Japan, he was awarded the Victoria Cross.

Citation

“At Hong Kong on the morning of the 19th December, 1941, a Company of the Winnipeg Grenadiers to which Company-Sergeant-Major Osborn belonged, became divided during an attack on Mount Butler, a hill rising steeply above sea level. A part of the Company led by Company-Sergeant-Major Osborn captured the hill at the point of the bayonet and held it for three hours when, owing to the superior numbers of the enemy and to fire from an unprotected flank, the position became untenable. Company-Sergeant-Major Osborn and a small group covered the withdrawal and when their turn came to fall back Osborn, single-handed, engaged the enemy while the remainder successfully joined the Company. Company-Sergeant-Major Osborn had to run the gauntlet of heavy rifle and machine gun fire. With no consideration for his own safety he assisted and directed stragglers to the new Company position, exposing himself to heavy enemy fire to cover their retirement. Wherever danger threatened he was there to encourage his men.

During the afternoon the Company was cut off from the Battalion and completely surrounded by the enemy who were able to approach to within grenade throwing distance of the slight depression which the Company were holding. Several enemy grenades were thrown which Company-Sergeant-Major Osborn picked up and threw back. The enemy threw a grenade which landed in a position where it was impossible to pick it up and return it in time. Shouting a warning to his comrades this gallant Warrant Officer threw himself on the grenade which exploded killing him instantly. His self-sacrifice undoubtedly saved the lives of many others.

Company-Sergeant-Major Osborn was an inspiring example to all throughout the defence which he assisted so magnificently in maintaining against an overwhelming enemy force for over eight and a half hours, and in his death he displayed the highest qualities of heroism and self-sacrifice.”

(London Gazette, no.37517, 2 April 1946)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

John Robert Osborn

John Robert Osborn

John Robert Osborn naît à Foulden, en Angleterre, le 2 janvier 1899. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, il sert au sein de la Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve. Osborn immigre au Canada en 1920. En 1933, il s'enrôle dans les Winnipeg Grenadiers, unité de la milice active non permanente. Lorsque débute la Seconde Guerre mondiale en septembre 1939, les Grenadiers sont mis en service actif et stationnés pendant quelque temps en Jamaïque. En octobre 1941, à la demande du gouvernement britannique, le bataillon est envoyé à Hong Kong afin d’y renforcer la garnison.

Le 8 décembre 1941, des unités de l’armée japonaise s’attaquent aux positions défensives britanniques de Hong Kong. Au 18 décembre, trois régiments japonais ont débarqué sur l’île. À l’aube du 19 décembre, on ordonne à la compagnie « A » des Winnipeg Grenadiers de se rendre à Jardine’s Lookout afin d’y déloger l’ennemi, puis d’avancer sur le mont Butler et de le reprendre. Peu après l'aube, la compagnie « A », dirigée par le Sergent-major de compagnie (SMC) Osborn, mène une charge à la baïonnette et s’empare du sommet du mont Butler. Trois heures plus tard, lorsque trois compagnies de troupes japonaises contre-attaquent et forcent ses hommes à se replier en descendant la pente ouest du mont, le SMC Osborn dirige calmement le tir de protection qui tient l’ennemi à distance. En fin de compte, après que le groupe du SMC Osborn a rejoint le reste de la compagnie « A », les Japonais réussissent à encercler le groupe. Au milieu de l’après-midi, après avoir repoussé deux attaques japonaises et faisant face désormais à une pénurie de munitions et à un nombre croissant de blessés, le commandant de la compagnie, le Major A.B. Gresham, décide de se rendre et se place à découvert avec un drapeau blanc. Il est aussitôt abattu par les Japonais, qui commencent à lancer des grenades sur la position de la compagnie « A ». Le SMC Osborn en ramasse plusieurs et les renvoie à l’ennemi. Toutefois, l’une des grenades atterrit dans un endroit où Osborn ne peut la récupérer à temps. Lançant un cri d’avertissement tandis qu’il pousse l’un de ses hommes sur le côté, il se jette sur la grenade, qui explose et le tue instantanément.

Lorsque le leadership et le sacrifice du SMC Osborn à cette occasion sont mis en lumière après la défaite du Japon, on lui décerne la Croix de Victoria à titre posthume.

Citation

À Hong Kong, le matin du 19 décembre 1941, une compagnie du Winnipeg Grenadiers, dont le Sergent-major de compagnie Osborn fait partie, se trouve divisée lors d'une attaque sur le mont Butler, une montagne très escarpée. Une partie de la compagnie que commande le Sergent-major de compagnie Osborn s'empare de la montagne à la pointe de la baïonnette et la garde pendant trois heures. Cette position devient rapidement intenable en raison du grand nombre de soldats ennemis et des attaques répétées sur un flanc non protégé. Le Sergent-major de compagnie Osborn et quelques-uns de ses hommes protègent la retraite de la compagnie, et lorsque vient le temps pour ces quelques hommes de retraiter à leur tour, Osborn, à lui seul, repousse l'ennemi pendant que ses hommes rejoignent la compagnie. Il doit ensuite se frayer un passage à travers les tirs de mitraillettes et, sans égard pour sa propre sécurité, il aide les retardataires à atteindre la nouvelle position de leur compagnie. Lorsque le danger menace ses hommes, il est toujours là pour les encourager.

Au cours de l'après-midi, la compagnie se trouve isolée du bataillon et complètement cernée par l'ennemi qui s'est rapproché au point de pouvoir lancer des grenades dans la petite dépression que défend la compagnie. Plusieurs grenades ennemies ainsi reçues sont ramassées par le Sergent-major de compagnie Osborn, qui les relance vers l'ennemi. Tout à coup, l'ennemi lance une grenade qui tombe dans un endroit inaccessible. Tout en criant un avertissement à ses hommes, ce courageux adjudant se jette de tout son long sur la grenade qui explose et le tue instantanément. Son sacrifice sauve certainement la vie de nombreux hommes.

Le Sergent-major de compagnie Osborn a été une inspiration pour tous au cours de cette défense à laquelle il a participé si courageusement pendant plus de huit heures et demie contre une force ennemie écrasante et, par sa mort, il fait preuve des plus hautes qualités d'héroïsme et d’abnégation.

(London Gazette, no 37517, le 2 avril 1946)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]